Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Pa1xpro would not boot

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Pa1X - Pa1Xpro
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Cian



Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 26
Location: Western Hemisphere

PostPosted: Sun Oct 01, 2017 4:15 pm    Post subject: Pa1xpro would not boot Reply with quote

I can not boot my old pa1xpro machine. When I turn it on, it is trying to boot but in the middle of the way it gets stuck with "pa1x" on display. It happened suddenly without any warning when I turned it on this morning. Thanks for your suggestions.
Cian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neverkorgagain
Senior Member


Joined: 20 Dec 2009
Posts: 314
Location: Serbia (Srbija)

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 9:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

CHeckout your hdd, try to check it on pc, use chkdsk in cmd first if there is many bad sectors try to fix it or you must buy another hdd...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cian



Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 26
Location: Western Hemisphere

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for suggestion, neverkorgagain. You won't believe it but this time I outsmarted the Korg Pro. While he was keeping on and on getting stuck in the middle of booting, I kept turning him on again and again and again. Apparently, he got tired of the game and came back and booted properly. It would be interesting to know if anybody else experienced similar problem with similar approach to resolve it and with similar outcome. I speculate that it was some mechanical issue with hdd. What do you think, Korg enthusiasts?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Giner
Platinum Member


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 1112
Location: Alberta

PostPosted: Thu Oct 05, 2017 3:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Cian. I had this exact same glitch on my Pa1xPro. A bit unnerving at first when she wouldn't fire up first time on a gig. But, like yours, four or five consecutive attempts would get her going.

I'm using a Pa3x these days and the 1x just sits in the house. Funny thing is, since she's been a homebody she fires up first time every time. Guess she wasn't a good traveller.

The 1x is getting a bit long in the tooth now and things will wear out, as neverkorgagain suggests. Time to upgrade, maybe.
_________________
When I nod my head . . . Hit it!
Pa3x-61, Pa1xPro, i30, Micromoog (1975)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neverkorgagain
Senior Member


Joined: 20 Dec 2009
Posts: 314
Location: Serbia (Srbija)

PostPosted: Fri Oct 06, 2017 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Believd me, its problem with hdd. System needs it to boot from it if its fault gets stuck on boot loop.
First steps are diagnostic.... checkwith some hdd tools on your pc... reformat it then put back into pa1x.... but u must check is there any bad sectors..... hdd its very sensitive piece especialy in transport..... most damage od hdd-s hapens when we transport our keyboards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cian



Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 26
Location: Western Hemisphere

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am going to replace HD on my pa1xpro but first I tried to connect it to my desktop computer and see if there was any problem with it. Unfortunately my computer would not recognize pa1xpro HD. I tried laptop but it was the same. What's the problem? Thanks for your suggestions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cian



Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 26
Location: Western Hemisphere

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 4:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I figured out what was the problem. My usb hard disk connection on my pro was disabled. Must have been original factory setup since I have never used it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bill Komotini
Junior Member


Joined: 26 Aug 2006
Posts: 84
Location: Greece Komotini

PostPosted: Wed Nov 08, 2017 7:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Had the same problem... Changed 3 different hdds, for a week it was ok. then the same. At the end it didnt recognize the hdd and simply booted with no pcm. Probably its a main board problem.
_________________
Best Regards
Bill

www.diamondr.gr
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Cian



Joined: 10 Sep 2012
Posts: 26
Location: Western Hemisphere

PostPosted: Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think that my problem with booting got resolved somehow. After I've done all sort of HD's cleaning, defragmentation and bad sectors checking, etc. it still had problems with timely booting. It took an hour to get it going. But lately, out of the blue, for whatever reason, the kb decided act naturally and boots in a few minutes. Since kb is actually a computer, the old saying is in the order: "To Err is Human; To Really Foul Things Up Requires a Computer."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neverkorgagain
Senior Member


Joined: 20 Dec 2009
Posts: 314
Location: Serbia (Srbija)

PostPosted: Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guys always is hdd problem, because its most sensitiv part of keyboard.

Do your backup of hdd data, and in situations like this, chek hdd on your pc, if its ok, do complete resource and os load from begining, and it will boot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
skyporto



Joined: 05 Dec 2017
Posts: 1
Location: Behind you!

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi guys, i have an old Pa1x Pro, have more or less the same problem! I wanted to change the set, and it getting stuck at loading a sample, and i turned it off from the on/off button, then after 2 times of doing that, something happend, because now it doesnt pass from the loading screen, it starts, and shows loading factory resources and then freezes!

i had the disk unmounted and checked on a pc, defrag and all, and put it back it does the same thing! doesnt start, please help Sad(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
karmathanever
Platinum Member


Joined: 12 Jan 2004
Posts: 7370
Location: Australia (Oz !!)

PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@ skyporto
Sent you a PM my friend - check your Forum inbox

Pete Very Happy
_________________
--------------------------------------------------------
Korg:---- PA4X-76, Kronos-61, WaveDrum Global Edition
--------------------------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Pa1X - Pa1Xpro All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group