Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Kronos what is the max Number of Polyphony notes
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
videorov
Full Member


Joined: 20 Jan 2011
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 3:50 am    Post subject: Kronos what is the max Number of Polyphony notes Reply with quote

I don't see anything on that in their specs. Maybe they call it
some other name?
Also I guess you can load in a vocal track from a sound and could
play along with it like off a mpeg file etc from a USB drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mkpcola



Joined: 21 Feb 2011
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 4:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your question has already been answered in the specs.
You better read the specs carefully.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
videorov
Full Member


Joined: 20 Jan 2011
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Must have missed it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EvilDragon
Platinum Member


Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Posts: 1992
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.korg.com/kronos


Click on "Specifications".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Melodialworks Music
Platinum Member


Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Posts: 519
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also seem to recall that this was discussed quite a bit early in one of the threads. Try the search function. (We do need an official FAQ, though.
_________________
Melodialworks Music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
X-Trade
Moderator


Joined: 14 Feb 2006
Posts: 6494
Location: Leeds, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Polyphony is dynamically allocated. If you look at the specs, they cover the maximum voices from a synth engine if that is the only synth engine playing.

If you're playing that many notes in the synth engine then you're using up 100% of the available processing power.

So of you see one engine with 50 notes, and another with 100 notes, then pressing one key on the first engine will take two notes remaining polyphony out of the other one.
_________________
Current Gear: Kronos 61, RADIAS-R, Volca Bass, ESX-1, microKorg, MS2000B, R3, Kaossilator Pro +, MiniKP, AX3000B, nanoKontrol, nanoPad MK II,
Other Mfgrs: Moog Sub37, Roland Boutique JX03, Novation MiniNova, Akai APC40, MOTU MIDI TimePiece 2, ART Pro VLA, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40.
Past Gear: Korg Karma, TR61, Poly800, EA-1, ER-1, ES-1, Kawai K1, Novation ReMote37SL, Boss GT-6B
Software: NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Arturia V Collection, Ableton Live 9. Apple OSX El Capitan on 15" MacBook Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
videorov
Full Member


Joined: 20 Jan 2011
Posts: 139

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 4:34 pm    Post subject: I see the Clavinova cvp-509 has 128 +128-note polyphony Reply with quote

I found it in their specs now. It looks like they can combine engines
to handle more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MartinHines
Platinum Member


Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 3003
Location: Topeka, KS (USA)

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:01 pm    Post subject: Re: I see the Clavinova cvp-509 has 128 +128-note polyphony Reply with quote

videorov wrote:
I found it in their specs now. It looks like they can combine engines to handle more.


Just the opposite is true; when multiple engines are running the maximum voice count in each engine drops.

The polyphony numbers listed on the specs represent the maximum for each engine if that engine was the only one playing. For example, if you were playing ONLY one of the SGX-1 pianos, your maximum voice count would te 100 "dual-stereo notes". If you were playing ONLY the EP-1 your max voice count would be 104. If you were playing two engines at the same time these numbers would go down.

The reason the use of multiple engines requires the processing resources be shared across all of the engines. If only one engine is running you get max power devoted to that engine.

From the specs:
-- SGX-1: 100 voices
-- EP-1: 104 voices
-- HD-1: 140 voices
-- AL-1: 80 voices
-- CX-3: 200 voices
-- STR-1: 40 voices
-- MOD-7: 52 voices
-- MS-20EX: 40 voices
-- PolysixEX: 180 voices


*1 Maximum polyphony depends on the kind of synthesis engines and the number of effects being used.
*2 Kronos dynamically allocates voices to multiple synthesis engines when they are used simultaneously.
*3 100 dual-stereo notes (It corresponds to 400 voices in the maximum.)


Finally, true polyphony -- i.e. the number of notes that can be sounded at the same time -- can vary based on how many simultaneous samples are being used/played at the same time. This is why all synth manufacturers usually give their polyphony figures in "voices", not notes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
X-Trade
Moderator


Joined: 14 Feb 2006
Posts: 6494
Location: Leeds, UK

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so technically you could say the maximum polyphony of Kronos is 200 notes - based exclusively upon running just one instance of CX3.
_________________
Current Gear: Kronos 61, RADIAS-R, Volca Bass, ESX-1, microKorg, MS2000B, R3, Kaossilator Pro +, MiniKP, AX3000B, nanoKontrol, nanoPad MK II,
Other Mfgrs: Moog Sub37, Roland Boutique JX03, Novation MiniNova, Akai APC40, MOTU MIDI TimePiece 2, ART Pro VLA, Focusrite Saffire Pro 40.
Past Gear: Korg Karma, TR61, Poly800, EA-1, ER-1, ES-1, Kawai K1, Novation ReMote37SL, Boss GT-6B
Software: NI Komplete 10 Ultimate, Arturia V Collection, Ableton Live 9. Apple OSX El Capitan on 15" MacBook Pro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
robinkle
Senior Member


Joined: 14 Jan 2011
Posts: 382
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To get even more polyphony. Is it possible to disable the effects section and allow all engines to access processor power from both cores?

I plan to integrate Kronos in to Logic and use the effects there instead.
I prefer using same effect software for all my Software synths.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EvilDragon
Platinum Member


Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Posts: 1992
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 7:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

robinkle wrote:
To get even more polyphony. Is it possible to disable the effects section and allow all engines to access processor power from both cores?


No. One core is strictly for sound generation, the other is strictly for FX processing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robinkle
Senior Member


Joined: 14 Jan 2011
Posts: 382
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 7:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EvilDragon wrote:
robinkle wrote:
To get even more polyphony. Is it possible to disable the effects section and allow all engines to access processor power from both cores?


No. One core is strictly for sound generation, the other is strictly for FX processing.


You work for Korg?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jon Lord
Senior Member


Joined: 07 Sep 2007
Posts: 452
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

robinkle wrote:
EvilDragon wrote:
robinkle wrote:
To get even more polyphony. Is it possible to disable the effects section and allow all engines to access processor power from both cores?


No. One core is strictly for sound generation, the other is strictly for FX processing.


You work for Korg?
It has been answered by dan and rich somewhere here at the forums

EDIT: http://acapella.harmony-central.com/showthread.php?2723766-KORG-KRONOS&p=42082929&viewfull=1#post42082929

Dan answered the same thing here but don't remember which post it was
_________________
- Download & share Korg keyboard patches for free.
Korg M3-73 (Radias Exb & Warwick "RC 21728 B" case), Clavia Nord Electro 3.
[On Hold]: Elka MK-88. [Sold]: Roland XP-30, Access Virus C

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EvilDragon
Platinum Member


Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Posts: 1992
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

robinkle wrote:
EvilDragon wrote:
robinkle wrote:
To get even more polyphony. Is it possible to disable the effects section and allow all engines to access processor power from both cores?


No. One core is strictly for sound generation, the other is strictly for FX processing.


You work for Korg?


I read this forum. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
robinkle
Senior Member


Joined: 14 Jan 2011
Posts: 382
Location: Norway

PostPosted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

EvilDragon wrote:
robinkle wrote:
EvilDragon wrote:
robinkle wrote:
To get even more polyphony. Is it possible to disable the effects section and allow all engines to access processor power from both cores?


No. One core is strictly for sound generation, the other is strictly for FX processing.


You work for Korg?


I read this forum. Laughing


Answer the question.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group