Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Tip: Moving Seq data by 1 or more beats in a measure.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Classic Threads
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Sharp
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jan 2002
Posts: 17861
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2004 1:24 am    Post subject: Tip: Moving Seq data by 1 or more beats in a measure. Reply with quote

Hi all.

Problem:
The copy measure feature of the Triton only deals with measures. It is not able to deal with beats within a measure, so if you wanted to move the contents of track or measure up or down by one beat or more. You can’t do it with the Copy Measure option.

Solution:
Lets say for example I have a sequence in Track 1, measure 1, beat 2, and it plays for 4 beats. If I wanted that sequence to start on the first beat of measure one, I can simply shift the sequence data down by one measure, with an accuracy equal to the resolution of the Triton’s Sequencer (192).

Here’s how to do it. Using the problem above, I can go to page 5 Seq mode and at the bottom of the screen select measure 1 and 2 of Track 1.

Now using the Tab in the top right of the screen I can select Quantize and more accurately select Beat 2 of Measure 1 – to beat 3 of Measure 2.

Set the off set to –192 (1 beat), and select OK.

Job done.
I’ve just moved the Sequence data by one beat within a measure.

This tip can be applied to many different situations. It’s up to you to realise when you can made use of this idea. Personally I use it to copy data all around the place in my songs. From Track to Track too.

Regards.
Sharp.
_________________
KORG Store - Irish Acts Irish Acts Online Store
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
AnthonyB
Platinum Member


Joined: 22 Jun 2003
Posts: 735
Location: Great Britain

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2004 3:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you Sharp for the Tip/Tutorials Smile - I've seen the other ones too - and building up a collection here! have I got your permission to Print them out?

Cheers

Anthony
_________________
KORG KRONOS 88-Korg D3200-Casio Privia PX-830BP-KAWAI RX-2 Grand Piano
Sequencing: KRONOS/Cubase/Cubasis/iPad air2

JOHN 3:16
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address MSN Messenger
Sharp
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jan 2002
Posts: 17861
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Mon Mar 15, 2004 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AnthonyB wrote:
Thank you Sharp for the Tip/Tutorials Smile - I've seen the other ones too - and building up a collection here! have I got your permission to Print them out?

Cheers

Anthony


No problem mate.
Sure...print away.

Regards.
Sharp.
_________________
KORG Store - Irish Acts Irish Acts Online Store
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
ausser
Platinum Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2002
Posts: 728
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 3:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sharp,

I presume what you mean is that there are 192 points of resolution within one Bar-beat on Tritons sequencer.

So there are 192 points either right or left of a chosen measure beat that you can move a selection of track datat to and from.

I have tried this with a very tricky intro track - and bhoy does it open up possiblities for messing about with tempo-tricky intros...

I had to bang away at it @192 resolution until I got it near to where I wanted it, then fine-tuned it @100 - @60 - then down @3 - @1 etc...
The difference this makes is Incredible!!!

You can perfcetly match up a nice lyrical intro - playing you own feel with no angst compromises about getting to that chord before 'IT' - the drumtrack comes in...

Sharp - I just didn't know the Triton could really really do this!
I thought it was just like within a measure or something...not THE WHOLE FREAKING TRACK!!!!
Its not to indicative on the page-tab though exactly what it does...

If it wasn't for your tip Sharp.....I wouldn't have know about this at all.
Big thanks Buddy!

Peace
Ausser.

PS:No more concrete pants over lyrical intros with the damned auto-tempo-whadeva.
I had years of it!!..and you just never get it right!

PPS:

I'd like to work out a clearer method with name (eg. beat) conventions so that you could quickly get to where you need to go with larger track data moves.
_________________
Will we march only to the music of time...?
Or will we march to the soul-saving music of eternity?
MLK Junior - Strength to Love 1963.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Vadim
Platinum Member


Joined: 20 Nov 2006
Posts: 622

PostPosted: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks alot, this is really helpfull.
its an alternative way to get around the important missing feature, that korg didn't put there!! even my roland va76, an ARRANGER keyboard, lets me select beats in editting...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
19
Junior Member


Joined: 20 Jun 2007
Posts: 61

PostPosted: Wed Mar 12, 2008 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Sharp Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Classic Threads All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group