Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Audio Inputs and Routing on the Kronos's VAs

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BasariStudios
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6507
Location: NYC, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 1:33 am    Post subject: Audio Inputs and Routing on the Kronos's VAs Reply with quote

As the Topic name says...
Is it possible to actually route the Out of one EXi to another but as a clean
Out? What i mean is...You can only input the Output lets say from AL-1 to
MOD-7 but if its rerouted thru the IFX or MFX...again what i mean is...
It would be nice if EXis could be routed separately to IFX buses instead of
both of them going thru the same by Default.

The scenario i would want is:

Turn on AL-1, route its out to IFX1, dont assign any FX.
Turn on MOD-7, route its input to IFX1 ... and you get AL-1 going directly
into MOD-7...now of course, routing MOD-7s input from IFX 1 is possible
but at the same time MOD-7 goes to IFX1 creating a loop/feedback.
I was thinking of using purely one EXis out to another EXis input.

Unless i am missing something???...

Thanks
_________________
http://www.basaristudios.com
Cubase 8.5 Pro. Windows 7 X64. ASUS SaberTooth X99. Intel I7 5820K. ASUS GTX 960 Strix OC 2GB. 4x8 GB G.SKILL.
2 850 PRO 256GB SSDs. 1 850 EVO 1TB SSD. Acustica: Nebula Server 3 Ultimate, Murano, Magenta 3, Navy, Titanium.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jeremykeys
Platinum Member


Joined: 19 Jun 2011
Posts: 3013
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 1:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'd like to know this as well!
_________________
If music is the food of love, play on and play loud!
Gear: Kronos 73, Triton Pro-X, Wavestation EX, Polysix, King Korg, Monotron and Monotron Duo, Minikorg, 1 Roland U-20, Hammond M3, 4 accoustic and 6 electric guitars, 1 Ibanez 5 string bass, a bunch of microphones and other very cool toys, 1 wife and 2 cats!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BasariStudios
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6507
Location: NYC, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I guess noone.
_________________
http://www.basaristudios.com
Cubase 8.5 Pro. Windows 7 X64. ASUS SaberTooth X99. Intel I7 5820K. ASUS GTX 960 Strix OC 2GB. 4x8 GB G.SKILL.
2 850 PRO 256GB SSDs. 1 850 EVO 1TB SSD. Acustica: Nebula Server 3 Ultimate, Murano, Magenta 3, Navy, Titanium.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
danatkorg
Product Manager, Korg R&D


Joined: 21 Jan 2005
Posts: 4115
Location: California, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can do this easily in a Combi. For example:
* AL-1 on Timbre 1, routed to any non-sounding bus (e.g. Rec 1/2)
* MOD-7 on Timbre 2, set EXi Input (Combi P:2-6) to match the bus of Timbre 1
- Dan
_________________
Dan Phillips
Manager of Product Development, Korg R&D
Personal website: www.danphillips.com
For technical support, please contact your Korg Distributor: http://www.korg.co.jp/English/Distributors/
Regretfully, I cannot offer technical support directly.
If you need to contact me for purposes other than technical support, please do not send PMs; instead, send email to dan@korgrd.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
BasariStudios
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6507
Location: NYC, USA

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2012 11:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Dan,
i wish this could be done in Program Mode but i knew there was a workaround.

Thanks again.
_________________
http://www.basaristudios.com
Cubase 8.5 Pro. Windows 7 X64. ASUS SaberTooth X99. Intel I7 5820K. ASUS GTX 960 Strix OC 2GB. 4x8 GB G.SKILL.
2 850 PRO 256GB SSDs. 1 850 EVO 1TB SSD. Acustica: Nebula Server 3 Ultimate, Murano, Magenta 3, Navy, Titanium.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
BasariStudios
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6507
Location: NYC, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually thats a no go...i just remembered, i would input the Audio into the
other EXi but from there you are not able to do anything anyways.
I was thinking more of having full access of the EXis Edit.
_________________
http://www.basaristudios.com
Cubase 8.5 Pro. Windows 7 X64. ASUS SaberTooth X99. Intel I7 5820K. ASUS GTX 960 Strix OC 2GB. 4x8 GB G.SKILL.
2 850 PRO 256GB SSDs. 1 850 EVO 1TB SSD. Acustica: Nebula Server 3 Ultimate, Murano, Magenta 3, Navy, Titanium.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
QuiRobinez
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 2218
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 11:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can't do this through the ifx system, but it is possible to do through the mfx system. It's explained in the other thread about routing one exi through another.
_________________
Qui Robinez Sound Design: Click here for Sound sets and Tutorials for the Korg Kronos and Korg Pa4x
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BasariStudios
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6507
Location: NYC, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 4:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I dont see that possible the way i wanted but will try, the problem is that
both EXIs cannot be separately routed. You route them thru MFX and you
end up getting the same results, Processed EXi out to an EXi input.
_________________
http://www.basaristudios.com
Cubase 8.5 Pro. Windows 7 X64. ASUS SaberTooth X99. Intel I7 5820K. ASUS GTX 960 Strix OC 2GB. 4x8 GB G.SKILL.
2 850 PRO 256GB SSDs. 1 850 EVO 1TB SSD. Acustica: Nebula Server 3 Ultimate, Murano, Magenta 3, Navy, Titanium.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
QuiRobinez
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 25 Aug 2007
Posts: 2218
Location: Netherlands

PostPosted: Sun Jun 03, 2012 5:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BasariStudios wrote:
I dont see that possible the way i wanted but will try, the problem is that
both EXIs cannot be separately routed. You route them thru MFX and you
end up getting the same results, Processed EXi out to an EXi input.


not really with the limiter trick you can sent the signal 1 on 1 through

so do this:
send EXi1 to MFX1, set MFX1 to Stereo Limiter with 1:1 ratio and gain adjust 0. And set MFX1 return to 0 in the Routing tab. Then in EXi Audio Input tab, set EXi2 input source to MFX1.

that's all


You can do some need tricks with that, for instance routing the drumtrack through the MS20 filters, or route a PCM Bell sample used in Mod-7 through the Comb filter of the STR-1. Very experimental sounds you can get this way.

It's not that hard to achieve when you know the trick, although it's hard to learn. But with the MFX trick you could easely route the MFX1 to the AUDIO input of the EXI of choice and that's basicly it..

some connection tips:
For the MS20 you can route the connection on the patch panel, just connect the audio in (bottom area of the panel) to an input port of the panel like the signal in, and route that signal out to the LPF input.

For the Mod7 you can just connect the ouput from the audio in connector to one of the inputs (with the name out) on the right site of of your patch panel.

For the STR1 go to the String - Pickup / feedback tab en raise the feedback level to hear the audio in signal through the STR1.

Actually, when you are into ambient sounds, in my opinion the STR-1 give the most possibilities to create interesting modifications on your audio input signal.
_________________
Qui Robinez Sound Design: Click here for Sound sets and Tutorials for the Korg Kronos and Korg Pa4x
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
MarPabl
Platinum Member


Joined: 24 Sep 2011
Posts: 938
Location: MX

PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2012 10:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

More information on this thread: Route EXi1 to EXi2 audio input
_________________
Current gear: Arrow Access Virus TI2 Whiteout Keyboard (111/150), Access Virus TI2 Polar DarkStar Special Edition, Gibson Custom Lite 2013, Roland MV-8800 Dancing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BasariStudios
Approved Merchant
Approved Merchant


Joined: 29 May 2005
Posts: 6507
Location: NYC, USA

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2012 1:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks guys, i kinda knew of that option but its still a no go i think,
that way you lose the whole chain of IFX.
_________________
http://www.basaristudios.com
Cubase 8.5 Pro. Windows 7 X64. ASUS SaberTooth X99. Intel I7 5820K. ASUS GTX 960 Strix OC 2GB. 4x8 GB G.SKILL.
2 850 PRO 256GB SSDs. 1 850 EVO 1TB SSD. Acustica: Nebula Server 3 Ultimate, Murano, Magenta 3, Navy, Titanium.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Kronos All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group