Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

KRONOS RAM UPGRADE 2Go to 4 Go
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15, 16  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
EvilDragon
Platinum Member


Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Posts: 1992
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well then, eagerly awaiting reports from the brave people who'll do that upgrade. Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Megakazbek
Junior Member


Joined: 04 Oct 2007
Posts: 92

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 7:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OASYS had slow mechanical HDD and it was booting faster than Kronos.
So there is something going on during the boot that does not really depend on drive speed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
michelkeijzers
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 08 Feb 2007
Posts: 9086
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

But the Oasys probably didn't load as much as a Kronos during run time.
_________________

Developer of the free PCG file managing application for most Korg workstations: PCG Tools, see http://pcgtools.mkspace.nl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
SpIdErWeB
Full Member


Joined: 24 Sep 2005
Posts: 209
Location: France

PostPosted: Sat Aug 06, 2011 7:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sure the Kronos SSD isn't really a fast model (but an endurance model), so it shouldn't have a big difference with the HDD of the Oasys in terms of performance. And the Oasys wasn't loading 11 GB of samples neither...

Also the inside architecture looks well different from the Oasys to the Kronos. The Oasys had everything on a simple computer Motherboard, while in the Kronos it looks like the computer motherboard and CPU are just here as a "DSP board", since there's another "main board" with memory, etc...

So I guess it's just a little bit more complicated than we think and comparing the Oasys and Kronos for booting time is not relevant.

However, comparing a Kronos with original SSD and a Kronos with brand new super fast SSD... that's relevant because it might clearly help to save a lot of time for booting and loading...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rosen Sound
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 1056
Location: Los Angeles, California

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Serg wrote:
Neko wrote:
I made a little video to show how to upgrade to 4BG RAM. I just did it recently and it's actually quite safe if you know how to use both your hands, assuming you do so if you have a Kronos =)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZjJaG89t7lk


Thank you for this video!Smile May i ask you please who's music playing in this video? Name of artist/song? Thank you.


WINTERSUN!
_________________


Current gear: Korg Kronos 61, Oberheim OB-8, Alesis Vortex
Past Gear: Triton Extreme w/moss & ram, Korg Radias, Kurzweil Micropiano, Triton classic, & Karma
Come visit my Burbank California repair shop/recording studio! Rosensound.com
And my band: Sirion.us.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Rosen Sound
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 06 Jan 2010
Posts: 1056
Location: Los Angeles, California

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 8:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ProfessorShred wrote:
Neko wrote:


i've been a metalhead for many years now and I can tell I don't know other band that can deliver as much magic.



Hmmm about a band from New Jersey named Symphony X


MEH. symph x is boring if you ask me... just sayin....

my personal opinion. everyone disagrees with me..
_________________


Current gear: Korg Kronos 61, Oberheim OB-8, Alesis Vortex
Past Gear: Triton Extreme w/moss & ram, Korg Radias, Kurzweil Micropiano, Triton classic, & Karma
Come visit my Burbank California repair shop/recording studio! Rosensound.com
And my band: Sirion.us.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
EvilDragon
Platinum Member


Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Posts: 1992
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Sun Aug 07, 2011 8:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Symphony X has some great songs. I love the album V, and the last one was rather awesome, too, very heavy, and Russell Allen was brutal on that one!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
carmol
Full Member


Joined: 25 Jul 2011
Posts: 140

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did the upgrade,
I have the 73.
The procedure is similar,
I didnt use pillows but the two plastic packing holders.
The back panel is in wood,
it hold the weighted keyboard, so must
be removed carefully.
I took some pics:
(sorry they're big)



Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EvilDragon
Platinum Member


Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Posts: 1992
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

carmol wrote:
I took some pics:
(sorry they're big)


Ever heard of using THUMBNAILS versions of image links from Imageshack? Rolling Eyes

It would make your post and this thread much more readable.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apex
Platinum Member


Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 2246

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

McHale wrote:
Neko wrote:
I made a little video to show how to upgrade to 4BG RAM. I just did it recently and it's actually quite safe if you know how to use both your hands, assuming you do so if you have a Kronos =)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZjJaG89t7lk


good vid. For the 88, the only difference is you remove all the screws that go into the wood bottom except the 4 screws that hold the rubber feet on. There is no bar.

...at least that's what someone told me. I wouldn't know because I'd never open mine up!


LOL.

hey why do you have to remove the default 2GB stick in order to install the 4Gb kit... can't you just purchase a 2GB stick and ADD it to what comes with the Kronos from the manufacturer?
_________________
Please subscribe and follow me on Youtube and Facebook for information related audio technology.

https://www.youtube.com/juliusdeberryjr

https://www.facebook.com/majesticstudiosllc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
islanddave



Joined: 13 Sep 2011
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

apex wrote:
hey why do you have to remove the default 2GB stick in order to install the 4Gb kit... can't you just purchase a 2GB stick and ADD it to what comes with the Kronos from the manufacturer?


It looks like the Kronos has two slots on its motherboard for sticks of RAM. I suspect the keyboard ships with two 1GB sticks in it. As there are no free RAM slots, the cheapest way to upgrade to the maximum capacity of 4GB is to buy two 2GB sticks and swap out the 1GB ones.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apex
Platinum Member


Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 2246

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 4:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hm? can anyone confirm this?

does it ship with 2 1GB sticks? or 1 2GB stick?
_________________
Please subscribe and follow me on Youtube and Facebook for information related audio technology.

https://www.youtube.com/juliusdeberryjr

https://www.facebook.com/majesticstudiosllc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Broadwave
Platinum Member


Joined: 25 May 2011
Posts: 1095
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 5:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

islanddave wrote:
I suspect the keyboard ships with two 1GB sticks in it. As there are no free RAM slots, the cheapest way to upgrade to the maximum capacity of 4GB is to buy two 2GB sticks and swap out the 1GB ones.


The Kronos, from stock, only has a 2Gb DIMM in one of the slots, the other is free. I upgraded with a matched pair of Corsair's... I really wouldn't risk mixing RAM from different manufacturers.

No problems have risen over the last 6 weeks or so, since I did the upgrade.
_________________
Kronos 2 88, Fantom 6, MODX6, Summit, Behringer Odyssey, Behringer Poly D, Broadwave ARP 2600 Clone, Broadwave Minimoog Clone, Broadwave Sparta, Broadwave Modular, Fender Deluxe Plus Top (iOS), Squier CV 50, Squier VM Jazzmaster, Broadwave 12 String Telecaster

Synth DIY Projects
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
apex
Platinum Member


Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 2246

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is there really an issue with using "un-matched" pairs? (even in real "as we know them" computers....
_________________
Please subscribe and follow me on Youtube and Facebook for information related audio technology.

https://www.youtube.com/juliusdeberryjr

https://www.facebook.com/majesticstudiosllc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Broadwave
Platinum Member


Joined: 25 May 2011
Posts: 1095
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 13, 2011 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

apex wrote:
is there really an issue with using "un-matched" pairs? (even in real "as we know them" computers....


I come from an IT background, and believe me, mismatched RAM can cause mayhem, even boot failure. There's quite a bit to take to consideration... Clock speed, latency etc. Keep it simple - get a decent quality matched pair.
_________________
Kronos 2 88, Fantom 6, MODX6, Summit, Behringer Odyssey, Behringer Poly D, Broadwave ARP 2600 Clone, Broadwave Minimoog Clone, Broadwave Sparta, Broadwave Modular, Fender Deluxe Plus Top (iOS), Squier CV 50, Squier VM Jazzmaster, Broadwave 12 String Telecaster

Synth DIY Projects
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3 ... 13, 14, 15, 16  Next
Page 14 of 16

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group