Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Note keeps sounding after MIDI Note On message sent to Krono

View previous topic :: View next topic  
go2ldook

PostPosted: Wed Jul 04, 2018 12:05 am    Post subject: Note keeps sounding after MIDI Note On message sent to Krono Reply with quote

Hoping someone with Midi background can help me.
I am using a set of Korg PK-5A Basspedals to play my Kronos Keyboard (I am a guitarist and use it to trigger bass, synth and sample sounds).

This is all fine. The Basspedals are operated in Mono Mode such that the note holds until another note is pressed. If I want it to turn off or fade out before another note is pressed, I can use the Vector Control to achieve this. All good.

The odd behavior is when I use my PBC Mastermind to send a note on Command to a combi (Sometimes I need to change to a new guitar pedal preset at the same time I should be hitting a note on the Basspedals, so this allows me to achieve that). The note sounds, but unless I use Vector Control, it keeps going when I press a different note. There is no "Note Off" signal or something. If I send a different note command from the Mastermind, the prior note will turn off (I always set it up so an "all notes off" command is sent first, followed by the note I want).

Is there anything I can do to fix this? Sometimes I might not want a Vector control setting on the note, so this ends up a pain. I have seen posts on this topic, but never a resolution. I have tried updating the Kronos (I still had the original firmware!), tried turning Local Control off in Global, played with the MIDI filters for that timbre. Nothing works.
go2ldook