Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Microsampler as a microstudio

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Flansmose

PostPosted: Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:20 am    Post subject: Microsampler as a microstudio Reply with quote

Hey guys

I am a poor student who doesn’t earn a lot of money. So I have considered buying a Korg Microsampler. I want to make some easy records which I can edit on my computer and make some songs. I think that it has the opportunity to be a mobile recording studio for me.
I want to record guitar riffs and bass riffs through the Jack input and then loop them together with keyboard and a drum loop. When it is all recorded I want to edit into a nice piece of music. How do you guys think that will work? Good or not good?
And another question: Does the Microsampler works as a midi keyboard too?

Best regards Flansmose

My gear:
Pc (windows XP)
Fender squire bass
Ashdown amp
Acoustic guitar (with mic)
Acoustic guitar (without mic)
Roland microcube
Old Yamaha keyboard
And some percussion
floccipocci

PostPosted: Mon Mar 01, 2010 4:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Come to think about it, a sampler is a recorder.
The recorder can only record 2 minutes total time per bank, so it is mainly useful for riffs and loops. When recording audio (not pattern), there is no metronome provided, so the workaround is to record a metronome loop (or drum loop) and play over it.
Then you can import the loops and stuff you recorded via the USB cable, into the computer.
And then import the imported files into a Digital Audio Workstation software (like Audacity/Cubase/whatever).