Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Issue: MIDI sync takes a good bar to settle down

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Prologue
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
rgarner
Junior Member


Joined: 30 May 2018
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 8:53 am    Post subject: Issue: MIDI sync takes a good bar to settle down Reply with quote

I'm using my Prologue 8-voice with Logic Pro X. I've set up the Prologue on MIDI channels 2 and 3 for main and sub respectively, and I've connected it to a Macbook via USB.

With an arpeggiated patch, I need to record a looping bar, so I set Logic's cycle to the bar I want, and hit record.

I hear the count-in click, Logic's red recording bar approaches my section, and then...

... the arpeggiator spits out half a bar at its own tempo, then "USB Clock" appears on the OLED and it wobbles a bit before finding its tempo.

This means I have to record two bars every time I want one (the first gets thrown away), and it's slowing my workflow down greatly. This doesn't happen with the Sub 37.

The Prologue has this behaviour in common with the Minilogue. I bought the Prologue thinking that a flagship wouldn't have this issue Embarassed

Has anyone got the Prologue's arp syncing properly with any DAW at all?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Grokaknock



Joined: 26 Apr 2018
Posts: 47

PostPosted: Wed May 30, 2018 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get the same thing here. I have always been partial to having a blank bar or two before the seq/arp is triggered. Then I just snip off the blank bar after recording to audio. TBH several of my synths do this. The Integra 7 is the worst. Not a problem for me as long as they stay in sync once it is established.

I have a related issue/question though. Maybe I'll start another thread for that.
_________________
HW: Model D (Original) <> Prologue 16 <> OB-6 <> Prophet REV 2 <> Minitaur <> Sub37 <> Slim Phatty <> Integra 7 <> SE-02 <> Korg Triton Le <> Korg synths I have owned: Poly 800 - Poly 800 MKII - M1 - Z1 (miss this one)

SW: Nuendo and too many soft synths to mention.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Blond



Joined: 11 Jun 2019
Posts: 6
Location: Sweden

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2019 1:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same issue with my 16. I also cant get it to stop drifting when it barely caught up. Do you have that issue as well? Ive tried over midi, usb and via a volca. I also tried cubase and ableton. Same problem occurs. Never had this trouble befor and I got a lot of Synths. A shame since it got nice features and I really like writing with the arp being in latch..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fes357



Joined: 27 Apr 2015
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed Jun 19, 2019 6:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you tried the LOCAL SW in OFF? Just to check there is no MIDI echo at all.
_________________
KronosX73, JD800, DX7, ARP2600, Prologue 16 Nanopad2, Minilogue, Cubase 8.5, Roland TR08, Model D, Ableton 10, Arturia V Collection 6
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rgarner
Junior Member


Joined: 30 May 2018
Posts: 75

PostPosted: Wed Jul 17, 2019 9:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Local's permanently off Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyehatered



Joined: 15 Nov 2020
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2020 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

any solution yet to rhis very annoying problem in the 2020 for a so called analog flagship!!?? Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RobustAmerican



Joined: 18 Dec 2018
Posts: 46
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 1:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

eyehatered wrote:
any solution yet to rhis very annoying problem in the 2020 for a so called analog flagship!!?? Confused


Pretty much every synth I own needs a bar or 2 to establish proper sync with the incoming midi clock. This is not unique to the Prologue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyehatered



Joined: 15 Nov 2020
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 11:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well my other synths haven‘t this huge delay of syncing in ... amd one is a triton from 2000
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eyehatered



Joined: 15 Nov 2020
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

btw i like your patches very much !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RobustAmerican



Joined: 18 Dec 2018
Posts: 46
Location: USA

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 11:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eyehatered wrote:
well my other synths haven‘t this huge delay of syncing in ... amd one is a triton from 2000


eyehatered wrote:
btw i like your patches very much !



Yea, some synths are better with midi sync than others. As long as they stay in sync once it is established I'm happy. A bar or two of pre-roll has become the norm for me.

Thanks for the kind words eyehatered!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg Prologue All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group