Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Some basic questions

View previous topic :: View next topic  
ruigrguerreiro

PostPosted: Fri Feb 11, 2011 2:10 pm    Post subject: Some basic questions Reply with quote

Hi there,
My son has been taking piano classes for some time now, and I would like to buy him a nice keyboard. I'm not that tech savvy, but I understand the basics of it, so I'll try to use the proper language to ask for your help here.
He's got a small MIDI keyboard that he uses with the computer to produce his tracks (if I'm not wrong the program he uses is Logic), so the new keyboard should have MIDI. But it would be great to be able to play it without it being attached to the computer all the time, and after I looked around, for what I understand, the SV-1 does both, right?
I see the SV-1 has MIDI ports and USB, which I suppose do the same job, correct? So he can use the SV-1 as a standard MIDI keyboard to play the instruments of Logic?
And if he wants he can record the output of the SV-1 itself just by routing the analog outputs to the inputs of his interface? Is that it?
Please do let me know about anything else I should consider before buying the SV-1, and I'm sorry if I didn't use the proper terms above, so I hope you understand my questions. I would ask the kid all this, but that would ruin the surprise!

Thank you so much for your time.

Best regards,
Rui Guerreiro
jg::
Platinum Member

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Rui,

The short answer to all your questions is: Yes!

jg::
X-Trade

PostPosted: Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote