Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

adding dimension to esx1

View previous topic :: View next topic  
britzman

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2014 12:22 am    Post subject: adding dimension to esx1 Reply with quote

After a couple of months I've gotten the hang of building some decent house tracks on my korgesx1 and I'm very happy with it. Unfortunately, i can't to get away from that flat, muddy videogamey sound (especially common with the emx) even though my tracks are well built. My kaosspad helps but doesn't quite have what I need.

Its hard to pinpoint what sound I'm looking for bc im not that technical but I'm obsessed with kinks sound.

http://youtu.be/G77uuDVpsSo

I'm looking to get a more analog, complex sound that makes me want to dance and not just bob my head. The new tribe underwhelms in that department from what ive seen and volcas are too ambient (but neat!). I saw sauce use a reverb machine that helped add depth and though I'm not really into industrial dubstep or whatever he makes, it seemed to really help.

Can you recommend devices to give the wonderful esx a modern, professional dimension?
sauce
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant

PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2014 1:19 am    Post subject: Re: adding dimension to esx1 Reply with quote

One thing I have taken to doing lately, and I haven't covered this in a tutorial yet, is I squash samples with a limiter/expander prior to loading them into the ESX. Also, when preparing live sets, it is not uncommon for me to send individual tracks out 3/4, into an EQ and back in for resampling. This helps avoid the frequencies of different parts from interfering with each other.