Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Aftertouch

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Prologue
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Darryll



Joined: 11 Sep 2012
Posts: 45
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2018 9:45 pm    Post subject: Aftertouch Reply with quote

Some websites say with aftertouch and some say without. KorgUSA is not clear on this. Does it have aftertouch or not? And if not, please explain the logic behind that decision. Why would a flagship analog synth not have aftertouch?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
megamarkd
Senior Member


Joined: 15 Aug 2017
Posts: 332
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 2:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's not mentioned when the keybed is described, with only velocity being mentioned. And the word aftertouch appears nowhere in the manual, so I'm gonna take an informed guess and say no it doesn't have doesn't have aftertouch.
Aftertouch adds a bit to the cost I think.
_________________
Stuff I'm using: Umm right now, this: Ever-growing Dumbmachine: Bastl Instruments, Circuit Abbey, Elby Designs, Expert Sleepers, Blue Lantern, Tiptop Audio, Make Noise, Busy Circuits, Mutable Instruments, Buchla/Topbrillo, 2hp, Metro Modular, Doepfer, Intellijel, Frostwave, Synthrotek, Korg, Arturia, Teenage Engineering, Patchblocks, Waldorf, Cat Full Of Ghosts, Music Thing Modular
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
runningman67
Platinum Member


Joined: 06 Aug 2011
Posts: 1628
Location: Manchester UK

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no after touch but it shares the same keybed as the Kronos 2 61, which is quality.
_________________
https://m.youtube.com/user/1967runningman
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Synthee
Senior Member


Joined: 21 Apr 2013
Posts: 278
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe its the marketing term: "natural touch keyboard" that confuse some people.
_________________
Korg Kronos 2 88 ; prologue 16 ; Cubase 9.5 Pro ; PC Win 10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Darryll



Joined: 11 Sep 2012
Posts: 45
Location: North Carolina

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 5:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like I'm not the only one that's confused. So does "natural touch keyboard" mean aftertouch? Because in my mind, aftertouch is a natural way to play any pro-level synth. I am a Korg man from the M1 days. I owned a M1, T1, 01/W, etc.). I now have a Kronos 88 AND Kronos 61. LOVE THEM BOTH!! If they are selling the prologue as having 'the same' key-bed as the Kronos, then it should have aftertouch. Right???

Again, can someone give a definitive answer here. And if it does not; please help me to understand WHY NOT. Maybe I need to have a paradigm shift in how I approach 'professional' boards.

Aftertouch surely doesn't add that much to the cost of an instrument. Korg not designing aftertouch in a product as good as a the KingKorg or as good as the prologue appears to be is crazy IMO. That would push me from a prologue purchase to a DSI REV2 purchase.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jimknopf
Platinum Member


Joined: 17 Jan 2011
Posts: 3223

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The definitve aswer is in Korg's own spec sheet: Prologue has no aftertouch.

That's quite a weird letdown for a polyphonic synth these days.
_________________
Kronos 73 - Moog Voyager RME - Moog LP TE - Behringer Model D - Prophet 6 - halfway useable Korg Prologue with limited tuning issues - Rhodes 73 Mk I - Elektron Analog Rytm MkII - Cubase Pro 9.5
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voip
Platinum Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2014
Posts: 1613

PostPosted: Mon Feb 05, 2018 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

At a guess, aftertouch would add something like $200-$300 to the cost, provided the keybed accepted the sensor strip without modification, which ought to be the case if it's the same as the Kronos 2 61. An opportunity for aftermarket upgrades, perhaps?

Scrub that. Based on the MIDI implementation chart, the Prologue neither transmits nor receives MIDI CC#02 (aftertouch). There are, however, plenty of other CC#s assigned to various modulation types that could usefully be controlled by an aftertouch sensing MIDI CC# generator.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Prologue All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group