Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

What about legacy collection on the M-3??????
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg M3
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BasariStudios
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6501
Location: NYC, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 7:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hahahaha Sina, god help you and your Oasys bro, you calling it a 8000$
mashine, just one of my preamps in my studio costs that much, my
ROSETTA800 is half of that money, my G5 costed me 3 times that amount...
nah, OASYS rulez, iz da kinggggggg...hahahaha...
_________________
http://www.basaristudios.com
Cubase 8.5 Pro. Windows 7 X64. ASUS SaberTooth X99. Intel I7 5820K. ASUS GTX 960 Strix OC 2GB. 4x8 GB G.SKILL.
2 850 PRO 256GB SSDs. 1 850 EVO 1TB SSD. Acustica: Nebula Server 3 Ultimate, Murano, Magenta 3, Navy, Titanium.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
synthdogg
Junior Member


Joined: 21 Jun 2007
Posts: 52
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 7:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nedim wrote:
Hahahaha Sina, god help you and your Oasys bro, you calling it a 8000$
mashine, just one of my preamps in my studio costs that much, my
ROSETTA800 is half of that money, my G5 costed me 3 times that amount...
nah, OASYS rulez, iz da kinggggggg...hahahaha...


Wow Nedim! An $8000 preamp???

A $4000 Rosetta 800??????

A $24,000 G5?????????

It may be time for you to find a new dealer!
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sharp
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Jan 2002
Posts: 17861
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

synthdogg wrote:
Nedim wrote:
Hahahaha Sina, god help you and your Oasys bro, you calling it a 8000$
mashine, just one of my preamps in my studio costs that much, my
ROSETTA800 is half of that money, my G5 costed me 3 times that amount...
nah, OASYS rulez, iz da kinggggggg...hahahaha...


Wow Nedim! An $8000 preamp???

A $4000 Rosetta 800??????

A $24,000 G5?????????

It may be time for you to find a new dealer!
Wink


Cool I'm also available to hire for Studio Session work Smile

Sharp. Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
BasariStudios
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6501
Location: NYC, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

synthdogg wrote:
Nedim wrote:
Hahahaha Sina, god help you and your Oasys bro, you calling it a 8000$
mashine, just one of my preamps in my studio costs that much, my
ROSETTA800 is half of that money, my G5 costed me 3 times that amount...
nah, OASYS rulez, iz da kinggggggg...hahahaha...


Wow Nedim! An $8000 preamp???

A $4000 Rosetta 800??????

A $24,000 G5?????????

It may be time for you to find a new dealer!
Wink


No synth dog, you know i am right, at the time i paid 8000$ for 16GB RAM only,
right??? And the video card itself was 1600$. You can make calculations.
And yes, the ROSSETTA when i bought it was 3600$, it is still 3200$ i think.
Not an 8000$ preamp but i said close to it, can it be a Manley of around 5000?
Certain people that are not informed about certain things to them some
things sound funny and not true, if you really didnt know the price on a
ROSSETTA800 and the price on a FULL MAC then i dont know what you know.
My cousin in his studio has a G5 which is more money then mine, even though
it was around 24 gran.
My point was HIM calling it an 8000$ mashine...comparing a TOY to MONSTERS,
not just OASYS but any synth is a TOY compared to a computer setup.
I am talking about sond quality, forget other things.
You might have a woman which is very reliable on a booty call (OASYS)
but she is ugly and fat...you cant compare that to some STUCK UP girl
(a computer setup) which has quality like a model. Its just funny that Sina
compared that, i didnt expected it from him, i thought he knew better then
that. To compare few MB of ROM to few GB Piano only sound...nice.
_________________
http://www.basaristudios.com
Cubase 8.5 Pro. Windows 7 X64. ASUS SaberTooth X99. Intel I7 5820K. ASUS GTX 960 Strix OC 2GB. 4x8 GB G.SKILL.
2 850 PRO 256GB SSDs. 1 850 EVO 1TB SSD. Acustica: Nebula Server 3 Ultimate, Murano, Magenta 3, Navy, Titanium.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
synthdogg
Junior Member


Joined: 21 Jun 2007
Posts: 52
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nedim wrote:

No synth dog, you know i am right, at the time i paid 8000$ for 16GB RAM only,
right??? And the video card itself was 1600$. You can make calculations.
And yes, the ROSSETTA when i bought it was 3600$, it is still 3200$ i think.
Not an 8000$ preamp but i said close to it, can it be a Manley of around 5000?
Certain people that are not informed about certain things to them some
things sound funny and not true, if you really didnt know the price on a
ROSSETTA800 and the price on a FULL MAC then i dont know what you know.


It's quite possible that you don't know what I know. Laughing

Nedim...I was joking around, man. You're prices were just a little high, that's all. Rosetta's usually sell around $2500-2600. I mean, I decided to go with the AD16/DA16x route, and that was still less than $8000 (sorry...you said $4000 for the Apogee, my bad...)

And the only "preamp" Manley makes that's even close to $8000 is the Slam...I don't mean to nitpick but the Slam is more than just a mic pre.
Whatever, I'm not a huge Manley fan....but I can still pick up a couple of racked 1073's for less than $8000!!!!

Again, though...I'm playing around. Believe it or not....I'm actually well informed about these things, and I still found the post funny, but I have a goofy sense of humor that way.



Nedim wrote:

My cousin in his studio has a G5 which is more money then mine, even though
it was around 24 gran.
My point was HIM calling it an 8000$ mashine...comparing a TOY to MONSTERS,
not just OASYS but any synth is a TOY compared to a computer setup.
I am talking about sond quality, forget other things.
You might have a woman which is very reliable on a booty call (OASYS)
but she is ugly and fat...you cant compare that to some STUCK UP girl
(a computer setup) which has quality like a model. Its just funny that Sina
compared that, i didnt expected it from him, i thought he knew better then
that. To compare few MB of ROM to few GB Piano only sound...nice.


I understand your point Nedim, I just disagree with it. You're actually saying something very similar to Sina, you're just switching the instruments out. Instead of the Oasys being the "God" that nothing else can remotely come close to, you're replacing that with a computer setup. That surprises me, especially since you mention your ARP 2600 in your location. Your computer will NEVER be able to do what your ARP does. Isn't life better with both of them?
I also have several huge multi GB piano libraries. They're great, I use them all the time. I don't know if you missed Sharp's post about "Pianoteq", but it's a phenomenal program, and it's just a few MB's. IMO, it doesn't capture the fullness and body of a piano the way Ivory or Acoustik Piano etc. do, but it has a playability that's missing from those programs......and then there's my Grand Piano, it sounds and plays MUCH more realistically then any of them, but takes me longer to mic up, and it's harder to edit performances etc.etc.
So which one is best? (hint:there's no such thing) This is music, man...there's no right answers. Do what works for you, let other people do what works for them. A lot of people have made some amazing music (and sold tons of albums) using "toys" (sometimes literally). I'm going to try to stop worrying about being "right" so much and go worry about being creative!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BasariStudios
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6501
Location: NYC, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SynthDogg, you are completely right, i wont switch my ARP2600 to 20
computer setups, you got that. My point was straight WORD AGAINST WORD.
There is a lot more to it then what i said or what you said or what Sina said.
It all comes down to creativity again. Yes, i've had the OASYS for 6 months
but it wasnt for me, a lot of money for what it was giving me, today for 8/9000$
people buy nice computer SETUPS and do a lot more then the OASYS can.
I returned it, it was nice, a great synth and reliable but i didnt see any use
of it for my needs, why would i keep it and pay for its DIGITAL RECORDER
when i have a full studio, why pay for a sampler when i would never use
when i have the soft saplers, with lots of GBs of RAM if you take the todays
very nice and reliable DFD, why pay for some AN or KLC when i already had
the soft on the comp together with the MS20 controller and many things.
Its not just about the sound quality, i just went WORD AGAINST WORD but
i know he made a point too but in my heart still, you cant compare it, a comp
is a comp, he says a soft sampler cannot come close to OASYS, he can
get mad but thats PURE WRONG which is a fact. Whats so great about OASYS
sampler??? What is it? NOTHNG? just few hundreds of MB sampling RAM
compared to hundreds of GB or TB sampling ram? As i know of from my
experience a sound quality in samples doesnt deppends on what machine
is played on, it all deppends on the size of itself, and OASYS cannot hold
big sizes of samples, that was my whole point.

Regards
_________________
http://www.basaristudios.com
Cubase 8.5 Pro. Windows 7 X64. ASUS SaberTooth X99. Intel I7 5820K. ASUS GTX 960 Strix OC 2GB. 4x8 GB G.SKILL.
2 850 PRO 256GB SSDs. 1 850 EVO 1TB SSD. Acustica: Nebula Server 3 Ultimate, Murano, Magenta 3, Navy, Titanium.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
BasariStudios
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6501
Location: NYC, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And as for saying I DONT KNOW WHAT YOU KNOW i didnt mean to put you
down by saying that but i am sure you know the costs of pro gear and to a
guy like you a 24000$ wont be funny at all when you yourself know it can
even be more then 24000$ for a computer itself.
It doesnt matter how much mine costs but take an example:
An empty QUAD 3.0GHZ with nothing in it 3000$
a 30 inch monitor another 2500$
16 GB RAM another 7/800$, i paid 8
Video Card 1500$
Add another monitor another 2/2500$
4 HDD by 400/500GB another 2/3000$
and many other things...it is reality, its not just numbers made up.
_________________
http://www.basaristudios.com
Cubase 8.5 Pro. Windows 7 X64. ASUS SaberTooth X99. Intel I7 5820K. ASUS GTX 960 Strix OC 2GB. 4x8 GB G.SKILL.
2 850 PRO 256GB SSDs. 1 850 EVO 1TB SSD. Acustica: Nebula Server 3 Ultimate, Murano, Magenta 3, Navy, Titanium.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
synthdogg
Junior Member


Joined: 21 Jun 2007
Posts: 52
Location: Chicago

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nedim wrote:
he says a soft sampler cannot come close to OASYS, he can
get mad but thats PURE WRONG which is a fact. Whats so great about OASYS
sampler??? What is it? NOTHNG? just few hundreds of MB sampling RAM
compared to hundreds of GB or TB sampling ram? As i know of from my
experience a sound quality in samples doesnt deppends on what machine
is played on, it all deppends on the size of itself, and OASYS cannot hold
big sizes of samples, that was my whole point.

Regards


No worries, mate! We're all just trying to make some music, right? (Or in my case, avoid making music by browsing forums...)

It's interesting that you bring up the software/hardware sampler debate, though. I don't think you can claim that it's a FACT that software samplers are better than the OASYS sampler. There's a whole communitty of producers that argue over this very topic. Many of them have ditched their software samplers and gone back to the old hardware ASR-10's, E4's, AKAI's...whatever, because the samples seem to sit in a mix better when being played from them. NOW...I'm not injecting my own opinion here, I haven't used the sampler on the OASYS, and I use software samplers all day long, but just the fact that there are as many people out there as there are converting back to HW samplers kind of shows my point: There's no correct answers when making music. We're all allowed to like what we like, create our own workflow, use the tools that feel right to us.

Pretty cool, eh? Now I have to get back to composing....deadlines are looming!

Chris
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BasariStudios
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6501
Location: NYC, USA

PostPosted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

synthdogg wrote:
No worries, mate! We're all just trying to make some music, right? (Or in my case, avoid making music by browsing forums...)


I woke up at 2 today, its 5.30 now, still on the forums, havent even played
a note yet, didnt eat yet and i smoked already like 10 cigg...
_________________
http://www.basaristudios.com
Cubase 8.5 Pro. Windows 7 X64. ASUS SaberTooth X99. Intel I7 5820K. ASUS GTX 960 Strix OC 2GB. 4x8 GB G.SKILL.
2 850 PRO 256GB SSDs. 1 850 EVO 1TB SSD. Acustica: Nebula Server 3 Ultimate, Murano, Magenta 3, Navy, Titanium.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
MauroR
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 9:07 am    Post subject: Re: What about legacy collection on the M-3?????? Reply with quote

[quote="lcmorley"]
Sina172 wrote:
Name ONE instrument that even REMOTELY offers what the OASYS does.


Sina, they didn't give you the Oasys as a present, it costs almost 1 year of minimum salary, you tell it as it costs like a bunch of nuts but it's not so, it offers a lot but cotst a lot, why do you to compare a more than $8000 workstation with a $3000 one? I really don't understand sometimes.
Back to top
Sina172
Platinum Member


Joined: 29 May 2007
Posts: 1194

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 3:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

........

Last edited by Sina172 on Sun Jan 31, 2016 4:17 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sparkie
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 Feb 2005
Posts: 743
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 4:20 am    Post subject: Re: What about legacy collection on the M-3?????? Reply with quote

Sina172 wrote:
.

The OASYS Sequencer leaves a LOT to be desired right now, and I'm getting a Roland MV-8800 to fill in that gap and increase my workflow, with KARMA being my biggest issue. Eventually I'm gonna get Logic Studio and a Mac Pro to use in conjunction with the OASYS and the MV-8800. But as far as using the OASYS as a plugin, that's where I'm gonna take the plunge for a couple M3's.

Sina


Sina, for $8000 you shouldnt have to additionally buy a MV-8800 or Logic Studio..to "Fill in the gap" so to speak! That is the main reason why I sold my Oasys because of the sequencer being what it is..very incomplete....along with the fact the M3 costs 1/3rd the price. 8k is a ton of money for any keyboard and for 2.5K I can live with an inadequate sequencer..but not 8K? The 8K quickly becomes 9K if you load it up with all the software add ons and accessories, case,stand etc. To me the Oasys is worth 5K and not a dime more ..and since that is about what they sell for on Ebay I guess thats a pretty close estimate. Hopefully the next keyboard with have Oasys quality, and as many grograms with a much better sequencer for a lot less money.
Sparkie
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BasariStudios
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6501
Location: NYC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 4:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OASYS cannot give you even 1% of what a cheaper DAW can,
people, dont talk childish and amateur stuff here please.
OASYS is a great synth, i am getting it soon too but come on,
lets not talk about LOVE. Dont compare TRUCKS and little cars
like OASYS...please...it is very anoying.
_________________
http://www.basaristudios.com
Cubase 8.5 Pro. Windows 7 X64. ASUS SaberTooth X99. Intel I7 5820K. ASUS GTX 960 Strix OC 2GB. 4x8 GB G.SKILL.
2 850 PRO 256GB SSDs. 1 850 EVO 1TB SSD. Acustica: Nebula Server 3 Ultimate, Murano, Magenta 3, Navy, Titanium.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Sina172
Platinum Member


Joined: 29 May 2007
Posts: 1194

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 4:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

.....

Last edited by Sina172 on Sun Jan 31, 2016 4:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Sina172
Platinum Member


Joined: 29 May 2007
Posts: 1194

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

...

Last edited by Sina172 on Sun Jan 31, 2016 4:19 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg M3 All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 3 of 6

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group