Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Half of keybed defective - Korg i5S

View previous topic :: View next topic  
iCracky

PostPosted: Sat Nov 30, 2013 6:05 pm    Post subject: Half of keybed defective - Korg i5S Reply with quote

Hi there,

I just bought my first velocity sensitive keyboard online for 120 euros, which seemed like a reasonable price to me as I have no knowledge on keyboards whatsoever. It was delivered within a day, only for me to find out that half of the keys on my new Korg i5S, are defective.

It's the 29 notes on the right which are not responding no matter what settings I try, so I'm quite convinced it's a hardware problem, maybe a simple cable that got disconnected during transport?

I believe I found the source of my problem in the first minute of the video in the link below, where a guys shows there's a 'cable' for each half of the notes and how those cables are easily reconnected.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3nXtmoErQk4

I tried to screw the top of the i5S but it won't come off that easy and I am scared to apply any real force. Any tips on this? Should I do this myself as it seems like an easy repair? How much would it cost to have this repaired by a professional?

Any help on this would be very much appreciated

Apologies for any broken english, me from holland

Last edited by iCracky on Mon Dec 02, 2013 1:06 am; edited 7 times in total
karmathanever
Platinum Member

PostPosted: Sun Dec 01, 2013 12:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi and welcome to Korg Forums

I used to own the i3 and i30 but am not familiar with the i5S although they were similar keyboards.