Deejay zero 8 with Abelton

Discussion relating to the Korg D-series digital recoders, MR-1/MR-1000 mobile recorders and Zero4/8 mixers

Moderators: Sharp, X-Trade, Pepperpotty, karmathanever

Post Reply
Jarred Cassidy
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:35 pm

Deejay zero 8 with Abelton

Post by Jarred Cassidy »

Can anyone explain to me how to -

Send two channels from Abelton to the zero 8

So i can use the eq on the channels on the zero 8 and then send both channels back for recording

Thanks a bunch an
djcl.ear
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:49 am

Post by djcl.ear »

The answer is on the excellent 1.6 update firmware description.

I paste it below in its entirety, since there are other things you may like to look at, apart from the SEND SETUP menu:

Details of each Feature
1. Better Integration with NATIVE INSTRUMENTS TRAKTOR SCRATCH.
The system supports TRAKTOR Scratch by NATIVE INSTRUMENTS.
Connect a CD player equipped with a turntable or scratch function to the ZERO8.
Then, you can use TRAKTOR Scratch for scratching the audio files stored in your
computer.
* TRAKTOR Scratch is an optional component.
2. An INPUT TRIM function has been added.
An Input Trim screen has been added in the System menu. This allows you to adjust
the Pre-Gain value of all Analog inputs independently for better gain adjustment
to match each input source when a lower level device which tends to cause
noises is connected.
1 2 3
1: LINE ................................................. 0dB, +3dB, +6dB, +9dB, +12dB
Adjusts the input level of the device connected to the LINE terminal of each channel.
2: CD/LINE......................................... 0dB, +3dB, +6dB, +9dB, +12dB
Adjusts the input level of the device connected to the CD/LINE terminal of each
channel.
3: OTHER ............................................. 0dB, +3dB, +6dB, +9dB, +12dB
Adjusts the input level of the devices connected to the terminals of PHONO1,
PHONO2, PHONO3, MIC1, MIC2 and GUITAR.
[Note] The INPUT TRIM value is automatically set to 0 dB when TRAKTOR SCRATCH
is used. Do not change the INPUT TRIMs of the PHONO1, 2 and 3, and CD/LINE
when TRAKTOR SCRATCH is used.
15
3. A SEND SETUP menu has been added.
A new Send Setup menu in the System Menu allows you to set Ext. 1, Ext. 2 and Zero
FX Pre or Post.
The FireWire selection provides a new level of input management, and also allows
for full duplex operation on the audio channels.
Input selections can now be made from this screen while the Input knob in the
FireWire Audio streaming mode.
In essence, this means that audio can be sent to and from your computer on the same
channel.
1 2 3 4
1: EXT1 ..................................................................................... PRE, POST
Sets the audio signal sent to the EXT1 destination of each channel.
PRE: The sound level will not reflect the fader position.
POST: The sound level will reflect the fader position.
2: EXT2 ..................................................................................... PRE, POST
Sets the audio signal sent to the EXT2 destination of each channel.
3: ZERO FX............................................................................. PRE, POST
Sets the audio signal sent to the ZERO FX destination of each channel.
4: FIREWIRE ..................................... PHONO1, PHONO2, PHONO3,
MIC1, MIC2, GUITAR, LINE, CD/LINE
Sets the audio signal sent via FireWire when any of the Firewire options (AUDIO,
AUDIO+MIDI and MIDI) are selected using the INPUT SELECT knob for each
channel.
For example, if you set the FireWire to CD/LINE and select AUDIO(FireWire) using
the INPUT SELECT knob, to the audio source connected via CD/LINE to your
channel of choice will be sent PRE EQ to your computer.
This allows for full duplex use of the Zero8, offering further processing options.
Now you can take full advantage of the processing power of your computer, building
on the impressive array of effects already offered by your Zero8!
[Note] The FireWire Send setting is effective only when the I/O setting of each channel
is set to Pre EQ, Pre Fader or Post Fader. In addition, when TRAKTOR
SCRATCH is used, CD/LINE or PHONO1, 2 and 3 is automatically selected.
When TRAKTOR SCRATCH is used, do not change the FireWire Send setting. If
the setting is changed, restart your software.
16
4. A Transport button has been added to BPM page.
Transport Control Buttons now appear one the TEMPO screen, which allow you
to send Start/Stop messages to any DAW host application running in slave mode.
1 2
[Note] In the previous operating system, this page had an AUTO BPM ON/OFF button,
which has since been removed. To utilize the Auto BPM functionality, use the
AUTO button on the panel.
1: Play
Sends a Start message to your external device.
2: Stop
Sends a stop message to your external device.
5. Selectable MIDI Clock slave function.
A MIDI CLOCK setting page has been added to the SETUP/SYSTEM menu.
Zero8 can now slave to MIDI clock from host applications and hardware instruments
alike.
ZERO8 recognizes incoming MIDI clock from Firewire MIDI or MIDI input automatically,
which provides perfect sync of internal effects.
1
1: MIDI CLOCK SOURCE ..............INTERNAL, EXT FW, EXT MIDI
Sets the MIDI clock source.
INTERNAL: The Zero8’s internal effects and operation will sync to the Zero8’s own
internal clock.
With this setting, the ZERO8 transmits MIDI clock to an external device via MIDI
or FW.
EXT FW: ZERO8’s operation and internal effects will sync to the MIDI Clock signal
via FW.
With this setting, the BPM indicator shows “EXT FW”.
EXT MIDI: ZERO8’s operation and internal effects will sync to the MIDI clock via
the external MIDI terminal. With this setting, the BPM indicator shows “EXT MIDI”.
[Note] When EXT FW or EXT MIDI is set to the MIDI clock source, the auto BPM function
will not operate.
17
6. All effect programs can be selected in the SEND effect mode.
PRE and POST settings have been added to the send effect settings accessible via
the SETUP menu.
KAOSS-style control of various effects ? as already implemented in the Master and
Channel effects - has been added to the Send FX section as well
7. A Bypass function has been added to the parameter based (not
touch-controlled) effects.
When a parameter based effect is selected (non touch-controlled) the effect can be
bypassed by pressing the HOLD button. This is a great way to audition your effect.
8. The cue balance curve has been adjusted for more consistent
monitoring.
To improve cue monitoring, the level balance curve of CUE and MASTER for the
MONITOR BAL knob has been changed so that the CUE and MASTER volume
levels reach the maximum level when the knob is centered.
9. A MONITOR FILTER has been added
A MONITOR FILTER setting page has been added to the SETUP/SYSTEM menu.
When the MONITOR FILTER is ON, the high notes and super deep notes of the
headphone output are cut by the filter.
This makes monitoring via the headphones easy in loud locations like a DJ setup.
Furthermore, the SETUP/SYSTEM page layout has been changed to accommodate
the addition of the MONITOR FILTER.
1
1: M. FILTER ............................................................................... ON, OFF
Turns the MONITOR FILTER ON and OFF.
ON: Enables the MONITOR FILTER. The filter is useful for monitoring in loud locations.
OFF: Disables the MONITOR FILTER.

Hope it helps
djcl.ear
Posts: 40
Joined: Sun Dec 21, 2008 5:49 am

Post by djcl.ear »

For a much more precise answer go to Korg's UK download page

Download the Zero 8 version 1.60 (Windows) down that page, be careful that the actual download button is close below, not above the title, as it may wrongly appear to be.

Unzip it, and open the Zero8_SendSetp_E1.pdf file with Acrobat

Once there go to page 2 where you'll find detailed descriptions with pictures of diferent configurations, including what you actually have to do inside Ableton's Live.

This will help 8)
Jarred Cassidy
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:35 pm

Post by Jarred Cassidy »

thanks for your help ... ill give it a go

cheers
Jarred Cassidy
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:35 pm

Post by Jarred Cassidy »

i still cant figure it out.. i read the pdf that comes with the update and its showing sending the signal the other way.

what im trying to do is send to tracks from Abelton to two channels on the korg zero( i know how to do this part) .

but i want to send the two tracks back to Abelton after ive used the Eq on the Zero so i can record them.. is this possible..

if so could someone let me know step by step(coz im a newbie to this)

thanks
DJ TBA
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 8:15 pm

Re: Deejay zero 8 with Abelton

Post by DJ TBA »

Jarred Cassidy wrote:Can anyone explain to me how to -

Send two channels from Abelton to the zero 8

So i can use the eq on the channels on the zero 8 and then send both channels back for recording

Thanks a bunch an
I do this with 4 channels of audio. but i will explain for 2

Step 1:

Open lives preferences.

Audio Output = Zero8
Audio Input = Zero8

Now click the Output Config button underneath the 2 drop down menus.

Now click 1/2 (Stereo) and 3/4 (Stereo) so that they are highlighted (TIP: expect 1/2 will already be highlighted) Click OK

Now click Input Config button

Select 15/16 (Stereo) (TIP: I use 15/16 to save confusing myself later on) Click OK

Now close the Preferences Pane

Step 2:

In Session Veiw create 3 Audio Channels and call them Deck A, Deck B and Record.

If your Input and Output dropdowns are not visible for each track, click the small i/o button that is on the right hand side of your screen by the master volume fader.

For Deck A click the Audio To drop down and select Ext. Out. Now a new drop down will appear underneath, if it isn't already select 1/2.

Now do the same in Deck B but in the second drop down select 3/4.

Now you can a/b mix to channels of audio from Ableton like they were TT or CDJs!!

Step 3

For recording the output from your mixer you will need to select the Record channel and click the Audio From drop down and select Ext. In. Now select 15/16 from the drop down below.

Now deactivate the Record channel by pressing the Square button with the channel number on it (In this case 3) This will stop the recording Audio playing out of the Master and getting funky feed back loops.

Now press the Arm Session Record Button (it is the small button at the bottom of the channel strip.

Bang you are ready to go!

To start recording, click the record button in any clip from the Record channel and then mix!

Hope that makes sence, it is a bit complicated without pictures.

DJ TBA
Jarred Cassidy
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:35 pm

Post by Jarred Cassidy »

thanks for this.. ill give it a try..

:D
Jarred Cassidy
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:35 pm

Post by Jarred Cassidy »

Hi I have followed all the instructions as you said..

when i record .. it just records on deck A and B ...

and the Record channel does not receive audio.. the level for Ext. In 15/16 does not show that any audio coming into the channel.. is there anything i need to change on the Zero.

Thanks for your help
DJ TBA
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue Apr 07, 2009 8:15 pm

Post by DJ TBA »

Jarred Cassidy wrote:Hi I have followed all the instructions as you said..

when i record .. it just records on deck A and B ...

and the Record channel does not receive audio.. the level for Ext. In 15/16 does not show that any audio coming into the channel.. is there anything i need to change on the Zero.

Thanks for your help
Ha, i just ran my Ableton template for the first time in ages, and my Record channel isn't working.

:roll:

Fix: hit Setup on the 8. Go to I/O. Press 15/16. Select Master. Press the Setup Button again.

You will need to crank the Master output to get a good signal.
Post Reply

Return to “Korg Digital Recording and Mixing”