Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Expression Pedal Oddness?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
MidnightPackage

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 6:54 pm    Post subject: Expression Pedal Oddness? Reply with quote

I am not sure if this is an issue, or if it makes perfect sense. I am very new to keyboards as sophisticated as this one.

I hooked an expression pedal up and realized that it would not do anything until I went into Global mode, Controllers, and establish a function for it. I chose JS+Y. And it worked.

However, later on I noticed that every patch I would change to would start with a vibrato effect on, until I physically moved the pedal or joystick to clear it. Unfortunately I noticed this *after* I had spent hours auditioning all of the combis and wondering why they all seemed to have so much vibrato.

I disconnected the pedal, thinking it was the hardware, or perhaps a polarity issue. But the problem persisted. I shut off the Kronos and restarted. But still every patch had vibrato until I moved the joystick to clear it.

Finally I went into Global settings and changed the pedal action to None and that resolved the problem. No more vibrato. Then, to test, I changed it back and the vibrato was back.

Is this normal behavior?
McHale
Platinum Member

PostPosted: Sat Jun 25, 2011 6:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yep. That's how it's supposed to work.

I only program specific functions in specific patches for the expression pedal. For example, I go into all of the organ patches and set manual leslie speed to be controlled by the expression pedal.