Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Drum Kits from New Samples - creating and editing

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Pa900/Pa3X Le
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BAZOQA



Joined: 08 Oct 2013
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 2:37 pm    Post subject: Drum Kits from New Samples - creating and editing Reply with quote

I am searching for an Arranger that's capable of loading/creating drum Kits from sampled sounds, I need to load my own percussion samples and create my own drum/percussion Kit, is this possible on the Korg Pa900?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Happy Jack
Full Member


Joined: 18 Apr 2012
Posts: 100
Location: Staffordshire, UK

PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 3:17 pm    Post subject: Re: Drum Kits from New Samples - creating and editing Reply with quote

BAZOQA wrote:
I am searching for an Arranger that's capable of loading/creating drum Kits from sampled sounds, I need to load my own percussion samples and create my own drum/percussion Kit, is this possible on the Korg Pa900?


Hi there,

This might help, copied from the Korg PA900 PDF user manual:

(quoted): "Sampling Mode (PA 900 User manual page 231):

The Sampling mode allows you to create new Samples, new Multisamples
and new synced Audio Grooves. You can load Samples,
Multisamples, Sounds and banks of Sounds from various
formats.
Pa900 can read common file formats, like WAV, AIFF and SF2
files, and load data from Korg Trinity and Triton files.
To be used, Samples must be assigned to a Multisample or a
Drum Kit. A Multisample allows you to arrange samples into
separate zones of the keyboard. Drum Kits allows you to assign a
different sample to each note of the keyboard, with up to six
dynamic layers per note.
Multisamples can then be assigned to Sounds. Sounds created
with this function can be used as any ordinary Sound, and
assigned to any track.
Another powerful feature of the Sampling mode is the Time
Slice, that lets you add realism to MIDI tracks by creating Audio
Grooves."
"page 232:
Creating new Drum Kits from the Samples
...Here is how to create a new Drum Kits from new Samples.
1. Create new Samples with the procedures described in the
following pages.
2. Select the Write command from the page menu to save the
Sample in edit. The Write Sample dialog box will appear
(see “Write Sample dialog box” on page 243). Assign a
name to the new Sample, and confirm saving.
3. After saving, you can load other files to create additional
Samples...." (end of quoted passage).

I'm still wearing L Plates on my PA900 so haven't ventured as far as using the Sampling Mode. But hope to make happy inroads before the first snowfall. Smile

Someone correct me if I err, but I don't think you can actually make new samples direct from the microphone input on the PA900.

happy regards
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillyHank
Senior Member


Joined: 29 Jun 2013
Posts: 412

PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 3:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, of course you can make your own drum kits from your own samples.
And - any other sound you wish as well.

You can download the manuals for free here:
http://korg.com/SupportPage.aspx?productid=680

Bill G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
BillyHank
Senior Member


Joined: 29 Jun 2013
Posts: 412

PostPosted: Tue Oct 08, 2013 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Although the Pa900 can edit samples, I don't believe you can make samples on the keyboard because it only records audio in MP3 format as far as I know.

It is easy to import samples and very complete editing including time slice is possible on the keyboard.

Bill G
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
moebrand
Full Member


Joined: 27 Jan 2010
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Happy Jack,
Is that mean you can load and use sound fonts " SF2 " files on Pa900 ?
_________________
Moebrand
Korg PA800, Presonus Firestudio Mobile Firewire Audio Interface,
Apple iMac 480GB SSD , 12GB DDR3 Ram,
logic Pro X , Studio One 3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BillyHank
Senior Member


Joined: 29 Jun 2013
Posts: 412

PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2014 5:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

moebrand,

Yes you can load and use sound Font SF2 files on the Pa900.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
moebrand
Full Member


Joined: 27 Jan 2010
Posts: 239

PostPosted: Mon Sep 15, 2014 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Billy again !👍
_________________
Moebrand
Korg PA800, Presonus Firestudio Mobile Firewire Audio Interface,
Apple iMac 480GB SSD , 12GB DDR3 Ram,
logic Pro X , Studio One 3.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JimmyJ007



Joined: 26 Dec 2015
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 12:50 am    Post subject: Loading SF2 files Reply with quote

In the earlier part of this post it was stated (as is the manual):

"Pa900 can read common file formats, like WAV, AIFF and SF2
files, and load data from Korg Trinity and Triton files. ...."

I have tried multiple times to load SF2 files into my one-week-old Korg PA900, I continue to be unsuccessful. I tried loading saving the files by themselves and/or in folders but I get the same result: these files are not seen. I have read the section of the manual on doing this several times and have done a few searches but to no avail. My keyboard is not seeing the SF2 files on my USB drive. FYI: I did format the USB drive on the Korg. I also have a number of folders with Korg Styles and Sounds that I downloaded (from Korg and Dopamine Set)....... those are seen without a hitch. And I have downloaded those successfully onto the PA900.

What am I doing wrong? What else can I try?

Thanks to all for any assistance you can offer.

Regards,

Jimmy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
siebenhirter
Platinum Member


Joined: 13 Oct 2011
Posts: 744

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2016 11:13 pm    Post subject: Pa900 - import sf2-instrument / sf2-preset Reply with quote

moebrand wrote:
Is that mean you can load and use sound fonts SF2-files on Pa900 ?


It is easy to say "Yes, you can" - but it's only half the story, as structure of sf2-Format and Korgs Multisample-format are different - you can use them, but you can not "load" them - without restrictions simple sf2-files are possible to be "imported".

It is preferred to download and read "TheArtOfSoundfont.pdf" of Creative Technology Ltd to understand structure of sf2-format, because Korg manuals indicates, why some sf2-Instruments could not be imported due to the deep differences with format sf2 vs Korg.

There is no simple process to load sf2, but it is possible to "import" sf2-format (including contained samples). You can choose between "program" and "bank", but that does not mean you can import a sf2-bank. Thats because "program" corresponds to a program-number of Pa-series - referred to as "sf2-preset" from creative, whereas "bank" corresponds to Multisample of Pa-Series, referred to as "sf2-instrument" from creative.

You can not use overlapping zones for Korg and there are unlimited sf2-layers of keyboard-ranges and velocity-ranges, whereas each oscillator of the Pa900 can include a maximum of two multisamples (assigned to high or low Layer). So maximum of multisamples of one program of Pa-900 is limited to 32 multisamples.
*
It should be considered how to import multilayered or overlapping sf2-instruments - simple to do it is only with simple/single sf2-instruments or sf2-presets.
_________________
kind regards
- siebenhirter, austria -
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JimmyJ007



Joined: 26 Dec 2015
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2016 2:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks sieberhinter.

I was missing one little step. I have it figured out now. Human error. Glad it isn't my Korg. Lol.

Regards,

Jimmy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doffi



Joined: 05 Aug 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:13 am    Post subject: My PA 900 can't read wav file Reply with quote

Hi Happy Jack
I have a wave file created by audacity
Sample data as follow
Rate 44100
Length 25737
Root C4

Following method used for file load

Sound
Record
USB
load file
and found the file can't read

Any wrong with my file or my method ?
Need your advise

Thank you,
Doffi
[/list]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
doffi



Joined: 05 Aug 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 3:14 am    Post subject: My PA 900 can't read wav file Reply with quote

Hi Happy Jack
I have a wave file created by audacity
Sample data as follow
Rate 44100
Length 25737
Root C4

Following method used for file load

Sound
Record
USB
load file
and found the file can't read

Any wrong with my file or my method ?
Need your advise

Thank you,
Doffi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
siebenhirter
Platinum Member


Joined: 13 Oct 2011
Posts: 744

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2017 8:14 pm    Post subject: PA 900 can load .WAV in sampling mode Reply with quote

doffi wrote:
.. have a wave file created by audacity ...
.. method used for file load .. Sound .. Record .. USB .. load file


I do not understand at all which method you use to load a sample, as there is no sound record mode in Pa900.
In addition if in Media Mode you only can load datatypes described in the Media Structure (Page 279), due to the pre-configured type of data inside the instrument’s memory.
Also Pa900 can manage datatype of samples ( .WAV, .AIF, .KSF), but only can be loaded in Sampling mode.

So if your file name have the “.WAV” extension, you can load this in a 8 or 16-bit resolution and a sampling frequency rate from 11,025 to 48,000Hz.
To load your .WAV in Sample-Mode use command "Load Sample" in Page menu of Pa900 - you will get your .WAV loaded as sample that preserve its original resolution in memory of Pa900.
_________________
kind regards
- siebenhirter, austria -
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
doffi



Joined: 05 Aug 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 1:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Siebenhirter,
Thank you for your reply
I found my mistake, the sample exported to wav with 32 bit resolution whether pa900 only read 8 - 16 bit

Regards,
Doffi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
doffi



Joined: 05 Aug 2017
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Oct 02, 2017 1:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Siebenhirter,
Thank you for your reply
I found my mistake, the sample exported to wav with 32 bit resolution whether pa900 only read 8 - 16 bit

Regards,
Doffi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Pa900/Pa3X Le All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group