Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

I just need help understanding if I can do what I want to do

View previous topic :: View next topic  
utterlyconfused

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2011 9:56 pm    Post subject: I just need help understanding if I can do what I want to do Reply with quote

I play a lot of things and I have a decent background in music theory but I'm really new to the synth world and I just don't understand my new microsampler. I spoke pretty in depth with the guy at guitar center about what I wanted to be able to do on a synth and he insisted this would do it. I just want to be able to play a pattern of notes on either the keyboard or the sampler portion of the synth & loop it so that it can continuously play in the background of my musical project while I continue to play another instrument. Just like looping 15 seconds of music on the guitar through my line 6 petal. I just want to be able to record it and continue playing it. Is this even possible? If so, could some saint of a human being be able to explain it to me in simple terms, without explaining why or having me record a drum beat and set up measures - I mean why has this been so difficult? To just record 15 seconds of music on the microsampler & be able to play it back with no bull?
AI_Joe

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2011 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Never trust a salesman.
Sounds like you need a sequencer - not a sampler. The microSampler has a very limited and basic sequencer and is not ideal for what you want. While the microSampler can loop a sample, it's not meant for recording long segments of music.

So depending on what you want: