Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Anyone tried the new 2.1 update?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Pa600/Pa300
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tacman7
Full Member


Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 248
Location: SoCal

PostPosted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 1:33 am    Post subject: Anyone tried the new 2.1 update? Reply with quote

I have a pa600, I don't mess with sampling so not sure if it would do anything for me.

Does it change the way the screens work?

Thanks
_________________
PA600 Studio One3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sridharar
Full Member


Joined: 29 Apr 2013
Posts: 109
Location: Nashua, NH

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for asking the question.

I am still in Version 1.1

It is great that in the past few months there is Version 2.0 and now 2.1

I cannot wait to upgrade to 2.1.

My question is:

a) Is 2.1 fully self contained,so I can just skip installing 2.0

b) Can I backup all my data from 1.1 and restored it on 2.1? Does it work?


Of course I am also eager tp hear from anyone who has gone to 2.1. and whether there were any kinks to worry about. Was it a smooth process?

Thanks Sri.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sridharar
Full Member


Joined: 29 Apr 2013
Posts: 109
Location: Nashua, NH

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2018 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It was a simple and smooth process.

I upgraded to Version 2.1 yesterday.

Backed up files just as a precaution.

After the update, all my data was intact and so there was no need for factory reset or restore from backup steps.

Do not know whether the Korg has added new sounds and styles or other things and I need to do any addition steps to get them. Does any one know?

Thanks Sri.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tacman7
Full Member


Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 248
Location: SoCal

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm using a Dopamine set so I'm used to it.

Not sure if I would loose it if I upgraded.
_________________
PA600 Studio One3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sridharar
Full Member


Joined: 29 Apr 2013
Posts: 109
Location: Nashua, NH

PostPosted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 2:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello

How do you find the Dopamine set?
Any special compelling features of interest, from your perspective, to use it instead of official KORG versions?

Thanks Sri.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tacman7
Full Member


Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 248
Location: SoCal

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't remember exactly what factory came with, I'm thinking there's a lot of space left for making your own styles etc.

Dopamine fills up all the spaces pretty much, so lots of styles.

You don't have to go hunting for them, all right there.

At least for me I found it useful.

https://dopamine4korg.wordpress.com/full-sets/
_________________
PA600 Studio One3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sridharar
Full Member


Joined: 29 Apr 2013
Posts: 109
Location: Nashua, NH

PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 3:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Lacman. I will give it a try. Will I able to revert back to 2.1 after experimenting? Just your opinion, you are not responsible if something goes wrong, it is all my risk-taking.

br Sri.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tacman7
Full Member


Joined: 02 Apr 2009
Posts: 248
Location: SoCal

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 1:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think so.

Dopamine is a set not an OS.

If you really didn't like it you could try installing OS 2.1 again or doing a factory reset then the 2.1 update.

I'm not that up on the workings, I get it to work and I'm done.
_________________
PA600 Studio One3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sridharar
Full Member


Joined: 29 Apr 2013
Posts: 109
Location: Nashua, NH

PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lacman

You have said it so lucidly.
That the Dophamine Set is not an OS.

br Sri.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Pa600/Pa300 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group