Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Disk Drive Not Reading on Trinity

View previous topic :: View next topic  
chrisz1029

PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2012 3:24 am    Post subject: Disk Drive Not Reading on Trinity Reply with quote

I've been using a Korg Trinity Plus off & on for 10 years. I've recorded a lot of pieces of music and saved them to floppy disk.

I hadn't used the keyboard in almost a year, and when I fired it up to load a floppy disk, it kept spinning but said the disk was unformatted. I tried all my Trinity Floppy disks, all having the same problem. I clean out the disk drive thinking it might of just been dusty from not being used in so long, but no luck there.

I even tried a brand new floppy disk, and tried to format it using the Trinity Disk Drive, and still no luck. Does this mean my disk drive is shot? Or is there a simple fix to this?
synthjoe
Platinum Member

PostPosted: Sat Nov 17, 2012 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did 'cleaning' in you post involve the use of a head cleaning floppy disk? If not, I'd strongly advise to try it. Until you cannot format a fresh floppy, you should not expect it to read other disks.
samriccijr

PostPosted: Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chrisz1029:

I just replaced my floppy drive last nite.

The drive motor would spin the belt but the belt slips on the wheel. I used a 1.4 floppy drive from a pc. I took the metal cover off the drive and carefully wiped the heads clean. Sony drives fall apart when you do this..... Put the metal cover back on...

Remove the bottom of the Trinity. Flip the unit so the floppy is to the top left.