Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Using Realtime Controls to enable a layer

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Triton Classic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
buttonjaw



Joined: 08 Dec 2017
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 7:03 pm    Post subject: Using Realtime Controls to enable a layer Reply with quote

Hey Triton-ites!

I'm attempting to recreate Jellyfish' 1993 classic album Spilt Milk live (TtoB) and have enlisted the Triton Classic to do most of the heavy lifting. So far I've been able to split the keyboard and assign voices but have run into a head scratcher.

On the song Sebrina I'd like to use the oboe/flute patch for the bridges and then for the outro (when playing live) would like to enable a toy piano layer on top of the flute patch. Can I realistically pull this off using the realtime controls? It seems I can and will delve into the manual but wanted to post first to see if some kind soul had the answer. Thanks all!

Scott
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voip
Platinum Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2014
Posts: 1472

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It could be done using the Mixer tab, selecting the onscreen slider for the oboe/flute timbre, and using the Value Slider to bring in the timbre. Likewise for the toy piano sound. The Combi would need to be saved with the relevant timbre volumes set to zero.

.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buttonjaw



Joined: 08 Dec 2017
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

THANK YOU! I will definitely try that! Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buttonjaw



Joined: 08 Dec 2017
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2018 10:40 pm    Post subject: hmmm... Reply with quote

So I edited the glock program with the volume assigned to REALTIME CONTROL knobs 1-B using CC#07 (which when I play it in PROG mode it works fine).

Then I swapped out the original Glock program with my newly created one with the volume control edits (which I saved in E Bank) into my Combi and set the timbre volume to zero. Now is where I'm not sure what to do. When I go into the REALTIME CONTROL KNOBS Assign section of the Combi what do I set Knob 1-B on? I tried volume but it effects all the programs in the Combi [he says while scratching head Wink I'm looking through the Parameter guide manual and nothing is jumping out at me. Any ideas voip>?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voip
Platinum Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2014
Posts: 1472

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MIDI CC#07 is assigned to control main volume so, in a Program it controls main volume i.e. the Program volume, and in a Combi it controls main volume i.e. the whole Combi, so not very useful in this case, hence the suggestion to use the Value Slider to control the onscreen faders.

As for the realtime control knobs, when row B of the assignable knobs is selected, then knobs 1-4 will normally send CC#17, CC#19, CC#20 and CC#21, respectively. You may need to set this up in the Controllers page "Realtime Control Knobs B Assign" parameters to e.g. assign "Knob1-B" to KnobMod1 (CC#17) and "Knob2-B" to KnobMod2 (CC#19), and then use an insert effect that can control volume levels e.g. a limiter or compressor effect, using these CCs as modulation sources for the two modulation source parameters in the effects. This will use two effects slots, which may be a problem if the Combi is already heavy on effects.

.


Last edited by voip on Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:19 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
buttonjaw



Joined: 08 Dec 2017
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 2:10 am    Post subject: It worked! Reply with quote

Brillliant! Thanks voip. You are truly the master of all Triton knowledge! THANK YOU! Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Triton Classic All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group