Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Has anyone in here tried this w/ their Triton ??

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Triton Classic
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ErnstDabest
Senior Member


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 266

PostPosted: Thu Jul 09, 2015 8:25 pm    Post subject: Has anyone in here tried this w/ their Triton ?? Reply with quote

Load Korg Triton Studio Operating System Version 2.02 into Triton Classic. Cool

Can this be done, YES.. or whynot ??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ErnstDabest
Senior Member


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 266

PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2015 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Personally, I think this should be doable..

Triton Classic loaded with Triton Extreme OS Ver 1.06 under the hood ?? Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ErnstDabest
Senior Member


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 266

PostPosted: Sun Jul 19, 2015 7:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote





Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Falcon2e
Senior Member


Joined: 19 Feb 2008
Posts: 470
Location: Indiana USA

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 12:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK...As I read this post, my question is, WHY? What could we gain by using OS other than 2.5.3 ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ErnstDabest
Senior Member


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 266

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2015 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Falcon2e wrote:
OK...As I read this post, my question is, WHY? What could we gain by using OS other than 2.5.3 ?


Are you kidding ???.. For one In-track sampling !!!

Just plug-in a guitar or bass guitar (or whatever instrument) and play-along, then save
what you play/recorded as a “sample”.. All of this is done without ever leaving [sequencer mode].

Main advantage there is what you played will always sync perfectly with the tempo.

You would need two Triton Classics to do this Evil or Very MadEvil or Very MadEvil or Very Mad One for recording or “sampling” [sampling mode]
and the other to hear the song/backing-tracks in [sequencer mode].

I know what im asking is doable !!!... ????..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ErnstDabest
Senior Member


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 266

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 5:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ErnstDabest wrote:
Falcon2e wrote:
OK...As I read this post, my question is, WHY? What could we gain by using OS other than 2.5.3 ?


Are you kidding ???.. For one In-track sampling !!!

Just plug-in a guitar or bass guitar (or whatever instrument) and play-along, then save
what you play/recorded as a “sample”.. All of this is done without ever leaving [sequencer mode].

Main advantage there is what you played will always sync perfectly with the tempo.

You would need two Triton Classics to do this Evil or Very MadEvil or Very MadEvil or Very Mad One for recording or “sampling” [sampling mode]
and the other to hear the song/backing-tracks in [sequencer mode].

I know what im asking is doable !!!... ????..



Yes, it is doable !!! it's just a software upgrade ... whynot ???







Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ErnstDabest
Senior Member


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 266

PostPosted: Tue Aug 11, 2015 12:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ErnstDabest wrote:



Yes, it is doable !!! it's just a software upgrade ... whynot ???


You are absolutely, right !

Thgis guy is doing exactly that here in this video starting @ the 4m30s https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uoXKJRCXBk4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ErnstDabest
Senior Member


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 266

PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2015 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote













Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ErnstDabest
Senior Member


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 266

PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2015 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here he is again ladies & gents.. Doing his thing @ the 3m20s mark

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tYUtZ-mJmhc

Mind you Triton Studio can already do this and-so could Triton Extreme !!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ErnstDabest
Senior Member


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 266

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2015 8:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

NormC wrote:
ErnstDabest wrote:

The topic is being discussed here in this thread ---> http://www.korgforums.com/forum/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=651524#651524


LOL, there is no discussion there. Just lots of silly memes and photos.


Correction. There’s also YT videos !! Very Happy
I put up some videos illustrating what insampling is for those who rarely sample or just don’t know what the sampling feature does,
Personally I find [sampling] a very useful tool should you not have a vocalist present you could record a scratch vocal as a platform
from which you can built more musical ideas.

Currently, to do this I need to have two Triton Classics Evil or Very Mad Evil or Very Mad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ErnstDabest
Senior Member


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 266

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2015 9:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

SanderXpander wrote:


The fact that the Tritons are "compatible with each other" just means that they can read each others sounds. Mostly.


It doesn’t end with just sounds..
They share all data files ie: songfiles (seq.), multi-sample files, program files, etc..
I’ll even add SYSTEM files as well, if you plug two Tritons together via MIDI you can then remotely controlled the other
tell it to switch modes from Combis to Global to Seq to Disk -- watch it jump from one screen to the next without
having had to pre-program these changes.

This indicates that the Tritons are 100% compatible


Quote:
You can't simply transfer an OS to different hardware like that.


Ok. How would you go about doing it, then?

Quote:
What do you think would happen if you swapped the mobo in the Kronos for a different architecture?


You would lose/void your warranty. lol
But. can it be done? someone with the know-how could swap the motherboard people do it all the time
like many onhere installing solid state drives in their Kronos. (that's just one example)

Quote:
Regardless of my own assumptions, I'm going to take Dans opinion on this, seeing as he's a lot closer to the fire, so to speak.


Perhaps that's why he's holding back a bit.. Dan is too close to the fire. lol

**************** Ofcourse, this is doable !!! ****************


Last edited by ErnstDabest on Thu Oct 15, 2015 9:44 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ErnstDabest
Senior Member


Joined: 18 May 2014
Posts: 266

PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2015 9:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

danatkorg wrote:
As SanderXpander notes, the compatibility of the sounds does not mean that the software is the same.
Each model of Triton has its own version of the OS.
Software is not structured as you imply above. There are not separate "programs" which can be "loaded" for features such as in-track sampling.


See, my reply above to SanderX..
True. there had to have been additional developments made to incorporate a Compact Flash memory card option or in the case
of the Triton Studio an internal HD & CDrom drive option, etc, etc.. However the core operating system remained basically the same on all the Tritons


Quote:

What you are asking for is to transplant features from one long-discontinued codebase to a second long-discontinued codebase.


In a nutshell,

Quote:

Both features involve multiple parts of the system, so it's not like you could just copy and paste a single chunk of code.
This would be a non-trivial development exercise.


Trivial, yes.. if Korg does it I undestand there is little for them to benefit finacially

Quote:
More to the point: it's simply not going to happen. The Triton "Classic" was introduced 16 years ago, and replaced by the Triton Extreme 11 years ago; it's been discontinued for a long, long time. No more software updates should be expected.


What if a 3rd party were to take on the task. then would that be OK with Korg ?

Quote:

If you want these features, my advice is to buy an instrument which has them.


You mean, like a 2nd Triton Classic?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SanderXpander
Platinum Member


Joined: 29 Jul 2011
Posts: 7860

PostPosted: Sat Oct 24, 2015 9:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't know why you are quoting me in an entirely different part of the forum. But, to put it politely, you really do not have enough general knowledge of how computers work to make this judgment. So for me this discussion is over, I'm not going to pick apart your replies anymore. If you're still not convinced, good luck proving me wrong. I'd love you to, actually.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Triton Classic All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group