Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Pa600

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Pa600/Pa300
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
tony mads usa
Full Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2013
Posts: 245
Location: rhode island usa

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 2:46 am    Post subject: Pa600 Reply with quote

Hi ... I am a KORG newbie ... after 22 years of technics KBs, I have now purchased a KORG Pa600 as a second board ...
The first big problem that I have noticed is in trying to set up a 'Custom List' and after working with the various style and voices (sounds), after a while the board just 'locks up' ... for example, I am listening to and selecting different voices and I finally decide on a trumpet voice ... when I press 'EXIT' the screen does not change ... it stays on the same 'trumpet' voice page I was on ... the only way to 'reset' the board is to turn it off and back on ... this would be a disaster if this occurred during live play ... has anyone experienced this problem?

Some of my initial thoughts and observations:
I am having a bit of a time getting used to the OS,
The OOTB voices sound very 'thin',
I am somewhat surprised at the amount of eq'ing necessary to make the voices sound full,
Overall, the KB does not have a great deal of volume to it.

I am pretty sure it is because I am 'missing' something when setting up a style for a particular song, but sometimes after making changes and 'Writing' them, the changes I made do not appear ...

I would appreciate any assistance and feedback...
thank you,
t.
Cool
_________________
t. : )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Saswick
Full Member


Joined: 17 Nov 2008
Posts: 143
Location: Lancashire UK

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 2:44 pm    Post subject: PA600 Problems Reply with quote

Hi Tony

Custom List

1 Drop the menu from top right corner and enable list edit.

2 Select list edit tab (bottom of screen)

3 Select new list

4 Select main Book tab

5 Highlight song from list

6 Press add to list

7 Go back to list edit tab and press write, Edit name for list and press OK.

8 Select custom list tab new list will be shown.

You need to add a song to list then write to save list for it to work.

I have tried to make my Pa600 lock up but no problems at all.
Perhaps you could list your actions in detail and I will try to re-produce the lock up.

When you say the voices sound thin have you tried the Global EQ settings.

Global - > Audio & EQ -> Master EQ

I've set the PA 600 favorite setting to suit me but I usually play the keyboard through my PA system so everything sounds fine to me. I also have the KMA and the PA sounded thin against the KMA at first. The KMA seems to have a lot more bass but changing the Global EQ on the Pa600 fixed that.

For any changes to be saved you need to unlock the factory style and pad protect.

1 Select Global

2 Select Mode preferences

3 Select Media (Tab)

4 Unlock style/pad protect.

Hope this helps, you can PM me here or on SZ if you need any more help
as you probably know I have been using Korg for a long time and an fairly familiar with the OS.


Kind Regards

Col
_________________
Pa1000
Pa900
Pa600
Previously MicroArranger
Previously Pa2x
Previously PA800
Previously Yamaha S900
Previously i30
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tony mads usa
Full Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2013
Posts: 245
Location: rhode island usa

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Col ... thank you ... I sent you a PM ... I have been in contact with KORG customer service especially about the lock up problem and they have told me I should take the board to a technician!!! ... two weeks into this thing and a technician already! ... Sad

t.
_________________
t. : )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
tony mads usa
Full Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2013
Posts: 245
Location: rhode island usa

PostPosted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Col ...I am using the BeBop style, tempo + 150, I am playing the 'Jazz Organ' sound, and I have ensemble set to 'BLOCK' ... I have both the Master volume and the 'Balance' just just past 12 o'clock ... the speakers rattle and buzz like crazy ... Am I asking too much of the speakers? ... can you try this on your PA 600?
thank you,
t. Cool
_________________
t. : )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Saswick
Full Member


Joined: 17 Nov 2008
Posts: 143
Location: Lancashire UK

PostPosted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 8:35 am    Post subject: Rattles etc Reply with quote

Hi Tony

I have tried mine, same settings no problem also at full volume no rattles, I think you may have got a poor one. I 'll do som more testing today and let you know. I alway use my PA even at home with the keyboard speakers as monitors.

I use the Voicelive touch and in order to get the balance right, the VH into the keyboard no mixer, I have to set the drums acc and bass down to 35 instead of 127. Either the VH is low on output or the line in on the keyboard is under powered.

The line input on this model is controlled by the master volume which is OK but has created the above problem, ah well nothing is perfect.

Col
_________________
Pa1000
Pa900
Pa600
Previously MicroArranger
Previously Pa2x
Previously PA800
Previously Yamaha S900
Previously i30
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tony mads usa
Full Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2013
Posts: 245
Location: rhode island usa

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 1:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there a 'special' kind of USB cable needed to connect to a PC from the 'DEVICE' connection in the back of the Pa600???
_________________
t. : )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Giner
Platinum Member


Joined: 02 May 2003
Posts: 1217
Location: Alberta

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 4:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure that there's a 'special' cable, but I believe the mantra is to keep USB cables as short as possible. Hope that helps.
_________________
When I nod my head . . . Hit it!
Pa3x-61, Pa1xPro, i30, Micromoog (1975)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
tony mads usa
Full Member


Joined: 23 Jan 2013
Posts: 245
Location: rhode island usa

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What I've learned is that it requires a USB 'B' type connector:
http://www.diytrade.com/china/pd/4885672/USB_2_0_Cable_With_One_A_Type_Connection_And_One_B_Type.html

I should have realized this when I first looked at it ... Embarassed
Very Happy
_________________
t. : )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Pa600/Pa300 All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group