Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Warning: Kronos OS 2.0.6 path length problem (bug?)
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Saxifraga

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:41 pm    Post subject: Warning: Kronos OS 2.0.6 path length problem (bug?) Reply with quote

Hi! I ran into trouble using a folder structure with some unusual long folder and file names with spaces.
(Being a Mac developer I am now used to using very long names. Not foobar etc.)

When I tried to save all PCG/KSC etc. into this folder (DISK mode -> save all) I got a message during the save process about the path being invalid.
The system tried to save the samples (NEWMS000) in an additional folder structure but messed up. The subfolders could not be deleted because the delete routine also is unable to handle the very long path I created.

Only renaming the very long top level folder name made it possible to remove everything and start again with shorter folder names.

I think this is really not state of the art but as ever: we have to life with this old style 90ties OS. Sad (Itīs like Apple OS 7 + multitasking sound engines)

Has anyone encountered the same problem?

Do Korg/Yamaha/Roland really think they can go on with this kind of crappy retro OSes and add only some iPad Apps to it? Rolling Eyes
BobTheDog
Platinum Member

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2013 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a max length for all chars in full path and is not too big, it states it in the manual somewhere I think.

Someone else had this issue on the forum recently, might be worth searching for it.
GregC
Platinum Member