Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Distortion issue Volca beats and Steinberg UR44

View previous topic :: View next topic  
run2hype

PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:50 pm    Post subject: Distortion issue Volca beats and Steinberg UR44 Reply with quote

Hi there, sorry in advance I'm new to all this and I try to explain my issues as good as possible.

I have a Korg Volca Beats (brand new) battery powered at the moment. I run this with a new Hosa CMS-105 3.5mm TRS to 1/4" TRS Stereo Interconnect Cable -5ft into my new Steinberg UR 44.

What I noticed is:
When I connect the volca beats in on of the MIC/Hi-Z inputs(1 or 2) on the front of my UR44 (which is powered through the original 12V AC/DC adapter) I get a very strange distortion sound instead of the kick sound. I tried multiple cables (same kind same brand) and I always get the same distortion sound. When I then plug in my sennheiser HD 25 headphones in to the output jack of the volca beats evreything seems to sound normal. Also i noticed that this issue only happens with the kick, all the other sounds seem to sound okay.
I tried then to hook up the volca beats through my old Komplete Audio 6 which is only bus powered and everything sounds correct. (no volume issues no distortion)

When I then connect it to the MIC/Line input (3 or 4) the signal is very very quiet and I have to turn up the input gain until I hear more noise than the actual drum sounds BUT the sounds sound kinda normal (disregarding the noise)