Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Help me choose a Korg?: Guitarist looking to start Keyboard

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Testing This Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
wasteisland

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 7:26 pm    Post subject: Help me choose a Korg?: Guitarist looking to start Keyboard Reply with quote

Hi there. I am a guitarist but have recently taken a deep interest in electronic music. For a few months now I have been trying to achieve electronic like tones on my guitar however I realize if I ever wish to really play that style I will most likely need to switch over to a synth.

I'm a fan of Korgs but don't really know where to start. Could you guys help me out? From someone who knows nothing here, at first glance overviewing all the products the X50 catches my eye. Here is what I really need out of a synth:

**I will use it for live performance over anything! so what I would like is:

Many octaves (keys), at least the seemingly standard 61 keys.

Ability to program lots of user patches (and split patches, for example dubstep bass on the low end and xylophone leads further up in the same patch)

Ability to use a vocoder hooked up to a microphone.

Ability to build my own tones/download other use tones (if possible?)