Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Do we really have to wait....
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg M3
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
r12
Full Member


Joined: 21 Dec 2006
Posts: 218
Location: BREST-FRANCE

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 4:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok, and are they compressed for m3 ?
_________________
YAMAHA W5 + TRITON proX (exb MOSS / exb PCM01 / exb PCM05 / exb SCSI / 64Mo) + M3-73 No.000187 v2.0 (exb Radias v2.0 / exb M256) + DOEPFER LMK2+
AKAI DPS16 + MINDPRINT Envoice + ART Dual MP + RODE NT1000
BEHRINGER DDX3216 + 4 MACKIE SRM350 + 2 MACKIE SWA1501 (+ PEAVEY KB300 )
...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Voltan
Senior Member


Joined: 02 Nov 2007
Posts: 370
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes, they are
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r12
Full Member


Joined: 21 Dec 2006
Posts: 218
Location: BREST-FRANCE

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so, rom of m3 is bigger than oasys (except for exs), depending of compression ratio...
_________________
YAMAHA W5 + TRITON proX (exb MOSS / exb PCM01 / exb PCM05 / exb SCSI / 64Mo) + M3-73 No.000187 v2.0 (exb Radias v2.0 / exb M256) + DOEPFER LMK2+
AKAI DPS16 + MINDPRINT Envoice + ART Dual MP + RODE NT1000
BEHRINGER DDX3216 + 4 MACKIE SRM350 + 2 MACKIE SWA1501 (+ PEAVEY KB300 )
...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Voltan
Senior Member


Joined: 02 Nov 2007
Posts: 370
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well... M3 has 256 mb of rom data and OASYS has 628 mb of factory samples...
I don't know the compression ratio, but as it's still PCM - I suppose it's 2:1, which would make M3 have slightly less samples than OASYS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r12
Full Member


Joined: 21 Dec 2006
Posts: 218
Location: BREST-FRANCE

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

oasys is 628MB pcm with exs1 loaded into ram but 315MB basic pcm data, isn't it ?
_________________
YAMAHA W5 + TRITON proX (exb MOSS / exb PCM01 / exb PCM05 / exb SCSI / 64Mo) + M3-73 No.000187 v2.0 (exb Radias v2.0 / exb M256) + DOEPFER LMK2+
AKAI DPS16 + MINDPRINT Envoice + ART Dual MP + RODE NT1000
BEHRINGER DDX3216 + 4 MACKIE SRM350 + 2 MACKIE SWA1501 (+ PEAVEY KB300 )
...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Voltan
Senior Member


Joined: 02 Nov 2007
Posts: 370
Location: Poland

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No idea Wink Never had one Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MartinHines
Platinum Member


Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 2968
Location: Topeka, KS (USA)

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 8:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Voltan wrote:
Well... M3 has 256 mb of rom data and OASYS has 628 mb of factory samples...
I don't know the compression ratio, but as it's still PCM - I suppose it's 2:1, which would make M3 have slightly less samples than OASYS


The samples on the OASYS are not compressed, and the total amount of samples (Sound "ROM") is as follows:
-- 314 MB: Factory ROM
-- 284 MB: EXs1 ROM Expansion
-- 464 MB: EXs2 Concert Grand Piano

By the end of November
-- 700 MB: EXs3 Brass & Woodwinds (Korg has not yet released final exact number, simply "over 700MB..."
====
1,762 MB of PCM Sound "ROM"

These numbers only relate to sample-based sounds and instruments. There are non-sample based instruments as well (AL-1, CX-3, STR-1, LAC-1, MOD-7).

The M3 Sound ROM (when uncompressed) is 256MB.

The term "ROM" is used in quotes when talking about the OASYS. Normally, "ROM" implies the data is burned on a memory chip sitting inside the keyboard. With the OASYS, all of the samples are on the hard drive, which are loaded into RAM at power on.

r12 wrote:
so, rom of m3 is bigger than oasys (except for exs), depending of compression ratio...

No. When companies like Korg (m3), Yamaha (Motif XS) and Roland (Fantom X) give the amount of Sound ROM, it is usually always stated as the equivalent amount of uncompressed ROM. They don't ever really state the actual size of the ROM.

For example, from each of the manufacturer's websites:
-- M3: 256MB (when converted to 16-bit linear equivalent)
-- Motif XS: 355MB (when converted to 16-bit linear format)
-- Fantom X: 128MB wave ROM (16-bit linear equivalent)


Last edited by MartinHines on Sat Nov 03, 2007 3:43 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r12
Full Member


Joined: 21 Dec 2006
Posts: 218
Location: BREST-FRANCE

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so if m3 rom is 256MB equivalent uncompressed and triton extreme is 160MB compressed, I guess that triton extreme has a bigger rom ?
_________________
YAMAHA W5 + TRITON proX (exb MOSS / exb PCM01 / exb PCM05 / exb SCSI / 64Mo) + M3-73 No.000187 v2.0 (exb Radias v2.0 / exb M256) + DOEPFER LMK2+
AKAI DPS16 + MINDPRINT Envoice + ART Dual MP + RODE NT1000
BEHRINGER DDX3216 + 4 MACKIE SRM350 + 2 MACKIE SWA1501 (+ PEAVEY KB300 )
...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sharp
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jan 2002
Posts: 17861
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

r12 wrote:
so if m3 rom is 256MB equivalent uncompressed and triton extreme is 160MB compressed, I guess that triton extreme has a bigger rom ?


Nope.

The Triton Extreme does not use compression.

Regards.
Sharp.
_________________
KORG Store - Irish Acts Irish Acts Online Store
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
MartinHines
Platinum Member


Joined: 21 Jan 2003
Posts: 2968
Location: Topeka, KS (USA)

PostPosted: Sat Nov 03, 2007 3:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

r12 wrote:
so if m3 rom is 256MB equivalent uncompressed and triton extreme is 160MB compressed, I guess that triton extreme has a bigger rom ?


As Sharp mentions, no.

Manufacturers will usually always provide the biggest number they can for Sound ROM.

The "big number" will be the uncompressed number or "uncompressed equivalent" number.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg M3 All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group