Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Quirks when using Ensemble feature

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Musicwithharry
Platinum Member

PostPosted: Thu Jun 06, 2019 3:08 pm    Post subject: Quirks when using Ensemble feature Reply with quote

Good Morning Smile

As many of you heave read in my previous posts, I have a PA700 (Serial # under 140) and have not upgraded to the latest OS (1.4?).

I have had a slight quirk when using the Ensemble feature. I play at nursing homes for a living and play the Big Band styles and other styles for music anywhere from the 1920's to the 1970's for the residents of these homes.

When have a set of sounds put together for each song, I use the STS settings to switch between different instruments within the same style, allowing me to 'medley' up to (and sometimes more) than 4 songs within the same style.

Here is an example for when I play 'It Had to be You':

STS1 - Folk Sax (sound 1), Flute (sound 2) and Sistro (sound three). In 'It Had to be You', I use the sax in the first verse, add the flute to the sax in the second verse, and then the Sistro to both other sounds on the last verse. I have the Ensemble setting to trigger on the sax part (not the flute or Sistro) only.
STS2 - Jazz Guitar (sound 1), Pad (sound 2). This STS is used for another song called 'By the Light of the Silvery Moon' within the same style - I simply adjust the tempo to be a bit faster and start playing the other song. The Ensemble is set to trigger on the Jazz Guitar