Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Does Kronos have Polyphonic Aftertouch?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Blazer



Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:49 pm    Post subject: Does Kronos have Polyphonic Aftertouch? Reply with quote

Just curious....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RC-IA
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 16 Jan 2004
Posts: 925
Location: FR

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

no
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blazer



Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks.

It does have aftertouch though, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jon Lord
Senior Member


Joined: 07 Sep 2007
Posts: 452
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blazer wrote:
Thanks.

It does have aftertouch though, right?
Yes monophonic Aftertouch on all models, which took me 20seconds to find out via the search button up there Wink
_________________
- Download & share Korg keyboard patches for free.
Korg M3-73 (Radias Exb & Warwick "RC 21728 B" case), Clavia Nord Electro 3.
[On Hold]: Elka MK-88. [Sold]: Roland XP-30, Access Virus C

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blazer



Joined: 15 Sep 2007
Posts: 38

PostPosted: Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks, I'll use the Search button next time.
I'm new to this Forum.
Even though I joined 3 years ago, I haven't been actively engaged here.
The Kronos has definitely captured my attention, however.
I'm currently a full-time college student.
My mind is mostly on my studies.
But I sure do appreciate your input.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
powernemo



Joined: 09 Apr 2014
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Sun Jun 22, 2014 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jon Lord wrote:
Blazer wrote:
Thanks.

It does have aftertouch though, right?
Yes monophonic Aftertouch on all models, which took me 20seconds to find out via the search button up there Wink


And would took even less if you would paste the link here so there is no need to use again the search button.
It's taking me more than 20 seconds to find the post you are referring to...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
genehart
Full Member


Joined: 30 Dec 2012
Posts: 208

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2014 5:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

what does the polyphonic aftertouch literally mean and how to differ it from monophonic by ear?
_________________
KronosX 88, RME HDSP 9652, Sennheiser HD600, Cubase AI6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog
Platinum Member


Joined: 21 May 2007
Posts: 1448

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2014 6:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

genehart wrote:
what does the polyphonic aftertouch literally mean and how to differ it from monophonic by ear?


Polyphonic aftertouch allows you to have separate aftertouch per note while monophonic aftertouch affects all notes.

So lets say I have aftertouch set up to add vibrato, also I am playing a C, E and G and applying aftertouch on the G. With mono aftertouch the vibrato would effect all of the notes, with poly aftertouch it would only effect the G.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ronnfigg
Platinum Member


Joined: 26 Mar 2011
Posts: 1864
Location: CA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2014 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think the Kronos can recognize polyphonic aftertouch control messages, is just cannot generate them on the keyboard. From the research I've done, there are very few keyboards on the market that generate polyphonic AT.
_________________
Got my Platinum! Now I want my Aggro!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BobTheDog
Platinum Member


Joined: 21 May 2007
Posts: 1448

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2014 9:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ronnfigg wrote:
I think the Kronos can recognize polyphonic aftertouch control messages, is just cannot generate them on the keyboard. From the research I've done, there are very few keyboards on the market that generate polyphonic AT.


It is a crying shame.

There are some cheap "keyboards" appearing now with poly aftertouch:

Qunexus http://www.keithmcmillen.com/qunexus/tour?gclid=CI2K56XZj78CFa_KtAodtC4AhA

XKey http://www.cme-pro.com/xkey.html


And some alternative controllers:

Eigenharp http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eigenharp

Soundplane http://madronalabs.com/hardware


Also there are a few apps on the iPad that send poly aftertouch I use Animoog sometimes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Broadwave
Platinum Member


Joined: 25 May 2011
Posts: 1020
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2014 10:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can confirm that the Kronos responds to Poly Aftertouch, but you have to set up AMS routing correctly Smile

An inexpensive Poly AT controller is the GEM S2/S3 (they don't come up on ebay/Craigslist very often, but they do tend to be cheap - I don't think people realize that they transmit Poly AT!!). Great keybed action too.
_________________
Kronos 2 88, Roland System-8, Novation Ultranova, ARP Odyssey, Broadwave ARP 2600EX, Broadwave Sparta, Broadwave/Behringer Minimoog Clone, Broadwave Modular, Fender Deluxe Plus Top (iOS), Broadwave 12 String Telecaster

Synth DIY Projects
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
danmusician
Platinum Member


Joined: 08 Apr 2009
Posts: 792
Location: Southern PA

PostPosted: Mon Jun 23, 2014 3:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Ensoniq EPS had poly aftertouch. I used to set sounds to pitchbend up a half step. That way I could hold a triad and bend the third for a suspension.
_________________
Kronos 2 88, Kronos Classic 73, PX-5S, Kronos 2 61, Roli Seaboard Rise 49, MOTU Mach 5, Authorized Steinway, Real Guitar, MOTU 896HD, Digital Performer, Band-in-a-Box with Real Tracks, iPad Pro, Bose L1 Model II, Bose L1 Compact
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
zeph



Joined: 27 Jun 2016
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2018 6:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's odd but I find no mention of aftertouch on the website, nor in the documentation.

The new Kronos still has channel aftertouch, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voip
Platinum Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2014
Posts: 1435

PostPosted: Wed May 09, 2018 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Blazer asked exactly the same question on this thread back in 2011, so it's worth reading the replies again.

Also, buried towards the back of the Kronos user manual, the MIDI implementation chart indicates that polyphonic aftertouch is both transmitted and recognised.

The keybeds of all the Kronii, apart from the LS, generate monophonic aftertouch; there is only a single aftertouch sensor strip, which does not distinguish which key(s) were pressed to generate the aftertouch data.

Although not directly related to the topic, it might be useful to know that there has been some discussion in a different thread on this forum recently, about the amount of pressure required to generate aftertouch. Some people find that the amount of finger pressure required is rather high. Although some degree of calibration is possible, it may not be to everyone's liking.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KK
Senior Member


Joined: 13 Oct 2016
Posts: 259

PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2018 1:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

zeph wrote:
It's odd but I find no mention of aftertouch on the website, nor in the documentation.

The new Kronos still has channel aftertouch, right?

Hi Zeph,

Yes, the Kronos keyboard generates channel AT. You can also generate poly AT events with the Kronos sequencer. And as already mentioned, the Kronos also responds to poly AT perfectly. For poly AT, I enjoy connecting my MIDIboard to it - the Kronos is a great machine.
_________________
Musician, solution designer for keyboard instruments and more.
Kronos : Color LEDs mod
Kronos : Custom velocity curves
Kronos : Aftertouch hardware solution
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group