Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Sq1 callibrating on 1 volt output

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Sequencers / Audio recording packages.
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Leoschoutrop



Joined: 16 Mar 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 9:50 am    Post subject: Sq1 callibrating on 1 volt output Reply with quote

I have a sq 1 but getting my oscillators tracking right isn't that easy
Partial due to the small knobs but another thing is annoying more:
When put on 1 volt output it only delivers max 0.98 volt , when on two volt output it max delivers 1.96 volt etc
Is there
Any way to callibrate it so that 1 volt means 1 volt ??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voip
Platinum Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2014
Posts: 1985

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How accurate is the measurement system? Even good quality Fluke multimeters are only specified to give 2% +/-3 counts accuracy on the voltage ranges, so 2.000000 volts, produced by a known e.g. recently calibrated to NIST source, might read anywhere between 1.93 and 2.07V. A cheap (e.g. Tenma) multimeter spec is given as a "Best Accuracy" figure that is better than this, but "Best Accuracy" is a rather vague term, that wouldn't stand up to professional scrutiny. So the message is basically, verify the measurement system before diving in and making adjustments.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Leoschoutrop



Joined: 16 Mar 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 1:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Good tip
Thanks
It's not only the multimeter, it's also thT the tuning acts accordingly. No right tracking When 5 octaves you 'll get b instead of c, with 2 volts , same proprtional deviation
( peterson strobe tuner )
Therefore the question on calibrating the a and b. Cv Outputs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OpAmp
Platinum Member


Joined: 07 Jun 2013
Posts: 921
Location: Brussels, BE

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

AFAIK, there is no easy/obvious way to calibrate the CV output voltages.

Bye
_________________
microKORGXL, Kaossilator Pro, monotribe, SQ-1, volca fm, Kross 88 BK
Alesis SR18, Akai Miniak, Fender Strat, Line 6 Spider II 112
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
voip
Platinum Member


Joined: 27 Nov 2014
Posts: 1985

PostPosted: Sat Mar 16, 2019 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The joys of analogue ;-)

The voltage steps between semitones, when using 2V to cover 5 octaves in V/octave mode, is 33.3mV, placing the voltage for top B at 1.9667V so, putting a lot of faith in the voltmeter readings, the SQ-1 maximum output might well be above this level. Could it be that the target synth CV input is also slightly less sensitive, so the combined effect is slightly flat? Is the resolution of the SQ-1's potentiometers sufficient to allow easy adjustment to 1 semitone across 5 octaves, anyway?

Does the target synth have a pitch control that could be used to correct for the tiny offset?

Are the batteries used in the SQ-1 fresh? The user manual quotes around 5 hours use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nayam



Joined: 26 Aug 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 8:02 am    Post subject: Sq1 callibrating on 1 volt output Reply with quote

Very useful thread, thanks for information.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Leoschoutrop



Joined: 16 Mar 2019
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2019 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

To all questions:
No
The battery and targetsynths are oke
Problem is simply thet the sq1 is not callibrated on 1volt/oct and no adjustment possible
With hz/ volt synths ( ms20+ ms50 here) it seems to work better/ more tight in tuning and whole range of the pots can be used more handy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Sequencers / Audio recording packages. All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group