Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Korg Zero 4/8 - Windows 7 x86/x64 working driver fix
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Digital Recording and Mixing
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
datan0ir



Joined: 08 Apr 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Wed Aug 04, 2010 5:29 pm    Post subject: Korg Zero 4/8 - Windows 7 x86/x64 working driver fix Reply with quote

Fixed driver for Windows 7 x86 and x64.

After messing around with different drivers and being pissed
off that Korg has'nt provided any means of support for newer
operating systems I gathered different drivers from other firewire
soundcards to make my own driver package.

Asio works at all available sample rates (44.1/48 & 96Khz) and
has been tested for the last 24 hours. I must stress that
96Khz did crash my Zero 8 once while I switched sample rates
while playing so I would advise using 44.1 Khz wherever possible.

Midi and sync has also been tested and I could not find any problems.

Tested on:

Korg Zero 8 v 1.60 English
Windows 7 Ultimate x64 Clean Install
ASUS P5W DH Deluxe WITH Texas Instruments Firewire port < Important
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 3.16GHZ
4GB RAM DDR2 PC6400
Ableton Live 8.1.4

Unplug your Zero, run setup.exe and plug your gear in when the setup
asks you to. Windows should alarm you that the files are unverified, just
say yes to install them anyway.

I will not give support on these drivers (just like Korg...) nor will I
take responsibility for any damages to your hardware.

Download: http://www.datanoir.net/sub/KorgZero_W7_x86-x64.zip

Enjoy!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
djcl.ear



Joined: 21 Dec 2008
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2010 8:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Xcellent ˇˇ
If Zero's 64 bit drivers do finally work, some of us will just need Ableton live to get the 64 compatibility for the dream machine. A paradigm shift is coming...
Well done Datan0ir.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
ricko



Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 11:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

awesome! well done! i'll be trying that out first thing tomorrow! and once again on behalf of everyone that using windows 64 f*^k you korg! i won't ever be buying any of your products again due to your S&^t support! honestly people have been screaming for 64 bit drivers for that last 3 or 4 years! get with the times or get out of the game all together!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
driverdj2000



Joined: 16 Jan 2009
Posts: 36

PostPosted: Sat Aug 07, 2010 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

datan0ir-you're a legend!!!!!!!!
there surely are 1000's of people out there in need of this
Well done
TIME TO TEST I THINK
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dj Royal Tee



Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 8
Location: NYC !

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1st let me say thank you for your efforts!!
Just the fact that someone has to go through this to get equipment working should be an embarrassment to anyone who works for Korg.

That said,
I just tried it on a Win 7 64bit install w/my Zero 4 and it seems to work.
I only tested it for about 3 hrs so I can't vouch for it being a end all.

The sound seems like the way it was on traktor b4 the update to improve the sound quality for TimeCode users...(pre 1.2 I believe)
Also, the Streaming State is Empty and does not display "Running" or "Error"

Either way, I attempted 4 decks, with FX, Timecode and lowered my buffer settings to:
- Stream Buffer=3.0
- ASIO Buffer=6.0

and it DID NOT Crash which is impressive considering that the *ahem* "64 bit driver from korg" has to be used with the buffer setting all the way up in order to simply play!

Very well done!

ftr, I was @ the DJ Expo this week and asked the Korg reps about our issue...he had no friggin' clue what I was talking about and just said, it doesn't look like it'll happen... Rolling Eyes

_________________
>B^)>


Last edited by dj Royal Tee on Wed Oct 13, 2010 10:00 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
datan0ir



Joined: 08 Apr 2010
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 7:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks guys Smile hope its all still working. I have experienced 1 blue screen of death in Windows 7 (Korg_1394_x64.sys) since I installed the drivers but I havent been able to reproduce it since then and only (I think) due to Soundforge crashing. If anything else pops up I will let you know.
_________________
Datanoir.com
Facebook
Twitter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Reggmail
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Sep 2007
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Tue Aug 24, 2010 6:44 pm    Post subject: Zero 8/4. 64 bit - picking up, where Korg droped the ball. Reply with quote

Very Happy Yo Brotha datan0ir Thank you very much.
I have been praying that someone would design drivers for 64bit for almost 3 years now....finally.
I would only hope that someone will make more drivers to support these good Zero 4 & Zero 8 units since Korg don't give a **** about them or us for that matter.
I will first try your driver out on the Zero 8 using Vista 64bit with Tracktor, and will let you know how it works.
Again, thank you much...You're the man.
Peace & blessings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
llavoe



Joined: 11 May 2009
Posts: 26
Location: USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 07, 2010 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well it has been about 60 days since this topic started. And most of you have been using this driver. Has it been working ok? Have there been any issues for any of you?
_________________
Toshiba Satellite A305-6919
Intel T6400 - 4GB
Win 7 64 Premium
Korg Zero8
Lacie Rugged XL 1TB E-Sata
firm v 1.6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dvelop
Junior Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2010
Posts: 55

PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2010 12:55 pm    Post subject: question Reply with quote

I don't understand the need for this special driver? My Korg Zero 8 seems to work fine in win7 64 with the standard Korg Driver, am I missing something? Is it not working like it is supposed to with the standard driver?
Thanks for any info. Also what buffer settings do you folks use with the Zero8?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dj Royal Tee



Joined: 15 May 2003
Posts: 8
Location: NYC !

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:56 pm    Post subject: Re: question Reply with quote

dvelop wrote:
I don't understand the need for this special driver? My Korg Zero 8 seems to work fine in win7 64 with the standard Korg Driver, am I missing something? Is it not working like it is supposed to with the standard driver?
Thanks for any info. Also what buffer settings do you folks use with the Zero8?


Because the KORG drivers they released would crash or not function properly on Win 7.
On some systems, the KORG F/W panel doesn't work properly.
Yes they would install and work on some, but for other like mine once you try and drop the buffer settings...BAM!
Also, it won't display the state: Running or Error.

I use this modded driver and have been able to drop it to my normal (32 bit) usage setting of 3.0ms stream and 6.0ms buffer...all on 48khz!
I stay around that because it's a good balance of control and Sound Quality for me.
Although the panel still doesn't show the state, it runs properly.

_________________
>B^)>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
intricate



Joined: 07 Apr 2010
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Fri Dec 03, 2010 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks a lot!!!

I haven't had problems on my 2 previous laptop systems running Windows 7 Ultimate with the original drivers.
But on this one running windows 7 home premium I do have problems with the original drivers.

Could be because it's a Jmicron chipset, while my other 2 laptops had Texas instruments and Ricoh running without problems.
My echo audiofire 2 runs like a charm on Jmicron and Texas instruments, while it didn't on Ricoh.

So i'm very glad I came across this thread!

Still have to test it on a longer time span, but this seems to work like a charm!

Now I can run Traktor at home with the zero 4 interface and on the road with the echo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
intricate



Joined: 07 Apr 2010
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Tue Dec 07, 2010 7:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm having problems.

it seems the drivers only work for me after initial installation.
When I restart the system the drivers don't work anymore.

I even tried the drivers in test mode, and signing these, but no effect.

Anyone have any ideas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ashley23



Joined: 26 Dec 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Dec 26, 2010 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

^^^^ Seemingly, I have the same problem as Intricate.

Help would be much appreciated guys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
intricate



Joined: 07 Apr 2010
Posts: 45

PostPosted: Mon Jan 31, 2011 1:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ashley23 wrote:
^^^^ Seemingly, I have the same problem as Intricate.

Help would be much appreciated guys.


Ashley, It seems my Korg Zero 4 works stable.
Tried plugging in/out the firewire cable multiple times in one windows session, as well as restarting, and it connects every time.

What I did is run windows in test mode (google DSEO Driver signature enforcement overrider)
This lets you install unsigned drivers, like the ones Datanoir compiled.

When you install the drivers, go to the install folder, and make all the files "read only", and restart windows.
I believe when the drivers are used in a program they might be changed, and this would cause the malfunctioning/not being able to connect anymore.

This worked for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
higherbeats



Joined: 17 May 2011
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue May 17, 2011 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wow, cool users here!
i am right before buying a ZERO 4....

keep it up! Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Digital Recording and Mixing All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group