Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Is The X50 Right For Me?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg X-50 / microX
View previous topic :: View next topic  
wasteisland

PostPosted: Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:44 pm    Post subject: Is The X50 Right For Me? Reply with quote

Hey all,

I'm a guitarist who is going to start playing keyboard on the side and I was wondering if the X50 is right for me.. I could get a really good deal on one. (Pretty much could get one for around.. $350 in good condition with the box and manual and adapter... which here in Canada is a steal)

So obviously I'm a complete beginner.. I'm really all about playing, so all I really need is good tones that I can tweak to my liking. Tones I would use would be such as piano, organ, strings, wind instruments, basses.. pretty much a well rounded bunch of sounds. If it is suited for this can I take these sounds and modify them? can I write the modded versions of them to patches and rename them anything I want?

I have heard mixed things about the durability of the X50, mostly being that it feels cheap.. however is it really cheap, or does it just "feel cheap"? because I have also heard people gig with it and abuse it with little to no problems.

So is it right for me? I understand that a workstation seems best for me, but at the moment one is really out of my price range and I figure even if I get one in the future I could use the X50 as a solid back up.