Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Kronos 2 wonít boot

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
PCFREE
Senior Member


Joined: 02 Sep 2012
Posts: 447
Location: Just passing through...

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 9:08 pm    Post subject: Kronos 2 wonít boot Reply with quote

Hi all

Itís finally happened to me ! Iíve read about this happening to other people
My Kronos 2 has been stationary in my studio - it hasnít been moved for months.

During a recording session, it suddenly switched itself off and wonít restart.
Iíve tried a different kettle lead but I get the same results

Hereís what happens..... when I switch on, I get a brief flicker from the lights around the pitchbend lever then nothing happens.
It doesnít attempt to boot up. No lights come on and neither does the fan and the screen doesnít light up.

There hasnít been a power spike or anything like that
My Kronos 2 is around 2 years old

Any ideas ?

Thanks
_________________
Kronos 2 61, Kurzweil Forte 7, Yamaha Montage 6,
Roland Integra-7

....as we forgive those who synthesize against us!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 6901
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 9:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Kronos 2 wonít boot Reply with quote

PCFREE wrote:
Hi all

Itís finally happened to me ! Iíve read about this happening to other people
My Kronos 2 has been stationary in my studio - it hasnít been moved for months.

During a recording session, it suddenly switched itself off and wonít restart.
Iíve tried a different kettle lead but I get the same results

Hereís what happens..... when I switch on, I get a brief flicker from the lights around the pitchbend lever then nothing happens.
It doesnít attempt to boot up. No lights come on and neither does the fan and the screen doesnít light up.

There hasnít been a power spike or anything like that
My Kronos 2 is around 2 years old

Any ideas ?

Thanks


I am sorry to read that, brother.

So your k2 has zero signs of life ?

I don't know what a kettle lead is.

I would reinsert the power cable. Or swap it out with another proper power cable.
It could be that simple.
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
PCFREE
Senior Member


Joined: 02 Sep 2012
Posts: 447
Location: Just passing through...

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 9:56 pm    Post subject: Re: Kronos 2 wonít boot Reply with quote

GregC wrote:
PCFREE wrote:
Hi all

Itís finally happened to me ! Iíve read about this happening to other people
My Kronos 2 has been stationary in my studio - it hasnít been moved for months.

During a recording session, it suddenly switched itself off and wonít restart.
Iíve tried a different kettle lead but I get the same results

Hereís what happens..... when I switch on, I get a brief flicker from the lights around the pitchbend lever then nothing happens.
It doesnít attempt to boot up. No lights come on and neither does the fan and the screen doesnít light up.

There hasnít been a power spike or anything like that
My Kronos 2 is around 2 years old

Any ideas ?

Thanks


I am sorry to read that, brother.

So your k2 has zero signs of life ?

I don't know what a kettle lead is.

I would reinsert the power cable. Or swap it out with another proper power cable.
It could be that simple.


Hi Greg. Thank you for your thoughts.
The kettle leads are the power cables. I tried a few but with the same results....
_________________
Kronos 2 61, Kurzweil Forte 7, Yamaha Montage 6,
Roland Integra-7

....as we forgive those who synthesize against us!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 6901
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:23 pm    Post subject: Re: Kronos 2 wonít boot Reply with quote

PCFREE wrote:
GregC wrote:
PCFREE wrote:
Hi all

Itís finally happened to me ! Iíve read about this happening to other people
My Kronos 2 has been stationary in my studio - it hasnít been moved for months.

During a recording session, it suddenly switched itself off and wonít restart.
Iíve tried a different kettle lead but I get the same results

Hereís what happens..... when I switch on, I get a brief flicker from the lights around the pitchbend lever then nothing happens.
It doesnít attempt to boot up. No lights come on and neither does the fan and the screen doesnít light up.

There hasnít been a power spike or anything like that
My Kronos 2 is around 2 years old

Any ideas ?

Thanks


I am sorry to read that, brother.

So your k2 has zero signs of life ?

I don't know what a kettle lead is.

I would reinsert the power cable. Or swap it out with another proper power cable.
It could be that simple.


Hi Greg. Thank you for your thoughts.
The kettle leads are the power cables. I tried a few but with the same results....


To clarify- your K2 simply does not have any power ?

You press the power switch and nada, zero, caput , nothing ?

The symptoms have to be positively narrowed down and defined.
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
geoelectro
Platinum Member


Joined: 14 Sep 2012
Posts: 923
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 10:38 pm    Post subject: Re: Kronos 2 wonít boot Reply with quote

PCFREE wrote:
Hi all

Itís finally happened to me ! Iíve read about this happening to other people
My Kronos 2 has been stationary in my studio - it hasnít been moved for months.

During a recording session, it suddenly switched itself off and wonít restart.
Iíve tried a different kettle lead but I get the same results

Hereís what happens..... when I switch on, I get a brief flicker from the lights around the pitchbend lever then nothing happens.
It doesnít attempt to boot up. No lights come on and neither does the fan and the screen doesnít light up.

There hasnít been a power spike or anything like that
My Kronos 2 is around 2 years old

Any ideas ?

Thanks

My first guess would be the power supply. It's an easy check for me as a keyboard tech but perhaps not so much otherwise. When I approach a keyboard with this symptom I would open it and first verify all cables were well connected. Then, verify power is getting to the power supply and then if the correct voltages are coming out of it. From there it gets complicated but the power supply is always the first test so it can be eliminated.
Also, I hope you have it on a UPS. The Kronos can be finicky with flaky power.

Geo
_________________
Kronos 61 : 3GB RAM 120GB 2nd Drv.
Kronos 2 61
N.I. Komplete 11, Omnisphere 2, VB-3.
HP i7 8GB Win 10
Yamaha P-80 Weighted Keyboard. NanoPad2
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 6901
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 11:11 pm    Post subject: Re: Kronos 2 wonít boot Reply with quote

geoelectro wrote:
PCFREE wrote:
Hi all

Itís finally happened to me ! Iíve read about this happening to other people
My Kronos 2 has been stationary in my studio - it hasnít been moved for months.

During a recording session, it suddenly switched itself off and wonít restart.
Iíve tried a different kettle lead but I get the same results

Hereís what happens..... when I switch on, I get a brief flicker from the lights around the pitchbend lever then nothing happens.
It doesnít attempt to boot up. No lights come on and neither does the fan and the screen doesnít light up.

There hasnít been a power spike or anything like that
My Kronos 2 is around 2 years old

Any ideas ?

Thanks

My first guess would be the power supply. It's an easy check for me as a keyboard tech but perhaps not so much otherwise. When I approach a keyboard with this symptom I would open it and first verify all cables were well connected. Then, verify power is getting to the power supply and then if the correct voltages are coming out of it. From there it gets complicated but the power supply is always the first test so it can be eliminated.
Also, I hope you have it on a UPS. The Kronos can be finicky with flaky power.

Geo


I am not sure a novice should experiment with power connections inside
The Kronos.

Agree ?

Or is this ok DIY territory ?
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
pedro5
Platinum Member


Joined: 06 Oct 2011
Posts: 1110
Location: Coventry UK.

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 11:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Messing around with a mains psu is definitely not a diy project !!!

A visual inspection is as far one should go,unless qualified.
(Disconnected wires,blown capacitors etc).

Although swapping the power lead (kettle type,as described) may help,but apparently the Kronos can be particular with different brands of connectors and not all are suitable.

I recall that some Kronos keyboards had trouble with the mains switch some time ago....not sure if this applies here though,as the model is a K2.

One thing that may cause a non boot is the memory card not seated properly...again this needs some caution with exploring the innards.

Otherwise,a service centre is the real option.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PCFREE
Senior Member


Joined: 02 Sep 2012
Posts: 447
Location: Just passing through...

PostPosted: Tue Mar 27, 2018 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I called Korg UK

They advised me to do a return for warranty repair through PMT. I have a three year extended warranty so Iíll take it to PMT Birmingham tomorrow

Thank you all for your contributions
_________________
Kronos 2 61, Kurzweil Forte 7, Yamaha Montage 6,
Roland Integra-7

....as we forgive those who synthesize against us!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PCFREE
Senior Member


Joined: 02 Sep 2012
Posts: 447
Location: Just passing through...

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 7:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Kronos is back ! Very Happy

It was a problem with the power board
_________________
Kronos 2 61, Kurzweil Forte 7, Yamaha Montage 6,
Roland Integra-7

....as we forgive those who synthesize against us!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mike Conway
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 28 Jan 2005
Posts: 2084
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada

PostPosted: Thu May 17, 2018 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glad to hear that it was a straightforward fix. Thanks for letting us know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group