Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Songbook Editor
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Pa900/Pa3X Le
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PraiseTheLord
Senior Member


Joined: 13 Sep 2004
Posts: 420
Location: N Fort Myers, FL, USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 12:29 am    Post subject: Songbook Editor Reply with quote

Does anyone have any information on when Songbook Editor will support Pa900?
_________________
Graham (Pa1000)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Thoraldus
Platinum Member


Joined: 28 Nov 2010
Posts: 2060
Location: Rocky Mountains - SE IDaho

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 12:59 am    Post subject: Re: Songbook Editor Reply with quote

PraiseTheLord wrote:
Does anyone have any information on when Songbook Editor will support Pa900?


The Version 1.41 on the PA3X Software page seems to work fine with my PA600. Give it a try. Be sure to go to preferences and change the keyboard type to PA3X
_________________
”It’s easy to play any musical instrument: all you have to do is touch the right key at the right time and the instrument will play itself.”

Johann Sebastian Bach

----------------------------------------------
Rick Stirling - Retired Electrical Engineer - Erstwhile Photographer
Korg Kronos2, Casio MZ-X500, PA600, AKAI MPD32, M-Audio Oxygen 25, ZOOM H6, Cakewalk Sonar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillyHank
Senior Member


Joined: 29 Jun 2013
Posts: 412

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Graham,

Yes the Pa900 is supported and it works fine.Bill G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PraiseTheLord
Senior Member


Joined: 13 Sep 2004
Posts: 420
Location: N Fort Myers, FL, USA

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried it twice in the past and it has not worked.

I note the software is not shown on the Pa600 or Pa900 support page, but is included on the older products.

Tomorrow I will uninstall it and download the version from the Pa3X page, install that and try it again. I will double check it is set to Pa3X.
_________________
Graham (Pa1000)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Thoraldus
Platinum Member


Joined: 28 Nov 2010
Posts: 2060
Location: Rocky Mountains - SE IDaho

PostPosted: Wed Nov 27, 2013 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PraiseTheLord wrote:
I have tried it twice in the past and it has not worked.

I note the software is not shown on the Pa600 or Pa900 support page, but is included on the older products.

Tomorrow I will uninstall it and download the version from the Pa3X page, install that and try it again. I will double check it is set to Pa3X.


Yes, if you can't set the keyboard type to PA3X in preferences, then you have the wrong version.
_________________
”It’s easy to play any musical instrument: all you have to do is touch the right key at the right time and the instrument will play itself.”

Johann Sebastian Bach

----------------------------------------------
Rick Stirling - Retired Electrical Engineer - Erstwhile Photographer
Korg Kronos2, Casio MZ-X500, PA600, AKAI MPD32, M-Audio Oxygen 25, ZOOM H6, Cakewalk Sonar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PraiseTheLord
Senior Member


Joined: 13 Sep 2004
Posts: 420
Location: N Fort Myers, FL, USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, my fresh installation allowed all my song entries to load, but none of the Custom Lists that I had created. Now what am I doing wrong?

I am trying to open up a .SET folder that I copied via USB stick to my PC. I can see the folder contains the .SBD folder and the .SBL file.

I am able to create new Lists and save to a new .SET folder, and then I can open the new .SET folder and see the newly saved List.
_________________
Graham (Pa1000)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Thoraldus
Platinum Member


Joined: 28 Nov 2010
Posts: 2060
Location: Rocky Mountains - SE IDaho

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 3:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

PraiseTheLord wrote:
OK, my fresh installation allowed all my song entries to load, but none of the Custom Lists that I had created. Now what am I doing wrong?

I am trying to open up a .SET folder that I copied via USB stick to my PC. I can see the folder contains the .SBD folder and the .SBL file.

I am able to create new Lists and save to a new .SET folder, and then I can open the new .SET folder and see the newly saved List.


Custom lists are saved to a .sbl file. See your manual.
_________________
”It’s easy to play any musical instrument: all you have to do is touch the right key at the right time and the instrument will play itself.”

Johann Sebastian Bach

----------------------------------------------
Rick Stirling - Retired Electrical Engineer - Erstwhile Photographer
Korg Kronos2, Casio MZ-X500, PA600, AKAI MPD32, M-Audio Oxygen 25, ZOOM H6, Cakewalk Sonar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PraiseTheLord
Senior Member


Joined: 13 Sep 2004
Posts: 420
Location: N Fort Myers, FL, USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 5:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I saw that, see my post. I checked in windows file explorer that it was there in the songbook folder. However, it does not read it for some reason.
_________________
Graham (Pa1000)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Thoraldus
Platinum Member


Joined: 28 Nov 2010
Posts: 2060
Location: Rocky Mountains - SE IDaho

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PraiseTheLord wrote:
Yes, I saw that, see my post. I checked in windows file explorer that it was there in the songbook folder. However, it does not read it for some reason.


In the Custom Lists window box in the lower left hand of the SongBook Editor page, how many Custom Lists does it say there are? Total Lists = ??? I think you should have at least 7 for the factory defaults unless you deleted those.
_________________
”It’s easy to play any musical instrument: all you have to do is touch the right key at the right time and the instrument will play itself.”

Johann Sebastian Bach

----------------------------------------------
Rick Stirling - Retired Electrical Engineer - Erstwhile Photographer
Korg Kronos2, Casio MZ-X500, PA600, AKAI MPD32, M-Audio Oxygen 25, ZOOM H6, Cakewalk Sonar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PraiseTheLord
Senior Member


Joined: 13 Sep 2004
Posts: 420
Location: N Fort Myers, FL, USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

0. I have deleted all original songbook entries and lists.

However, I went back and opened, in Songbook Editor, the original songbook.SET that I had saved, and the original 7 lists show up perfectly.

I must have a corrupted .SBL file somehow. I wonder how to delete and recreate a new .SBL...
_________________
Graham (Pa1000)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PraiseTheLord
Senior Member


Joined: 13 Sep 2004
Posts: 420
Location: N Fort Myers, FL, USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So I saved a separate songbook.SET, copied it to my PC, deleted the .SBL file, then opened it in Songbook Editor. I got an error message saying there was no .SBL file, but it allowed me to create a new list and save it.

I then copied that to my USB and loaded it into the Pa900, it read it perfectly. I made a change to the list, saved it and transferred it back to the PC.

This time the new Songbook.SET did not show up in Songbook Editor, so there must be something going on in the Pa900.

Next, I'll try reinstalling the OS and resources...
_________________
Graham (Pa1000)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PraiseTheLord
Senior Member


Joined: 13 Sep 2004
Posts: 420
Location: N Fort Myers, FL, USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No improvement, even after reinstalling the factory resources.

The original factory songbook reads perfectly in Songbook Editor on the PC, but as soon as you make a change to the songbook and save it on the Pa900, the Songbook Editor no longer recognizes the list.

Is there anyone who is using Songbook Editor this way and having a different experience?
_________________
Graham (Pa1000)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Thoraldus
Platinum Member


Joined: 28 Nov 2010
Posts: 2060
Location: Rocky Mountains - SE IDaho

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

PraiseTheLord wrote:
No improvement, even after reinstalling the factory resources.

The original factory songbook reads perfectly in Songbook Editor on the PC, but as soon as you make a change to the songbook and save it on the Pa900, the Songbook Editor no longer recognizes the list.

Is there anyone who is using Songbook Editor this way and having a different experience?


Did you try saving to a new SET name? Or did you overwrite the original?

I'm grasping at straws here, as the program is working fine on my PA600. The SET files should be compatible between the PA3X, PA900 and PA600 except possibly for GLOBAL settings.
_________________
”It’s easy to play any musical instrument: all you have to do is touch the right key at the right time and the instrument will play itself.”

Johann Sebastian Bach

----------------------------------------------
Rick Stirling - Retired Electrical Engineer - Erstwhile Photographer
Korg Kronos2, Casio MZ-X500, PA600, AKAI MPD32, M-Audio Oxygen 25, ZOOM H6, Cakewalk Sonar
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillyHank
Senior Member


Joined: 29 Jun 2013
Posts: 412

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Graham,

It didn't work for me either and I did save it as a SET.

Bill G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PraiseTheLord
Senior Member


Joined: 13 Sep 2004
Posts: 420
Location: N Fort Myers, FL, USA

PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2013 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Bill, thanks, I thought I was going mad.

Rick, what's the process you follow, I'll try it exactly that way.it doesn't make sense that it would work on the Pa600 and not on the Pa900.
_________________
Graham (Pa1000)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Pa900/Pa3X Le All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group