Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

KRONOS Aftertouch not working....
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jake419



Joined: 06 May 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 7:02 am    Post subject: KRONOS Aftertouch not working.... Reply with quote

hi all . . .
I bought the kronos 61 about two weeks ago, i still can't make out any difference in sound with the variation in pressure aftr pressin the keys . . . . Think

In global settings i c an option "aftertouch curve" which is set to 4 by default . .
what's this option . . . does it have anything to do with my problem ? Think
Can anyone suggest some remedies . . . . . Neutral plz help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
levioter
Senior Member


Joined: 28 Sep 2011
Posts: 395

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
Did you try to calibrate the aftertouch in the global settings part ?
IN addition I am sure not all programs are able to deal with the aftertouch.

Regards
_________________
KORG KRONOS73 -- Minimoog Model-D -- KORG M1 -- M-AUDIO FastTrack C600 -- M-AUDIO AXIOM-25MK2 -- Roland Vdrum TD12KV
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SoundsOfPlanet
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 13 Feb 2012
Posts: 393

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 9:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

HI

my settings:
Velocity Curve 4
After Touch Curve 3

Check on whether the program works:

INT A - 000

INT C - 096 - hit harder and longer key

is the difference?
_________________
Korg Kronos /Korg Extreme and Moss

http://www.soundsofplanet.com/
one Man -one Kronos- and new sounds by Sounds of Planet
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
SeedyLee
Platinum Member


Joined: 13 Sep 2006
Posts: 1062
Location: Perth, Australia

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SoundsOfPlanet wrote:
HI

my settings:
Velocity Curve 4
After Touch Curve 3

Check on whether the program works:

INT A - 000

INT C - 096 - hit harder and longer key

is the difference?


Calibrating the aftertouch is different to setting the aftertouch curve. In the Global page menu there should be an option to calibrate aftertouch - make sure you run this procedure before trying to use aftertouch.

When you've done this, you can set the aftertouch curve to taste.
_________________
Message me on BlackBerry Messenger: 2B3628BE
Current Equipment:
Korg Kronos 61, , Monotron, , Roland JV-80 & JV-1080 Kawai L1, Lexicon MX200, Motu 828 mk3, Presonus FaderPort, Motu MicroLite, Behringer BCR2000, Yamaha QY70, VocalWorks+, Rode NT1-A, Tascam VLX5 Monitors Tascam CD Player, Shure SRH840 Headphones. Shure IEM, Shure SM58, JBL PRX12 monitor wedge.

Previous: Triton LE 61/Sampling/64MB/4GB SCSI, MS2000BR, Monotribe, NanoKontrol, NanoKeys, Kaossilator II, Casio HT3000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1jordyzzz
Platinum Member


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 688
Location: Indonesia

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. not all sounds support aftertouch / aftertouch disabled (pianos, EPs)
2. aftertouch does more than increase the volume, it also does another effect (vibrato for instance)
_________________
Love my kronos 88 Very Happy
Love my yamaha psr s910 as well

Korg Kronos 88, Yamaha PSR s910, Korg C720, Yamaha DTX 520, Focusrite Scarlett 18i6, a pair of Yamaha HS80 in (soon not to be) an unproperly treated room..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
michelkeijzers
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 08 Feb 2007
Posts: 9032
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1jordyzzz wrote:
1. not all sounds support aftertouch / aftertouch disabled (pianos, EPs)
2. aftertouch does more than increase the volume, it also does another effect (vibrato for instance)


Actually aftertouch can be set to (a number of) controls, including vibrator but also any other possible modulation source.

However, from the factory default presets, I think aftertouch is not set to a quite high value for vibrator mainly (less than JS Y+) ... therefor for some patches I changed it manually.
_________________

Developer of the free PCG file managing application for most Korg workstations: PCG Tools, see http://pcgtools.mkspace.nl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Rosen Sound
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 1056
Location: Los Angeles, California

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 5:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Go to an empty AL-1 exi and go to the pitch tab and use after touch as a source to change pitch. See if that works, if you need more I'm depth I will later. I'm not at my Kronos
_________________


Current gear: Korg Kronos 61, Oberheim OB-8, Alesis Vortex
Past Gear: Triton Extreme w/moss & ram, Korg Radias, Kurzweil Micropiano, Triton classic, & Karma
Come visit my Burbank California repair shop/recording studio! Rosensound.com
And my band: Sirion.us.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
SanderXpander
Platinum Member


Joined: 29 Jul 2011
Posts: 7860

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

michelkeijzers wrote:
Actually aftertouch can be set to (a number of) controls, including vibrator but also any other possible modulation source.

I hate to be juvenile but this was just to good to pass up.
I wonder what it would do to my relationship if the aftertouch on my Kronos controlled the vibrator.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ksynth
Platinum Member


Joined: 01 Jun 2009
Posts: 1201
Location: Northern California, USA

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SanderXpander wrote:
michelkeijzers wrote:
Actually aftertouch can be set to (a number of) controls, including vibrator but also any other possible modulation source.

I hate to be juvenile but this was just to good to pass up.
I wonder what it would do to my relationship if the aftertouch on my Kronos controlled the vibrator.


Check the battery?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SanderXpander
Platinum Member


Joined: 29 Jul 2011
Posts: 7860

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Makes me wonder if my bride to be would like any of the other "modulation sources".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
michelkeijzers
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 08 Feb 2007
Posts: 9032
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ksynth wrote:
SanderXpander wrote:
michelkeijzers wrote:
Actually aftertouch can be set to (a number of) controls, including vibrator but also any other possible modulation source.

I hate to be juvenile but this was just to good to pass up.
I wonder what it would do to my relationship if the aftertouch on my Kronos controlled the vibrator.


Check the battery?


Oops ... yes I now can see it is a SOURCE for making a joke of it.
Maybe girls are getting interested in a Kronos too if this would really be possible.
_________________

Developer of the free PCG file managing application for most Korg workstations: PCG Tools, see http://pcgtools.mkspace.nl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
1jordyzzz
Platinum Member


Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 688
Location: Indonesia

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2012 8:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

michelkeijzers wrote:

Actually aftertouch can be set to (a number of) controls, including vibrator but also any other possible modulation source.

However, from the factory default presets, I think aftertouch is not set to a quite high value for vibrator mainly (less than JS Y+) ... therefor for some patches I changed it manually.

thx for the info!
_________________
Love my kronos 88 Very Happy
Love my yamaha psr s910 as well

Korg Kronos 88, Yamaha PSR s910, Korg C720, Yamaha DTX 520, Focusrite Scarlett 18i6, a pair of Yamaha HS80 in (soon not to be) an unproperly treated room..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jake419



Joined: 06 May 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2012 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks for the replies.....
YA I didn't know tht i had to calibrate the aftertouch, but how am i supposed to do that???
I selected the "calibrate aftertouch" option on the global page menu...A dialog box appears which says : "Set MIN/MAX.....and press done"..Confused .. I pressed down a key varied its' pressure and pressed "done" , then it appears "can't calibrate"........Shocked.....what should i do....how should i calibrate it??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
motic
Full Member


Joined: 14 Jan 2012
Posts: 159
Location: NL

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2012 9:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far i can remember (not behind the K), first time you press calibrates MIN, second time MAX, then press Done.
Little tricky but if haven't done the first 2 steps properly you got that error as result.
_________________
·•● Moreno ●•·

Music @ www.Soundclick.com/motic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kontrol49
Platinum Member


Joined: 04 Mar 2006
Posts: 1256

PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2012 10:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

SanderXpander wrote:

the aftertouch on my Kronos controlled the vibrator.



Thats why the OP wants to get the aftertouch working!!!!
Anxious
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group