Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

plea: SDK for Kronos internal "apps" from third pa
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
P5music



Joined: 02 May 2010
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:26 am    Post subject: plea: SDK for Kronos internal "apps" from third pa Reply with quote

Dear Korg inc., Dear Kronos engineers,
Kronos is not shipped yet so I think some time can be used to refine the keyboard system, taking into account the last suggestions.

This is very good, so please take into account these:
-make effects chainable (specs not clear about)
-make combis mergeable
-put piano roll in the sequencer with stylus
-create a karma editing tab with piano roll for patterns and algorhytms and allow arranger "fashion" operation with arranger format compatibility and arpeggiator too.
Important:
-create a tab that can load a plugin, where a plugin is not for audio FX but for creating a mini graphical program in that tab, for example to perform midi processing (even the missing piano roll).
All the keyboard features has to be exposed to the plugins, all modes of the keyboard triggerable and remotable, all headers of c++ libraries have to be published. So the system is not open source, you simply give a tab for this and so avoid iPad become necessary for everything Kronos doesn't have like it will happen with Motif XF.
Because all are fed up with personal computers.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Link
Junior Member


Joined: 07 Nov 2009
Posts: 60

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Amen for the stylus!!! There would be a lot to do with stylus. Wave form and envelope drawing, sequencer micro editing etc etc. You have chosen resistive screen, now use it to the max!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bachus
Platinum Member


Joined: 23 Apr 2006
Posts: 2736

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 10:35 am    Post subject: Re: plea: SDK for Kronos internal "apps" from thir Reply with quote

P5music wrote:
Dear Korg inc., Dear Kronos engineers,
Kronos is not shipped yet so I think some time can be used to refine the keyboard system, taking into account the last suggestions.

This is very good, so please take into account these:
-make effects chainable (specs not clear about)
-make combis mergeable
-put piano roll in the sequencer with stylus
-create a karma editing tab with piano roll for patterns and algorhytms and allow arranger "fashion" operation with arranger format compatibility and arpeggiator too.
Important:
-create a tab that can load a plugin, where a plugin is not for audio FX but for creating a mini graphical program in that tab, for example to perform midi processing (even the missing piano roll).
All the keyboard features has to be exposed to the plugins, all modes of the keyboard triggerable and remotable, all headers of c++ libraries have to be published. So the system is not open source, you simply give a tab for this and so avoid iPad become necessary for everything Kronos doesn't have like it will happen with Motif XF.
Because all are fed up with personal computers.


There is a lot of wisdom in these words...

Espescially the fact that not being opensource doesn't mean that the Kronos will not be upgradable with new software functions...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danatkorg
Product Manager, Korg R&D


Joined: 21 Jan 2005
Posts: 4117
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 6:31 pm    Post subject: Re: plea: SDK for Kronos internal "apps" from thir Reply with quote

P5music wrote:
Dear Korg inc., Dear Kronos engineers,
Kronos is not shipped yet so I think some time can be used to refine the keyboard system, taking into account the last suggestions.


Thanks for your suggestions. The software is basically finished for version 1.0, but we'll keep them in mind for the future!

P5music wrote:
-make effects chainable (specs not clear about)


The insert effects can be chained together in any grouping that you like (up to all 12). Master effects can be chained or not as you wish. Total effects are always chained.

Best regards,

Dan
_________________
Dan Phillips
Manager of Product Development, Korg R&D
Personal website: www.danphillips.com
For technical support, please contact your Korg Distributor: http://www.korg.co.jp/English/Distributors/
Regretfully, I cannot offer technical support directly.
If you need to contact me for purposes other than technical support, please do not send PMs; instead, send email to dan@korgrd.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
McHale
Platinum Member


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 2438
Location: B.F.E. Illinois

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dan,

What are the odds for either a 73/76 key semi-weighted or at least a KOMPONENT version?

Thanks!
_________________
Current Korg Gear: KRONOS 88 (4GB), M50-73 (PS mod), RADIAS-73, Electribe MX, Triton Pro (MOSS, SCSI, CF, 64MB RAM), DVP-1, MEX-8000, MR-1, KAOSSilator, nanoKey, nanoKontrol, nanoPad 2, 3x DS1H, 7x PS1, FC7 (yes Korg, NOT Yamaha).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
danatkorg
Product Manager, Korg R&D


Joined: 21 Jan 2005
Posts: 4117
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

McHale wrote:
Dan,

What are the odds for either a 73/76 key semi-weighted or at least a KOMPONENT version?

Thanks!


I understand that some players prefer a larger semi-weighted keyboard. Unfortunately, these models often aren't particularly strong sellers. People also often ask for a smaller weighted keyboard as well, and we've gone in that direction with the 73.

We generally stick with three models (daddy-bear, mama-bear, and baby-bear Smile ). More models can become impractical for various reasons, and so while I'd never say never, I wouldn't expect additional models anytime soon. I wish that we could make the perfect keyboard for everyone, but I hope that one of the three choices will be close enough!

Best regards,

Dan
_________________
Dan Phillips
Manager of Product Development, Korg R&D
Personal website: www.danphillips.com
For technical support, please contact your Korg Distributor: http://www.korg.co.jp/English/Distributors/
Regretfully, I cannot offer technical support directly.
If you need to contact me for purposes other than technical support, please do not send PMs; instead, send email to dan@korgrd.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Rocness
Guest





PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dan do we still need to copy effects from program mode to combi mode ?

I bought M3 and Oasys so I'm a huge Fan of your work and Korg.

1 thing I notice in M3 was you did have to copy effects from program mode to combi mode but the M3 combi would remember what the last program was with settings , this helped the combi building flow alot better .

Thanks
Back to top
apex
Platinum Member


Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 2245

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

it's awesome that guys from the actual company come to this site and converse and answer questions.

that really is nice.
_________________
Please subscribe and follow me on Youtube and Facebook for information related audio technology.

https://www.youtube.com/juliusdeberryjr

https://www.facebook.com/majesticstudiosllc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
danatkorg
Product Manager, Korg R&D


Joined: 21 Jan 2005
Posts: 4117
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Mon Jan 17, 2011 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rocness wrote:
Dan do we still need to copy effects from program mode to combi mode ?


Yes, sorry, that's not changed.

- Dan
_________________
Dan Phillips
Manager of Product Development, Korg R&D
Personal website: www.danphillips.com
For technical support, please contact your Korg Distributor: http://www.korg.co.jp/English/Distributors/
Regretfully, I cannot offer technical support directly.
If you need to contact me for purposes other than technical support, please do not send PMs; instead, send email to dan@korgrd.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Rocness
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

danatkorg wrote:
Rocness wrote:
Dan do we still need to copy effects from program mode to combi mode ?


Yes, sorry, that's not changed.

- Dan

Thanks Dan I can't wait to midi my Oasys to my Kronos .
Dan
Would The Oasys have any special advantages being midi in to Kronos ?
Could I use Oasys pads to trigger Kronos ?

Thanks
Back to top
McHale
Platinum Member


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 2438
Location: B.F.E. Illinois

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Dan. Just got off the phone and the KRONOS 88 has been officially ordered.

-Mc
_________________
Current Korg Gear: KRONOS 88 (4GB), M50-73 (PS mod), RADIAS-73, Electribe MX, Triton Pro (MOSS, SCSI, CF, 64MB RAM), DVP-1, MEX-8000, MR-1, KAOSSilator, nanoKey, nanoKontrol, nanoPad 2, 3x DS1H, 7x PS1, FC7 (yes Korg, NOT Yamaha).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
apex
Platinum Member


Joined: 23 Feb 2010
Posts: 2245

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rocness wrote:
danatkorg wrote:
Rocness wrote:
Dan do we still need to copy effects from program mode to combi mode ?


Yes, sorry, that's not changed.

- Dan

Thanks Dan I can't wait to midi my Oasys to my Kronos .
Dan
Would The Oasys have any special advantages being midi in to Kronos ?
Could I use Oasys pads to trigger Kronos ?

Thanks


..... wow what a waste.....
_________________
Please subscribe and follow me on Youtube and Facebook for information related audio technology.

https://www.youtube.com/juliusdeberryjr

https://www.facebook.com/majesticstudiosllc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Rocness
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

apex wrote:
Rocness wrote:
danatkorg wrote:
Rocness wrote:
Dan do we still need to copy effects from program mode to combi mode ?


Yes, sorry, that's not changed.

- Dan

Thanks Dan I can't wait to midi my Oasys to my Kronos .
Dan
Would The Oasys have any special advantages being midi in to Kronos ?
Could I use Oasys pads to trigger Kronos ?

Thanks


..... wow what a waste.....


No I mean still triggering Oasys and Kronos at the same time to make 1 huge galactic voice .
Back to top
danatkorg
Product Manager, Korg R&D


Joined: 21 Jan 2005
Posts: 4117
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 2:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rocness wrote:

Would The Oasys have any special advantages being midi in to Kronos ?
Could I use Oasys pads to trigger Kronos ?

Thanks


Sure - the KRONOS pads respond to MIDI just like the OASYS pads. For that matter, you could use any MIDI pad device.
_________________
Dan Phillips
Manager of Product Development, Korg R&D
Personal website: www.danphillips.com
For technical support, please contact your Korg Distributor: http://www.korg.co.jp/English/Distributors/
Regretfully, I cannot offer technical support directly.
If you need to contact me for purposes other than technical support, please do not send PMs; instead, send email to dan@korgrd.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Rocness
Guest





PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

danatkorg wrote:
Rocness wrote:

Would The Oasys have any special advantages being midi in to Kronos ?
Could I use Oasys pads to trigger Kronos ?

Thanks


Sure - the KRONOS pads respond to MIDI just like the OASYS pads. For that matter, you could use any MIDI pad device.


Thanks Dan
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group