Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

M3 + EXB_RADIAS board: sometimes doesn't see RADIAS board

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg M3
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
aether



Joined: 09 Apr 2019
Posts: 23

PostPosted: Tue Apr 16, 2019 1:44 pm    Post subject: M3 + EXB_RADIAS board: sometimes doesn't see RADIAS board Reply with quote

Hi,

not sure if anybody had this issue: I have an M3 XPanded + 256MB RAM + RADIAS boards.

Now it sometimes boots without recognising the presence of RADIAS board, and only lists the memory extension - but then once it booted with the RADIAS, usually for N reboots it is fine.

It usually wakes up like this after it was powered off, so was very puzzled but no other consistent pattern.

The RADIAS board is clearly OK, and works perfectly, but M3 itself has this random refusal to realise its presence... Checked connections, everything fine...

It hasn't been shaken up, never left studio so... very stumped...

Any ideas very helpful, thank you.
_________________
Aether
_______ Korg M3, N5, Kronos2 LS, Yamaha FS1R, Roland JV1010, Waldorf Blofeld _________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
janke
Full Member


Joined: 11 Apr 2006
Posts: 194
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Fri May 17, 2019 7:48 pm    Post subject: Re: M3 + EXB_RADIAS board: sometimes doesn't see RADIAS boar Reply with quote

aether wrote:
Hi,

not sure if anybody had this issue: I have an M3 XPanded + 256MB RAM + RADIAS boards.

Now it sometimes boots without recognising the presence of RADIAS board, and only lists the memory extension - but then once it booted with the RADIAS, usually for N reboots it is fine.

It usually wakes up like this after it was powered off, so was very puzzled but no other consistent pattern.

The RADIAS board is clearly OK, and works perfectly, but M3 itself has this random refusal to realise its presence... Checked connections, everything fine...

It hasn't been shaken up, never left studio so... very stumped...

Any ideas very helpful, thank you.
i had thath problem before but after i chanse the display no problem anymore so maby its a connectionproblem...
_________________
Korg m3 nordlead a1 omnispheare synth and virus ti snow
SoundClick Now!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Bald Eagle
Platinum Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 2278
Location: Long Island, NY

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2019 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same problem so you’re not alone. I have also checked everything and have no idea what causes this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HardSync
Platinum Member


Joined: 07 Jan 2011
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Wed May 22, 2019 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've only had this problem once in, gosh, I dunno how long I've owned my M3... er... Almost nine years, I think.

When it happened probably 7 years ago, I opened up the main module's accessory panel and removed the EXB-Radias completely, then carefully reinstalled it. And I've not had a problem since. I don't know what caused it either, but my guess was something about the ribbon cable connecting it to the main board wasn't quite right. I seem to recall it being somewhat of a pain to put the accessory panel back on without tweaking or pinching the ribbon cable, which is very short.

But anwyay... I don't know why it happened, but after reinstalling it, it has not happened again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HardSync
Platinum Member


Joined: 07 Jan 2011
Posts: 610

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2019 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So like a week after I posted my comment, my M3 didn't recognize my EXB-Radias. Jinxed. LOL. It's happened a few more times since.

But I have a question: Do any of you have your M3 connected to a computer via the USB port when booting the M3?

I ask because this is really the only change I made to my setup. I noticed during the boot process that my PC recognizes the M3 just as the screen should display the EXB options on the screen. So I'm wondering if this connection to the PC could be the issue -- something driver related or I dunno, some weird glitch. I don't know if it is, but I've since disconnected the USB cable when I boot the M3 and I haven't had a failure to recognize the Radias board since. But of course it could just be random...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg M3 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group