Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Seriously, Kronos build quality?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Toumal

PostPosted: Tue Jul 17, 2012 6:07 pm    Post subject: Seriously, Kronos build quality? Reply with quote

Before I get into this, let me get out of the way that I'm an electronics engineer, I've seen my share of botched jobs. I have a Virus TI kb, a Fantom G6, various small bits and pieces like the Korg Kaossilator Pro (love that thing!) and I just got my Kronos - and I'm happy as a clam.

Or maybe not entirely.

You see, my brand new Kronos was DOA. "System Startup Failed".

Encouraged by certain comments in this forum ("My Kronos had its DIMMs fall out during transport" etc.), and because I doubt Korg will reimburse me for a couple hours driving that thing back to the shop and waiting for a week for a new one, I took matters into my own hand.

What I found inside was a SATA cable with two straight connectors. You see, Korg used two straight connectors where only a angled one would fit. The cable was mashed against the outer casing and would bend the SATA connector or, as happened in my case, break off the retaining clip, and half of the connector with it.

This is not transport damage. The guy installing this broke the SATA cable with sheer force.

So after installing a proper cable with a 90-degree connector, which fits without any mechanical strain on any component whatsoever, the Kronos boots and seems to work fine.