Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Wait for my 88 or change to the 61?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
drchris

PostPosted: Mon Jun 13, 2011 4:37 am    Post subject: Wait for my 88 or change to the 61? Reply with quote

I know no one can answer for me, but maybe you guys will have some advice that helps. I am not a professional musician, but love playing in my home studio and in the worship band at our church. I've been playing via Ableton, an AKAI MPK 49 (and APC 40). I think of myself much more as a synth player than a piano player.

I started off a couple of months ago looking for an 88 key instrument mostly for home studio use. I looked at the big names out there in workstations and stage pianos and was looking at an M3 vs a Nord. Then I came across the Kronos, and was amazed at the flexibility it would give me. I preordered an 88 from Sweetwater but as everyone knows it is delayed. I reinvestigated, and again came to the conclusion that I want the Kronos.

Now the question: Do I hold out for the 88 that I ordered, or go on and pick up an 61?

The issues are:
- will I be comfortable on weighted keys? I know I have to answer for myself, but do those of you who DO think of yourselves as piano player feel comfortable on the semi weighted keys? Do you think I'll regret not having a weighted keyed in my home studio?