Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Syncing microKorg arpeggiator with Pro Tools

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg MS2000 & microKorg
View previous topic :: View next topic  
desiretheend

PostPosted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 4:43 pm    Post subject: Syncing microKorg arpeggiator with Pro Tools Reply with quote

Hi,

I'm relatively new to midi but have been getting an "okay" handle on it the past few months.

I've started a music project with a friend of mine and we're in the process of getting our live show together. We use programmed drums that we run through Pro Tools and he plays a microKorg.

We've synced the microKorg to Pro Tools' midi beat clock and created midi triggers for all of our arpeggiated "riffs."

The problem is that each time we hit a midi trigger, the arpeggiator on the microKorg starts on a different note or beat. So the arpeggio sounds different every time we play the song. Sometimes it's great, like we intended in our recordings. Other times, it's nearly disastrous - even though it's in sync. The problem is that it's random.

On one of our more recent songs, it doesn't even seem to start on time about 60% of the time.

Through a few Google searches, I found a blog post that describes the problem fairly well. It seems that the microKorg does not receive midi information about bars and beats.

http://www.ofrecordings.com/2008/04/27/how-to-keep-the-microkorg-arpeggiator-in-sync/