Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Monologue with Logic Pro X - External Instrument plugin

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Analog Synths (General)
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dimas897



Joined: 30 Mar 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 4:39 pm    Post subject: Monologue with Logic Pro X - External Instrument plugin Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm using a Monologue with Logic Pro X. When I create a new track using the External Instrument plugin, I have two options under Output: "monologue SOUND" and "monologue MIDI OUT." Could someone please explain the difference between these two to me? Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MeneerJansen
Junior Member


Joined: 13 Dec 2016
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think that only the dear people at Logic Pro can explain that, or the makers of you operating system (= Windows?). Maybe the "sound" output means the actual analog (jack) audio output and "Midi Out" might mean the (digital) Midi output from USB Midi or the 5-pin DIN Midi output plug of the Monologue.

I'd say: just try them out and you'll know...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RC-IA
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 16 Jan 2004
Posts: 926
Location: FR

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

monologue sound is actually the monologue engine itself. Midi out corresponds to.......tadam....midi output of monologue, actually whatever synth/expander or anything you could connect to monologue midi out.
Hope that helps!
_________________
https://soundcloud.com/rcmusic35
https://www.youtube.com/user/rcmusic35
https://www.barbandco.com/home-e.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RC-IA
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 16 Jan 2004
Posts: 926
Location: FR

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

more....this is due to the monologue driver...nothing to do with logic pro people...IMHO Wink
_________________
https://soundcloud.com/rcmusic35
https://www.youtube.com/user/rcmusic35
https://www.barbandco.com/home-e.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MeneerJansen
Junior Member


Joined: 13 Dec 2016
Posts: 53

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RC-IA wrote:
more....this is due to the monologue driver...nothing to do with logic pro people...IMHO Wink

Okay. That explains that. I do not use a driver because I use Linux. I guess you use a driver developed by Korg? For Windows? Because if you don't then it's the makers of your operating system (Android, Windows, MacOS, iOS, Linux, etc.) that can explain how the in- and outputs of the Monologue are named. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Soundsgood
Junior Member


Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 50
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 4:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MeneerJansen wrote:
RC-IA wrote:
more....this is due to the monologue driver...nothing to do with logic pro people...IMHO Wink

Okay. That explains that. I do not use a driver because I use Linux. I guess you use a driver developed by Korg? For Windows? Because if you don't then it's the makers of your operating system (Android, Windows, MacOS, iOS, Linux, etc.) that can explain how the in- and outputs of the Monologue are named. Wink


Just an observation: dimas897 mentions Logic X, thus he / she is using OS-X. Korg has a MIDI driver for Mac, so I would assume that this is the one used in this case:

http://www.korg.com/us/support/download/driver/0/733/1357/
_________________
Korg T1, Korg Kross 61, Korg Krome 73,
Korg Electribe II S, Korg Wavestation A/D, Roland JD-XI, Korg MS-20, Korg Karma, Korg Dsm-110, Korg Elecribe Sampler 2
Nord Drum 3, Waldorf Blofeld, Roland D-550
iPad, Roland-D05, Elekrtron Digitakt, Elektron Digitone
A lot of cumputer stuff!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dimas897



Joined: 30 Mar 2014
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, I'm using a Mac, with this Korg driver:

http://www.korg.com/us/support/download/driver/0/733/1357/

So is the following correct?

The Monologue keyboard (Local off) is being used as a controller that sends MIDI data to Logic. Logic then sends this data to the Monologue synth, and the Monologue "interprets" this MIDI data and outputs sound as a result. This is why most people recommend setting the external instrument output to "monologue SOUND."

If I set the external instrument output to "monologue MIDI OUT" then instead of outputting sound, the synth will output MIDI data, right?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Analog Synths (General) All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group