Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Keybed doesnt work
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rod_proteus



Joined: 11 Feb 2019
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 4:28 pm    Post subject: Keybed doesnt work Reply with quote

Hi guys.

Thanks for this site for sharing information about korg products.
This is my very first post...
Well, I paste the email that I sent to korg, because I have not an answer yet.
I'll apreciate any suggestion. Thanks

-----------------------------------------------------------------

The email is the following:

Well, about two months ago I bought a Korg Kronos 2 (61 keys).
The keyboard has system version 3.1.2

Well, in last days when I turn on the device the keys doesn´t work (no sound) for a while.
I mean, turn on the device, and when device is ready, I play some keys and no sound.
However, the last 9 upper keys work !!...

Then, I wait for a couple of minutes and “magically” the keys work !!...

This behaviour is constant when I turn on the device !

My question is : is this a software known problem or a hardware problem ?


Also, I have nothing connected to Kronos (usb devices, computer, etc)..
Only the audio cables are connected.
Finally, I have not install updates or libraries.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Liviou2004
Platinum Member


Joined: 20 Feb 2017
Posts: 689
Location: Nemours - France

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

have you checked that there was no message "Samples not Loaded" on the top of the screen ?

Is it a new or a second-hand Kronos ?
_________________
Kronos 2 73, Moog Grandmother, Studiologic Sledge 2, Behringer Neutron, Yamaha P90 / Electro Harmonix Vocoder V256, Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro / Soundcraft Mixer EFX12, JBL LSR308, Behringer FX2000 3D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 7734
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:17 pm    Post subject: Re: Keybed doesnt work Reply with quote

rod_proteus wrote:
Hi guys.

Thanks for this site for sharing information about korg products.
This is my very first post...
Well, I paste the email that I sent to korg, because I have not an answer yet.
I'll apreciate any suggestion. Thanks

-----------------------------------------------------------------

The email is the following:

Well, about two months ago I bought a Korg Kronos 2 (61 keys).
The keyboard has system version 3.1.2

Well, in last days when I turn on the device the keys doesn´t work (no sound) for a while.
I mean, turn on the device, and when device is ready, I play some keys and no sound.
However, the last 9 upper keys work !!...

Then, I wait for a couple of minutes and “magically” the keys work !!...

This behaviour is constant when I turn on the device !

My question is : is this a software known problem or a hardware problem ?


Also, I have nothing connected to Kronos (usb devices, computer, etc)..
Only the audio cables are connected.
Finally, I have not install updates or libraries.


a few things.

If you bought it new, push for a replacement. No idea of your country or your retailer is, but what you describe is an unreliable Kronos , esp for a $3000 keyboard

If its to late for your retailer, you should be under warranty, assuming its 2 months new. Find a Korg auth service center, call them, etc

I have other questions but will wait to hear from you
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
rod_proteus



Joined: 11 Feb 2019
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:37 pm    Post subject: Keybed doesnt work Reply with quote

Hi guys... Thanks for your reply.

First: My kronos is first hand (it means, it's new)

Second, the message "Samples not Loaded" doesn´t appear. It boots normal.
Everthing is working at startup but the keybed.


Waht is the question GregC? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 7734
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:44 pm    Post subject: Re: Keybed doesnt work Reply with quote

rod_proteus wrote:
Hi guys... Thanks for your reply.

First: My kronos is first hand (it means, it's new)

Second, the message "Samples not Loaded" doesn´t appear. It boots normal.
Everthing is working at startup but the keybed.


Waht is the question GregC? Smile


"when I turn on the device the keys doesn´t work (no sound) for a while.
I mean, turn on the device, and when device is ready, I play some keys and no sound.
However, the last 9 upper keys work !!... "

I consider that 'unreliable '.
I am not aware of any quick DIY solution for your new Kronos.

Was there any accident on the keybed ? Like dropping something on it ?
Or dropping your Kronos while moving it ?

If not, my recommendation to you is in my prior post. Dealer or auth Korg service visit.
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994


Last edited by GregC on Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Liviou2004
Platinum Member


Joined: 20 Feb 2017
Posts: 689
Location: Nemours - France

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:46 pm    Post subject: Re: Keybed doesnt work Reply with quote

rod_proteus wrote:
Hi guys... Thanks for your reply.

First: My kronos is first hand (it means, it's new)

Second, the message "Samples not Loaded" doesn´t appear. It boots normal.
Everthing is working at startup but the keybed.


Waht is the question GregC? Smile


I agree with Greg. The most weird thing is sound coming after some times. So you should bring your Kronos back for replacement.
_________________
Kronos 2 73, Moog Grandmother, Studiologic Sledge 2, Behringer Neutron, Yamaha P90 / Electro Harmonix Vocoder V256, Beyerdynamic DT770 Pro / Soundcraft Mixer EFX12, JBL LSR308, Behringer FX2000 3D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rod_proteus



Joined: 11 Feb 2019
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 6:56 pm    Post subject: Keybed doesnt work Reply with quote

Thanks guys.... Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ronnfigg
Platinum Member


Joined: 26 Mar 2011
Posts: 1986
Location: CA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think "keybed doesn't work" is not a proper title for this thread.
_________________
"To me the synthesizer was always a source of new sounds that musicians could use to expand the range of possibilities for making music."
Bob Moog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rod_proteus



Joined: 11 Feb 2019
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ronnfigg wrote:
I think "keybed doesn't work" is not a proper title for this thread.


Sorry... English is not my mother language.. I understand that "keybed" means the "keys in the keyboard".. or not ?.. Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ronnfigg
Platinum Member


Joined: 26 Mar 2011
Posts: 1986
Location: CA

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 7:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Do you know it is the keyboard is causing the problem? It could be the electronics hardware or the software. The Kronos is a computer.
_________________
"To me the synthesizer was always a source of new sounds that musicians could use to expand the range of possibilities for making music."
Bob Moog
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
KK
Platinum Member


Joined: 13 Oct 2016
Posts: 525

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 9:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi rod_proteus,

If this happens to all programs, it's very likely to be a hardware problem. Return your Kronos to the dealer or Korg service under warranty.
_________________
Musician, solution designer for keyboard instruments and more.
Kronos : Color LEDs mod
Kronos : Custom velocity curves
Kronos : Aftertouch hardware solution
Kronos : Change Quick Layer & Quick Split default programs (PM me for password)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
19naia
Platinum Member


Joined: 29 Nov 2012
Posts: 1139

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 5:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

With kromos, it is good to know if it is happening with all programs and combis or just the first program or combi that comes on screen at start up.

So many things in a program can be set to silence keys. Maybe even
Keyboard tracking-keyramps set to do strange keyboard behaviour.
And possibly strange Karma setups.

I would check first to see if all programs and combis have this problem.
And then i would try reloading entire factory file with samples and all.

Sounds more complicated an issue than keyboard tracking-keyramp settings or Karma.
But good to note that Keyboard tracking-keyramping is a feature in kronos that can be set up to silence a range of keys and alter them in other ways and maybe even tie into AMS options that can then bring the sound back to the silenced set of keys.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rod_proteus



Joined: 11 Feb 2019
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 11:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

19naia wrote:
With kromos, it is good to know if it is happening with all programs and combis or just the first program or combi that comes on screen at start up.

So many things in a program can be set to silence keys. Maybe even
Keyboard tracking-keyramps set to do strange keyboard behaviour.
And possibly strange Karma setups.

I would check first to see if all programs and combis have this problem.
And then i would try reloading entire factory file with samples and all.

Sounds more complicated an issue than keyboard tracking-keyramp settings or Karma.
But good to note that Keyboard tracking-keyramping is a feature in kronos that can be set up to silence a range of keys and alter them in other ways and maybe even tie into AMS options that can then bring the sound back to the silenced set of keys.


19naia:
Thanks for the suggestion.
The problem happens for all programs.
Like I said, after a couple of minutes, the problem goes away and kronos works well.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LewTheKeyboardGuy
Junior Member


Joined: 25 Nov 2018
Posts: 82
Location: North Wales. UK

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the problem maybe to do with the following...

depending on where you are within the world, did you receive it by carrier? some carriers here in the UK are awful at dealing with instrument handling and can destroy a synth in one move.

The symptom you describe sounds like a connection failure between the keyboard scanner and the daughterboard running off the mainboard. could be a weak connection or half off cable.

Legally speaking, the dealer is directly responsible in this matter as they supplied the machine to you, if shipped to you, they are still respionsible, They can replace the product. If they fail to, please reach your nearest Korg office for technical support BY PHONE and not by email. be clear of your issue, give the serial number and request their direct involvement. Distance selling regulations under not just UK but international purchasing agreements as per each country's retail regulations acts cover this, they differ slightly but all cover the same basic legal functions.

Good luck, get a replacement, not a repair. you haven't had it long enough to warrant a repair only, you're legally entitled to a replacement. If you remember the carrier who delivered it, still have the packaging, inspect the box for damages, it's a potential indicator. I went through this with 2 nord stage 3 rigs both damaged and returned, full refund. then took on the kronos rigs I now use.

There could be a 2nd possibility, if it's not a cable, probably a capacitor or one of the processors to the audio processing side may be faulty or could have weak soldering joints. It's rare it happens, but it does happen regardless of manufacturer. don't forget that this is primarily a computer based workstation with some really nice extras, PCB's can have off moments or develop faults due to poor soldering (SIP -Solder in Place) flow work. these boards are machine made and sent through flow ovens.

lew
_________________
Life is too short to worry about endless issues. Love and be loved, conquer all that can be achieved. Oh... Yes.... Farts can be considered musical instruments too!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rod_proteus



Joined: 11 Feb 2019
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 6:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

LewTheKeyboardGuy wrote:
the problem maybe to do with the following...

depending on where you are within the world, did you receive it by carrier? some carriers here in the UK are awful at dealing with instrument handling and can destroy a synth in one move.

The symptom you describe sounds like a connection failure between the keyboard scanner and the daughterboard running off the mainboard. could be a weak connection or half off cable.

Legally speaking, the dealer is directly responsible in this matter as they supplied the machine to you, if shipped to you, they are still respionsible, They can replace the product. If they fail to, please reach your nearest Korg office for technical support BY PHONE and not by email. be clear of your issue, give the serial number and request their direct involvement. Distance selling regulations under not just UK but international purchasing agreements as per each country's retail regulations acts cover this, they differ slightly but all cover the same basic legal functions.

Good luck, get a replacement, not a repair. you haven't had it long enough to warrant a repair only, you're legally entitled to a replacement. If you remember the carrier who delivered it, still have the packaging, inspect the box for damages, it's a potential indicator. I went through this with 2 nord stage 3 rigs both damaged and returned, full refund. then took on the kronos rigs I now use.

There could be a 2nd possibility, if it's not a cable, probably a capacitor or one of the processors to the audio processing side may be faulty or could have weak soldering joints. It's rare it happens, but it does happen regardless of manufacturer. don't forget that this is primarily a computer based workstation with some really nice extras, PCB's can have off moments or develop faults due to poor soldering (SIP -Solder in Place) flow work. these boards are machine made and sent through flow ovens.

lew



LewTheKeyboardGuy, thank you very much for your answer.
And I agree with you: either a capacitor (for me, that's the reason) or soldering issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group