Korg Forums Forum Index Korg Forums
A forum for Korg product users and musicians around the world.
Moderated Independently.
Owned by Irish Acts Recording Studio & hosted by KORG USA
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Nightmare!
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg M3
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
drama1
Platinum Member


Joined: 04 Apr 2007
Posts: 577

PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

UPDATE: Crap. Back to the bottom right corner of my touch screen not working again. I took the cover of a ball-point pen and stuck it in the bottom right-hand corner as far as i could stick it in and was able to get the box to turn to black allowing me to calibrate the screen.. Turned off the M3, turned it back on and the screen needed to be calibrated again using the top of the pen. Looks like I'm off to a service center. Rolling Eyes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r12
Full Member


Joined: 21 Dec 2006
Posts: 218
Location: BREST-FRANCE

PostPosted: Thu Aug 02, 2012 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

now, mine doesn't work at all
XY mode doesn't change any colour...
can't access both 2 corners to calibrate

M3 will go to service center during autumn (need it to finish season...)
_________________
YAMAHA W5 + TRITON proX (exb MOSS / exb PCM01 / exb PCM05 / exb SCSI / 64Mo) + M3-73 No.000187 v2.0 (exb Radias v2.0 / exb M256) + DOEPFER LMK2+
AKAI DPS16 + MINDPRINT Envoice + ART Dual MP + RODE NT1000
BEHRINGER DDX3216 + 4 MACKIE SRM350 + 2 MACKIE SWA1501 (+ PEAVEY KB300 )
...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Faisal Umri



Joined: 21 Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Location: Medan - Indonesia

PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2013 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Idea Gravity is not the cause. It is the cable that doesn’t connect properly the LCD to the mainboard. You might have thought that it was the gravity because your unit was fine after putting it upside down. Putting the unit upside down might have made the cable (the striped metal) reconnect well the slot on the PCB. When so doing, it could be possible if you left the unit on for more than 6 hours, or I heard 24 hours. The increasing heat might have made the cable metal (at the end part) expand. This helps the metal reconnect the slot on the PCB, while being helped much also by the gravity. I think this will work temporarily because after you put the unit on flat position (or after leaving it off for a long time), the metal on the end part of the cable will contract and, gravity here helps much loosen the connection, instead. Rust, dirt or improper seating of the ribbon cable is actually the problem. Here is what happened to my PA500. My touchscreen went crazy and calibration didn’t help because it could not be executed completely. It functioned partially. I could only select the upper left part. The bottom right part was inaccessible. I solved the problem. I disassembled the unit, removed the ribbon cable (TP3567S1) and found out that there was rust/dirt at the end part of the cable. I tried to clean it by using pencil eraser (a tip in the internet about how to clean/fix ribbon cable) but the rust/dirt was still there. Then I cut /trimmed (1mm) the part where I found the dirt/rust. After reseating it securely in the slot, I found my unit worked fine. I can now calibrate the touchscreen. I have not had a problem since. It has been about six months ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DAR_2002



Joined: 25 Oct 2006
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Mon Aug 26, 2013 10:36 am    Post subject: Guys, try this, it succeeds with me. Reply with quote

Faisal Umri wrote:
Idea Gravity is not the cause. It is the cable that doesn’t connect properly the LCD to the mainboard. You might have thought that it was the gravity because your unit was fine after putting it upside down. Putting the unit upside down might have made the cable (the striped metal) reconnect well the slot on the PCB. When so doing, it could be possible if you left the unit on for more than 6 hours, or I heard 24 hours. The increasing heat might have made the cable metal (at the end part) expand. This helps the metal reconnect the slot on the PCB, while being helped much also by the gravity. I think this will work temporarily because after you put the unit on flat position (or after leaving it off for a long time), the metal on the end part of the cable will contract and, gravity here helps much loosen the connection, instead. Rust, dirt or improper seating of the ribbon cable is actually the problem. Here is what happened to my PA500. My touchscreen went crazy and calibration didn’t help because it could not be executed completely. It functioned partially. I could only select the upper left part. The bottom right part was inaccessible. I solved the problem. I disassembled the unit, removed the ribbon cable (TP3567S1) and found out that there was rust/dirt at the end part of the cable. I tried to clean it by using pencil eraser (a tip in the internet about how to clean/fix ribbon cable) but the rust/dirt was still there. Then I cut /trimmed (1mm) the part where I found the dirt/rust. After reseating it securely in the slot, I found my unit worked fine. I can now calibrate the touchscreen. I have not had a problem since. It has been about six months ago.


Thanks Mr. Faisal, That really was the problem of my M3 screen touch, it's the cable was lose. I just cleaned it with medical wipe, dry it with clean smooth cloth, and Walla... the screen touch back to response again up & down. I did calibration and everything is fine.
I was going to replace the screen touch for the second time, I have tried i every solution was suggested in forum, and yours is the only one solve my problem.

Thanks again. You save me money.
_________________
No Music... No Life
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sjmarano



Joined: 22 Sep 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Tue Aug 27, 2013 11:34 pm    Post subject: Opening up the M3 (Guys, try this, it succeeds with me)... Reply with quote

To DAR-2002 (or anyone knowledgeable about this) -
Could you kindly post a few instructions about how to open up the M3 to gain access to the touch screen cable, or point one to a URL with such instructions? I'm hesitant to do this without some foreknowledge.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bald Eagle
Platinum Member


Joined: 25 Jan 2009
Posts: 2278
Location: Long Island, NY

PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's some pictures of an M3 being disassembled that may be of some help.

http://neo-genesis.net/korgm3m/2StickyPadsKorgM3M.pdf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Synthoid
Platinum Member


Joined: 17 Mar 2003
Posts: 3300
Location: PA, USA

PostPosted: Wed Aug 28, 2013 1:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for posting that!


Very Happy
_________________
M3, Triton Classic, Radias, Motif XS, Alesis Ion
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
mikelees
Junior Member


Joined: 21 Mar 2012
Posts: 93
Location: Chelmsford, UK

PostPosted: Thu Aug 29, 2013 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks Mr Faisal - I think you might have discovered something...

I looked at the old touch screen I took out of my M3, and the contacts are gold plated...

I then looked at the connector type in the M3 service manual (FIC SLW4R-1C7), and found that the contacts are tin plated...

Making a connection between gold and tin contacts is never recommended in electronics design - the contact is often not reliable.

For those who want to get into the technical detail, a gold-tin contact is prone to fretting corrosion, which would cause the kind of gradual failure we see on M3 touch screens. Dissimilar metal corrosion is also possible in the presence of humidity or liquid. See the "tin commandments" here: http://www.te.com/documentation/whitepapers/pdf/sncomrep.pdf, or another good article here: http://www.connector.com/2011/12/gold-or-tin-versus-gold-and-tin/.

I looked at the flex from the old touch screen under a microscope and saw some "greying" of the contact points possibly indicating fretting corrosion (hard to tell for sure unless anyone has a scanning electron microscope handy!). I also noticed that the end of the flex is badly cut, with some flakes of copper that could drop off and cause a short...

Anyway, perhaps the M3 touch-screen problem that many users have reported is nothing to do with the touch screen itself, but is actually down to bad connector choice in the design.

Your method of cutting approx 1mm from the end of the flex to move the contact point looks like it should solve the problem. The flex needs to be cut carefully and square. It's certainly worth trying this before paying for a replacement touch panel.

The bad news is that if this is the cause, then if the flex is trimmed, or the touch panel is replaced, then the tin-gold contact still remains, so is likely to fail again after a similar length of time. A contact lubricant (e.g. Caig Pro-gold) may help, but only time would tell...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
sjmarano



Joined: 22 Sep 2012
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sun Sep 01, 2013 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To MikeLees -

In one of your previous posts on a related thread ('M3 Screen Replacement Again'), you mentioned how you were going to post some simple instructions on how you changed out your touch screen. Any chance you could do that? I think it would benefit a lot of people here who are gun-shy about attempting this operation without some knowledge going in.

Steve in Jersey
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dav1980



Joined: 08 Sep 2020
Posts: 1
Location: London, UK

PostPosted: Tue Sep 08, 2020 12:46 pm    Post subject: Hairdryer worked Reply with quote

Dear Mad Warrior

Thank you! I had the same horrid issue with my Korg M3 touchscreen. I flipped it upside down and used the hairdryer at hot setting for 30 seconds and thankfully everything appears to be working amazing again. I will test if over the following weeks. You are correct, the heat seems to do something to the gel membrane.

Kindest Regards

Dav
www.RadiAsian.London
_________________
I live inside the sequencer- the safest place to be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Korg Forums Forum Index -> Korg M3 All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Page 5 of 5

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group