Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Nightmare!
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg M3
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
gurn
Full Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2010
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 10:24 am    Post subject: Nightmare! Reply with quote

This is a nightmare. Top right menu tab on the touch screen - was giving me problems.

I would touch it -- nothing. The other parts of the screen worked fine.

So I did a factory reset.

(Turn off M3 Turn on while holding "Reset Controls & 1,2 buttons.)

Now I have no patches! Where do I get patches now? All of my banks are empty.

I'm starting to panic. Has anyone run into this?
_________________
*********

Asia: Korg M3m, Yamaha MU90R, Yamaha MU100, Kawai K1r (alive), Roland RS50, Axiom 61 & 25.

US: Korg Triton Le, Roland RS9, 2 Kawai K1's (dead).

Guitars out the wazoo.


Last edited by gurn on Mon Jul 18, 2011 3:02 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gurn
Full Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2010
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 11:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Never mind. I think I have fixed. I re-loaded all the patches.
It took a long, long time. And I lost all my edits.

BUT...for the record. I could have avoided this nightmare by:

GLOBAL

1. Press EXIT 2x

2. Press ENTER & 4 (same time)

3. The screen calibration test appears.
(page 208)

I gave it a soft touch. I am back to normal - except for all the patch edits I lost.
_________________
*********

Asia: Korg M3m, Yamaha MU90R, Yamaha MU100, Kawai K1r (alive), Roland RS50, Axiom 61 & 25.

US: Korg Triton Le, Roland RS9, 2 Kawai K1's (dead).

Guitars out the wazoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RI Producer
Junior Member


Joined: 08 Dec 2009
Posts: 82
Location: CT

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 2:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Get it to the way you want it,Patches and all.
Then go to media and do a Save All.
You then have everything saved for easy loading and avoiding this problem.
_________________
http://www.reverbnation.com/Risamaru
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
gurn
Full Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2010
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks. I'll start on that tomorrow. It's going to take a long time.
In fact, I have done that many times, every time I save a SEQ.
I save all PCG. Maybe all the edits are still there.

There was a thread a while back about an iPad controller for the M3 touch screen.
This situation illustrates why it would be a good thing.

I could not open the top right menu, where-ever I was.
SEQ, COM, PRG, Media, Sampler, none of them opened.

But the touch screen was fine in other areas. Just that one control was dead.
_________________
*********

Asia: Korg M3m, Yamaha MU90R, Yamaha MU100, Kawai K1r (alive), Roland RS50, Axiom 61 & 25.

US: Korg Triton Le, Roland RS9, 2 Kawai K1's (dead).

Guitars out the wazoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Synthoid
Platinum Member


Joined: 17 Mar 2003
Posts: 3300
Location: PA, USA

PostPosted: Sun Jul 17, 2011 4:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RI Producer wrote:
Get it to the way you want it,Patches and all.
Then go to media and do a Save All.
You then have everything saved for easy loading and avoiding this problem.


Definitely! I make frequent backups because I enjoy creating different versions of existing programs & combis.

Cool
_________________
M3, Triton Classic, Radias, Motif XS, Alesis Ion
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gurn
Full Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2010
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Something really bad is happening.

This a.m. it froze in SEQ. First time ever.

Something is wrong inside my M3m. I don't know what. But now I am worried.

2 days -- 2 serious failures.

Each is different.

1. Touch screen problem.

2. Freeze

I am worried about a system failure in the future.
_________________
*********

Asia: Korg M3m, Yamaha MU90R, Yamaha MU100, Kawai K1r (alive), Roland RS50, Axiom 61 & 25.

US: Korg Triton Le, Roland RS9, 2 Kawai K1's (dead).

Guitars out the wazoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Muji
Full Member


Joined: 12 Jan 2011
Posts: 209

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 5:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My sympathies. That sucks donkeys.
_________________
-Muji-

Korg Microkorg
StudioLogic VMK-176+ Keyboard Controller
Ketron SD2 Sound Module
Alesis SR-16
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jg::
Platinum Member


Joined: 14 Aug 2003
Posts: 678
Location: Melbourne, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
every time I save a SEQ.
I save all PCG. Maybe all the edits are still there.


Well yes, of course, all your edits will be there. Just load up one of your own earlier .pcg files.

jg::
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
HardSync
Platinum Member


Joined: 07 Jan 2011
Posts: 742

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gurn, try not to worry, and definitely DON'T PANIC [insert Hitchhiker's Guide towel reference here].

One freeze in SEQ mode can happen for any number of reasons and doesn't necessarily imply there's something internally wrong with the M3. If you are able to consistently reproduce the error, then tell us what's happening, i.e. what you were doing and what MIDI gear and software you're using (if connected to other stuff).

If you decide to panic, however, or if the M3M really is buggered, then perhaps some options available to you are:

1. Send off Korg M3M for repair -- I presume it's still under warranty.

2. Disconnect M3M, take it outside and smash it to pieces with a sledgehammer. Important: Do be sure to have a friend film this and then post on it on YouTube so we can all enjoy it.

Personally, I'd avoid option 2 in favour of option 1, but I'll leave that to you. Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gjvti
Senior Member


Joined: 13 Jan 2009
Posts: 327
Location: Riga, Latvia

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 12:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,
I had similar touchscreen problem. Initially calibration helped, but later things went worse. Dealer exchanged my faulty M3m since it was under warranty. If I remember correctly read in karmalab forums one more user had similar touchscreen problem. So if you are under warranty and this happens again you should contact your dealer for possible repair or exchange. This obviously is not frequent but serious problem with M3 touchscreens, which renders M3 unusable in stand alone (without PC editor). Hope however that your case is not related to this touchscreen defect.
Gunars
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gurn
Full Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2010
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 2:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

gjvti wrote:
Hi,
I had similar touchscreen problem. Initially calibration helped, but later things went worse. Dealer exchanged my faulty M3m since it was under warranty. If I remember correctly read in karmalab forums one more user had similar touchscreen problem. So if you are under warranty and this happens again you should contact your dealer for possible repair or exchange. This obviously is not frequent but serious problem with M3 touchscreens, which renders M3 unusable in stand alone (without PC editor). Hope however that your case is not related to this touchscreen defect.
Gunars


Hi. Thanks everybody.

It's out of warranty. And there are no (zero) Korg dealers within at least five-hundred miles & two different nations from where I live. If it's truly going bad, then I'll limp along with it and get it repaired (at some expense) maybe in Singapore. I'll fly there with it, drop it off. Fly back to get it & return.

I haven't gigged with this. It hasn't fallen off its stand. I flew it across the Pacific in a good hard-shell case seven months ago.

No problems until the past two days. And then...they set in with a vengeance.

That screen issue is scary. The OS is designed so that you really can do very little if that upper-right menu tab is not working.

There is an excellent thread here that explains the M3 touch-screen problem.

http://www.korgforums.com/forum/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=62543&highlight=touchscreen

I live in a very hot climate. Apparently, heat aggravates it. And I'm wondering if gravity has something to do with it also. For example, if I laid mine flat on a table, would it be as vulnerable?

It would more difficult to navigate laying flat.

I first had the problem after it was on for a few hours.
After reading that thread, I will turn it off when I am not using it,
even if I come back to it in 1 hour.

That will mean I use the ON/OFF switch a lot more.
_________________
*********

Asia: Korg M3m, Yamaha MU90R, Yamaha MU100, Kawai K1r (alive), Roland RS50, Axiom 61 & 25.

US: Korg Triton Le, Roland RS9, 2 Kawai K1's (dead).

Guitars out the wazoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HardSync
Platinum Member


Joined: 07 Jan 2011
Posts: 742

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

gurn wrote:


http://www.korgforums.com/forum/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=62543&highlight=touchscreen

I live in a very hot climate. Apparently, heat aggravates it. And I'm wondering if gravity has something to do with it also. For example, if I laid mine flat on a table, would it be as vulnerable?

It would more difficult to navigate laying flat.

I first had the problem after it was on for a few hours.
After reading that thread, I will turn it off when I am not using it,
even if I come back to it in 1 hour.

That will mean I use the ON/OFF switch a lot more.


High temps and humidity will affect any electronic device, definitely. What's the temperature like in your home studio? Is it really hot and humid? Is there a window (or several) where direct sunlight comes in? Generally, you should try to keep the room as cool and dry as possible.

From looking at the photo in your signature, it doesn't seem as though there are any windows that would affect your kit, but I can't tell. Also, there seems to be plenty of airflow around the M3 module, so unless those two keyboards beneath it are generating a lot of heat, I don't think the your current setup is a problem heat-wise. The room is kind of small, sure, but the gear seems fairly well spaced.

I also don't think you need to worry about gravity in this instance. That post was referring to the film being in direct sunlight (presumably for extended periods of time) and more or less melting. Unless you've got direct sunlight or very high-intensity lights focused directly on the screen, your capacitive film isn't going to melt or get all gooey on you. The angle of the module is fine.

By the way, was your M3 used when you bought it? I'm almost certain I read a post of yours saying you picked it up in October last year. I could be mistaken...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gurn
Full Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2010
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I live in a high-rise. My music room isn't air-conditioned.
It's reasonably cool - in the 80-85 range. (27-29 Celsius) - very humid.
I keep windows open. I prefer that to AC. It's cool up high.



Both these incidents happened after it had sat on for awhile.

I'm going to turn it off a lot more now.
_________________
*********

Asia: Korg M3m, Yamaha MU90R, Yamaha MU100, Kawai K1r (alive), Roland RS50, Axiom 61 & 25.

US: Korg Triton Le, Roland RS9, 2 Kawai K1's (dead).

Guitars out the wazoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
HardSync
Platinum Member


Joined: 07 Jan 2011
Posts: 742

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2011 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your rig seems fine to me. I am unsure 80 to 85F is going to cause any issues (I would think it's within the temp operating range for the M3), but the high humidity probably could wreak havoc over time, especially when the air temp cools down in the evening and if any moisture condensates on the room's walls and/or on your gear. Looks pretty dry in there, however... so it's probably OK. Turning the M3 off when not in use is a good plan. Keep an eye on it over the summer. If the M3 is operating fine during cooler months, then perhaps it is a heat issue...

When I lived in Okinawa, I had an ultra-quiet dehumidifier running all the time. The humidity was intense, and I had no A/C. I had to empty the dehumidifier daily... If you do have humidity problems, might be worth looking into.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
gurn
Full Member


Joined: 15 Nov 2010
Posts: 193

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2011 11:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The problem is happening every day now.

This is really going to change how I work & it is going to change my music.
I am going to save more often, turn it off more often and
never, ever gig with it.

My M3m cannot be trusted now.
_________________
*********

Asia: Korg M3m, Yamaha MU90R, Yamaha MU100, Kawai K1r (alive), Roland RS50, Axiom 61 & 25.

US: Korg Triton Le, Roland RS9, 2 Kawai K1's (dead).

Guitars out the wazoo.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg M3 All times are GMT
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 1 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group