Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

tube replacement ..??
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Triton Extreme
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
davc



Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 47
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 8:23 pm    Post subject: tube replacement ..?? Reply with quote

has anyone figured out how to get at the tube to change it ...????????

must be some kind of trade secret ... i've seen this question asked several times the last few years ...

but No one has ever answered it ....!!!!!!!!

as i'm sure most of our Extremes are out of waranty .... please let us change out tubes ..... before i take my dremel tool to the cover ..!!

thanks for any info ..!!!!!!

Sincerely;
Dave C.
_________________
Korg M3 w/exb-rad, Yamaha S90ES (sold plgs) , Access Virus TI, 07 Warrior 5 string , 74/78 Jazz , Strat , and a room full off recording toys ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 7634
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

is there a problem ?

you prefer a red light vs the blue light ?
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
davc



Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 47
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeh ... the problem is , that i can't get a usefull answer ....


maybe i'd prefer a different kind of tube ....

don't give a flying fig regarding the stupid light ...
_________________
Korg M3 w/exb-rad, Yamaha S90ES (sold plgs) , Access Virus TI, 07 Warrior 5 string , 74/78 Jazz , Strat , and a room full off recording toys ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 7634
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 1:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sooooo

what kind of tube did you want and how would it be different from what Korg has spec'd out ?
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
davc



Joined: 19 Jan 2007
Posts: 47
Location: Tampa, FL

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 3:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that's not the question or the topic ...

the question is very simply , How do you get at the tube ....??


not really trying to get into tube discussion ...
_________________
Korg M3 w/exb-rad, Yamaha S90ES (sold plgs) , Access Virus TI, 07 Warrior 5 string , 74/78 Jazz , Strat , and a room full off recording toys ...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
shrike
Platinum Member


Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 670
Location: Croatia, Dugo Selo

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 6:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That kind of attitude will get you no where.

If your tube is broken, we could deal your problem.

To get at the tube,, as you said it, dismantle Extreme and take the cover from inside. There are good chances you couldn't arrange it back the way it was and get it to work again, but you'll get your tube.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
BasariStudios
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6500
Location: NYC, USA

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

And even simpler, if its broken you take it to a service and they replace it for you.
Yours is not to worry how they gonna do it as long as it works.
If you cant pay for it? Who cares? The waranty expired, wait till you save money.
We are all getting sissy in here. Its enough, as Shrike said.
Anything can be FIXED or REPLACED today, no need for being PARANOID.
_________________
http://www.basaristudios.com
Cubase 8.5 Pro. Windows 7 X64. ASUS SaberTooth X99. Intel I7 5820K. ASUS GTX 960 Strix OC 2GB. 4x8 GB G.SKILL.
2 850 PRO 256GB SSDs. 1 850 EVO 1TB SSD. Acustica: Nebula Server 3 Ultimate, Murano, Magenta 3, Navy, Titanium.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jazzman1
Senior Member


Joined: 30 Jan 2003
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 7:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think you guys missed his point. He asked how to get to the tube. The answer he got was "why do you want to know" I would think most would like to know this. I know I would. I would hate to take mine in just to change a light bulb. I have tube guitar amps with the same type tube that I change on demand.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 7634
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

He doesn't have a point. He simply wants to mess around and try to experiment with the tube in his Extreme

Well, hullo. This is not an tube amplifier where you can do that. The Extreme is more complex and 99% likely is not designed for an amateur to mess around with inside components
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jazzman1
Senior Member


Joined: 30 Jan 2003
Posts: 283

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 4:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

GregC wrote:
He doesn't have a point. He simply wants to mess around and try to experiment with the tube in his Extreme

Well, hullo. This is not an tube amplifier where you can do that. The Extreme is more complex and 99% likely is not designed for an amateur to mess around with inside components


Thats his parogative if he want s to do that with his Synth. Duh, I know it is not a tube amp but it is the same tube that is use in many amps and will go out or get weak with time. The bottom line is he only asked one question, How to get to the tube not what you or I think he should do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 7634
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Tue Oct 16, 2007 5:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the answer is simple

You cannot access the tube in the Extreme

Thats the way its designed.

And I am not worried about it 'wearing out ' 8 years in the future or 15 years in the future
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
6fingers



Joined: 05 Dec 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Oct 17, 2007 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wow, this is so helpful.

The tube can break i think, when there's a mechanical shock - while on the road especially. So far I haven't had problems, but i really fear this while on the road. Besides, I don't really think the tube lasts more than 5 years if used on regular basis by a working musician. I could be wrong, but it's basically a lightbulb, and it just, well, burns out.
The tube is extremely easily found, and it would be very useful to find info on how to get there.
If I will try, I'll sure let everyone know. I'm definitely not sending my 88 to Germany to replace a tube (me being in eastern europe). I think the transparent cover can be removed carefully - it should be a lot easier than through the back.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GregC
Platinum Member


Joined: 15 May 2002
Posts: 7634
Location: Discovery Bay (San Francisco Bay Area)

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

6fingers wrote:
I think the transparent cover can be removed carefully - it should be a lot easier than through the back.


I think it would be a mistake to try to remove that cover- its glued in there solidly, if you force it, you could crack it

your call
_________________
Kronos 88. nanoPAD2. Roland FA-07, MBP, UR44
Achieve your musical dreams Smile
https://soundcloud.com/user-898236994
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
tomleitch
Junior Member


Joined: 10 Sep 2007
Posts: 65

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 8:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

when i had my extreme in bits it looked like you could get at the tube from the inside, the tube mounting piece is screwed to the moulded case and looks like it can be removed that way - not 100% sure though i just remember thinking it looked like the way to do it at the time.

If anyone has actually done it i would be interested to know how too.
Incidentally i've got some photos at home of the insides of the extreme which may help. If anyone wants a look let me know and i'll post them when i get chance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
shrike
Platinum Member


Joined: 10 Jul 2007
Posts: 670
Location: Croatia, Dugo Selo

PostPosted: Thu Oct 18, 2007 8:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Regards, Tomleitch, just few things:

1. Extreme's tube lifetime is longer that Extreme's market lifetime - we will replace all our Extremes before tubes begin to malfunction (10-15 years lifetime, that is very conservative build tube, long persisted on market and used in many other gear, not only in Extreme)

2. It is very hard, if not impossible for an amateur (meaning in assembling and disassembling keyboards) to change that tube,

3. there are specialized workshops for something like that

4. I don't get all the fuss about that tube - are you all just interested how it is fixed, can you change the color, can you put some other tube, what, I don't know - it is made the way it is and it's supposed to be exactly that way, not to mess around with it, keyboard isn't a car so you can change spoilers or something like that

5. if you are interested to change a valve in your car's engine, would you do it yourself or would you go to mechanic?

The same thing is with your keyboard.
Don't change it, don't disassemble Extreme (or any other keyboard, btw) if you are not precise mechanic and KNOW exactly what you are doing.

Friend of mine tried that, so I know what I'm saying, later he took to a service (because he broke it, naturally), and then got it repaired.

Now, don't take this bad - my only intention is to give you good advice.

Regards.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Triton Extreme All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group