Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Piano sounds in loud band context
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
jimknopf
Platinum Member

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2011 11:59 am    Post subject: Piano sounds in loud band context Reply with quote

While everybody is right to agree that the Kronos Pianos are easily the best and most authetic sounding pianos in any actual synth or even compared to most of the stage pianos, there is one problem left which the factory patches don't solve: they are not opimised for loud band rehearsal play and gigging. Since I am a free time musician besides my main profession, I play only casual gigs, but I heard that complaint confirmed by more than one regularly gigging musician: you don't hear yourself precisely, and the band doesn't either. This can heavily influence timing security and expressivenes of play.

What I do are three things:

1. Selecting the Japanese Grand instead of the German Grand for anything beyond solo play, ballads and jazz trio kind of stuff.

2. Try to get a little bit less mid range and more presence by EQing (still trying to find the best settings)

3. After EQing normally a piano will cut through better, but now you will miss some substance and perceive it as somehow thin. Now you use the "Xaver Fischer trick" Very Happy

I got this great, really well working tip from this German Keyboarder I know. Meanwhile he has published this tip in a German musician's portal here:
http://www.bonedo.de/artikel/einzelansicht/shortcut-klaviersound-auf-der-buehne.html
I include the link, because it contains a sound example

To summarize the essentail point: