Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Master Volume....KNOB and not a SLIDER! Boo!...Hiss!...
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
NuSkoolTone
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 19 Mar 2007
Posts: 1069

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 3:18 pm    Post subject: Master Volume....KNOB and not a SLIDER! Boo!...Hiss!... Reply with quote

Just noticed this looking at pictures. There's all these nice looking sliders, but for the Master Volume they used this little KNOB! UGH!

I can see why they did it in the layout, but as a live player in a professional setting (Without a dedicated soundman) I need to make minute adjustments all night long. Every workstation I've had in the last 20+ years has had a slider for volume. It's what I'm used to.

It's not a deal breaker, but I can't see making those adjustments with that TINY knob! So I ask:

Could you describe the taper of the knob and it's resolution? Is it smooth and predictable?

Can I put a bigger knob on there? Is the current one removable?

I'm sure this seems silly to some, but I'm dead serious!
_________________
Korg: KRONOS 73, M50-61, 01W/r
Yamaha: Motif XS7, FS1R
Kawai K5000S, Roland JD-990 w/Vintage Synth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NuSkoolTone
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 19 Mar 2007
Posts: 1069

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Guess I'm the only one who cares about this?
_________________
Korg: KRONOS 73, M50-61, 01W/r
Yamaha: Motif XS7, FS1R
Kawai K5000S, Roland JD-990 w/Vintage Synth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Melodialworks Music
Platinum Member


Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Posts: 519
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 1:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've thought about it, and frankly it doesn't make much difference at least to me. In the studio I adjust master volume all the time using a knob (digital audio interface) and yes, on keyboards, master volume slider. However, I haven't really noticed any difference between the two.
_________________
Melodialworks Music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
McHale
Platinum Member


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 2438
Location: B.F.E. Illinois

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 2:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

a knob probably takes less real estate on the inside of the 61 (where it's tight).
_________________
Current Korg Gear: KRONOS 88 (4GB), M50-73 (PS mod), RADIAS-73, Electribe MX, Triton Pro (MOSS, SCSI, CF, 64MB RAM), DVP-1, MEX-8000, MR-1, KAOSSilator, nanoKey, nanoKontrol, nanoPad 2, 3x DS1H, 7x PS1, FC7 (yes Korg, NOT Yamaha).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EnjoyRC
Platinum Member


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 744
Location: John 3:16

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 3:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NuSkoolTone wrote:
Guess I'm the only one who cares about this?

Hmmm... now my main keyboard (Kronos) will match my Virus and all my other keyboards Confused My M3 is the only keyboard I currently have that has a slider. When I had my Karma, it had a slider. Knobs are fine.
_________________

Korg (Kronos 88, Electribe 2, minilogue), Moog (Sub-37, Slim Phatty), Behringer DeepMind 12, Roland (GAIA, A-800-Pro), CME Xkeys


Last edited by EnjoyRC on Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:36 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NuSkoolTone
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 19 Mar 2007
Posts: 1069

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like you guys are mainly studio bound. Any of you play live? That's the environment I'm speaking of that this affects.
_________________
Korg: KRONOS 73, M50-61, 01W/r
Yamaha: Motif XS7, FS1R
Kawai K5000S, Roland JD-990 w/Vintage Synth
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McHale
Platinum Member


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 2438
Location: B.F.E. Illinois

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I play live fairly regularly...
_________________
Current Korg Gear: KRONOS 88 (4GB), M50-73 (PS mod), RADIAS-73, Electribe MX, Triton Pro (MOSS, SCSI, CF, 64MB RAM), DVP-1, MEX-8000, MR-1, KAOSSilator, nanoKey, nanoKontrol, nanoPad 2, 3x DS1H, 7x PS1, FC7 (yes Korg, NOT Yamaha).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Slovenec
Full Member


Joined: 15 Jan 2011
Posts: 170

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To me, a knob or slider makes no difference for master volume.
_________________
MIDITEK MUSIC PRODUCTION RECORDING & TUITION- albums, demos, jingles. Recording, arranging & mixing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
McHale
Platinum Member


Joined: 10 Feb 2009
Posts: 2438
Location: B.F.E. Illinois

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

When not using a volume pedal, I will hold a chord with my left hand WHILE moving up the volume with the same hand. That will be VERY difficult with a tiny little knob. But that's the ONLY case it's an issue for me.
_________________
Current Korg Gear: KRONOS 88 (4GB), M50-73 (PS mod), RADIAS-73, Electribe MX, Triton Pro (MOSS, SCSI, CF, 64MB RAM), DVP-1, MEX-8000, MR-1, KAOSSilator, nanoKey, nanoKontrol, nanoPad 2, 3x DS1H, 7x PS1, FC7 (yes Korg, NOT Yamaha).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sani
Senior Member


Joined: 22 Jul 2002
Posts: 353
Location: Croatia

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 7:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NuSkoolTone wrote:
Sounds like you guys are mainly studio bound. Any of you play live? That's the environment I'm speaking of that this affects.


Playing live for almost 20 years here. Mostly on keyboards with a slider to control the volume. Now I'm using a Fantom G and don't see really a difference. For me, it's neither better nor worse.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EnjoyRC
Platinum Member


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 744
Location: John 3:16

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NuSkoolTone wrote:
Sounds like you guys are mainly studio bound. Any of you play live? That's the environment I'm speaking of that this affects.

I mostly play live, some studio.
_________________

Korg (Kronos 88, Electribe 2, minilogue), Moog (Sub-37, Slim Phatty), Behringer DeepMind 12, Roland (GAIA, A-800-Pro), CME Xkeys
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Melodialworks Music
Platinum Member


Joined: 23 Feb 2003
Posts: 519
Location: Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I still don't see the difference between slider or knob for live or studio.
_________________
Melodialworks Music
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
EnjoyRC
Platinum Member


Joined: 26 Aug 2008
Posts: 744
Location: John 3:16

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lougheed wrote:
I still don't see the difference between slider or knob for live or studio.
Agreed. To each their own personal preference though.
_________________

Korg (Kronos 88, Electribe 2, minilogue), Moog (Sub-37, Slim Phatty), Behringer DeepMind 12, Roland (GAIA, A-800-Pro), CME Xkeys
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillW
Platinum Member


Joined: 12 Jul 2005
Posts: 930
Location: Northern Virginia

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lougheed wrote:
I still don't see the difference between slider or knob for live or studio.


Me neither....
_________________
Korg Kronos 61 (2); Casio Privia PX-350m; Macbook Pro 15" I7/16GB w/Mainstage 3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jimknopf
Platinum Member


Joined: 17 Jan 2011
Posts: 3363

PostPosted: Mon Jan 24, 2011 12:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Master Volume knobs are pretty much standard for live keyboards (Access Virus, Fantom G, Moogs etc.)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group