Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

KRONOS Rack?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ozy
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RadekK wrote:
Lots of different sounds (as presets) can be done in just "rompler way". Sounds are what potential buyers are hearing, the method of obtaining them may be secondary for them.


nope,

because you miss the player's contribution to the sound.

different synth engines RESPOND in a different way to a player's gestures

Hitting a key and hearing a flat sample running,

is not the same as hitting a key and hearing the instrument respect and reflect your playing.

Boy is that different!

It's not a two way:

instrument's sound ("who cares how it's produced?") ---> passive listener

it's at least three way:

player ---> instrument ---> player listens, back and forth.

"engine" means the instrument's way of answering to the playing. Its mood, etc.

More "organic", "interactive" synth engines matter a lot!
Back to top
EvilDragon
Platinum Member


Joined: 24 Nov 2005
Posts: 1992
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Fri Jan 28, 2011 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gjvti wrote:
ozy wrote:
...but ANY master keyboard will give you faders today.....

... but not any keyboard controller can send sysex necessary to manipulate karma parameters, for example, with their large amount of values. In fact I know only two hardware devices capable of sending sysex
1) Novation ReMote series - doesn't support Korg 16 byte messages
2) Something form CME (Bitstream? - don't remember correctly) - BUT I never had any response to my questions form CME nor any of it resellers - so very untrusted solution obviously.
Anyone can name Korg sysex compatible hardware controller with sliders/knobs?


Indeed, these are VERY good points. So not just ANY master keyboard will suffice...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mc6



Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 3:20 pm    Post subject: Kronos Rack? Reply with quote

Has anyone seen any statement from Korg on a possible rack or tabletop Kronos?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bertotti
Platinum Member


Joined: 10 Jul 2010
Posts: 3384
Location: Middle of nowhere

PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting becasue I just changed my status to a 61 key. A sales rep told me if it is midi it will work as an additinal keybed and that is all I want. i don't need extra sliders or anything i just want a good extra keybed. Right now I am going with the 61 key and later the nord c2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ozy
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 4:14 pm    Post subject: Re: Kronos Rack? Reply with quote

mc6 wrote:
Has anyone seen any statement from Korg on a possible rack or tabletop Kronos?


during the presentations in Italy I heard a resounding "NO, forget it".

I asked again: "sure?". reply: "I said forget it".

Apparently racks have been money-LOSERS for years now.

There's some opening for different splits of the kronos technology (a stage piano version, etc), but no chance of a rack.

I hate that, but I asked repeatedly and the answer was clear and motivated
Back to top
SpIdErWeB
Full Member


Joined: 24 Sep 2005
Posts: 209
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2011 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If all you want is a "sound box", just buy a MacMini with 8Gb of RAM, SSD, a Motu UltraLite mk3 and an iPad as a touchscreen controller. Then just add NI Komplete 8 Ultimate, and you'll definitely have your sound box, you can even mount it in rack 1U...

Probably close to $3000 too, but at least you will get 8Gb of RAM, 240GB SSD full of Sounds, and i5 or even i7 CPU with faster 6Gb/s SSD, virtually no fan noise.... and of course an iPad you can use for something else Smile

Of course, you won't have the benefit of the Karma, and integration of the Kronos... but it looks like it's what you want with a Kronos Rack anyway...

Nonetheless, Racks are almost inexistent today, because they don't sell well...

Phil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
zzz
Full Member


Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 195
Location: Just across from there

PostPosted: Sun Sep 04, 2011 10:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dunno, I still fancy trying to find a Radias rack... one of those synths that passed folks attention, but can be used as a secret weapon, like the SQ-80.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chriskk
Senior Member


Joined: 10 May 2011
Posts: 349

PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2011 1:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ozy wrote
Quote:
nope,

because you miss the player's contribution to the sound.

different synth engines RESPOND in a different way to a player's gestures

Hitting a key and hearing a flat sample running,

is not the same as hitting a key and hearing the instrument respect and reflect your playing.

Boy is that different!

It's not a two way:

instrument's sound ("who cares how it's produced?") ---> passive listener

it's at least three way:

player ---> instrument ---> player listens, back and forth.

"engine" means the instrument's way of answering to the playing. Its mood, etc.

More "organic", "interactive" synth engines matter a lot!


Them, you should get a JP-80.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sina172
Platinum Member


Joined: 29 May 2007
Posts: 1194

PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2011 2:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

...

Last edited by Sina172 on Tue Feb 02, 2016 1:05 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apex
Platinum Member


Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 2246

PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2011 2:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Two thoughts....

1) They could make a Kronos rack that is exactly the same concept as the m3m. All the controls, touch screen, and all. I'd buy it!!! LOL.

2) They could make a table top rack mount like the v synth stuff....

oh yeah and I just thought of this one.

They could make a 3 space rack (to make sure they have space for the screen and all the controls) like the Yamaha EX5r.
_________________
Please subscribe and follow me on Youtube and Facebook for information related audio technology.

https://www.youtube.com/juliusdeberryjr

https://www.facebook.com/majesticstudiosllc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
mc6



Joined: 25 Jan 2011
Posts: 3
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 05, 2011 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And a Kronos module compatible with KKS, to install on the M3 keyboard of your choice Smile - yes, please (not holding my breath).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
madbeatzyo111
Guest


Joined: 13 Jun 2011
Posts: 379

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would love an M3M-like Kronos desktop module too, but unfortunately it's not going to happen (according to Stephen K). The best you can do is to get the 61 and live with the added size. And besides, I don't think it's even possible to shrink all the inner workings of the Kronos into rack size; it's got a whole PC motherboard inside in addition to all the other DSP chips, etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Muji
Full Member


Joined: 12 Jan 2011
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

apex wrote:
Two thoughts....

1) They could make a Kronos rack that is exactly the same concept as the m3m. All the controls, touch screen, and all. I'd buy it!!! LOL.


+1 for me on this idea. Yes, I know it won't happen.
_________________
-Muji-

Korg Microkorg
StudioLogic VMK-176+ Keyboard Controller
Ketron SD2 Sound Module
Alesis SR-16
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EXer
Platinum Member


Joined: 17 Jan 2011
Posts: 558
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 8:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Muji wrote:
apex wrote:
Two thoughts....

1) They could make a Kronos rack that is exactly the same concept as the m3m. All the controls, touch screen, and all. I'd buy it!!! LOL.

+1 for me on this idea.

Do you mean something like that:

_____

?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
michelkeijzers
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 08 Feb 2007
Posts: 9086
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Tue Sep 06, 2011 10:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting photoshop work Smile
It could probably much cheaper by changing the big display into a small monocolor nontouch display and remove some not strictly necessary knobs. Programming can be done with the editor (later).
_________________

Developer of the free PCG file managing application for most Korg workstations: PCG Tools, see http://pcgtools.mkspace.nl
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10  Next
Page 5 of 10

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group